We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hetland Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Arms(Lockerbie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveller rating
221
254
137
73
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
221
254
137
73
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden centrewowcher dealfunction roomevening mealhoneymoon suitesolway firtha bit tiredlog fireold buildinglovely locationwedding venuetwo night stayboth morningsshort breakboth nightsfood was lovelylounge area
Filter
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 742 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Visited hetland hall for three days midweek. This was my first visit there but hopefully not the last...
Read good reviews on tripadvisor so was hopeful all would be well. I certainly was not disappointed.
Our room was really nice. A large airy room tastefully decorated with a leather sofa to sit and relax on while watching
Tv. The bathroom was a decent size too, very clean and modern with a walk in shower. The bed looked lovely with a gold coloured cover and matching cushions. As well as looking good it was also very comfortable. There was a lovely ambience in the hotel, helped by a 'real' fire
burning in a huge fireplace in the hall. It also had a beautiful wooden staircase leading up to the top floor.
We had breakfast and dinner at hetland hall. All our meals were tasty and plentiful as well as being beautifully presented. Well done to the chef simon! Service was also good, especially breakfast, thanks to a lovely cheery lady. It makes such a difference to be greeted in the morning by
Someone who obviously enjoys their work. All in all we had a really good relaxing time and hopefully we will manage to visit again.


  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank historyloverGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife & I have just returned from a 3 day break at Hetland Hall Hotel. Before we went we read the reviews that had been previously left on trip adviser and we were a bit worried as to what to expect.
On arrival we were very warmly greeted by the receptionist and booked in quickly. Our room was not fancy but plain,clean and cosy
This set the scene for our break, nothing seemed any problem to the staff who were all very friendly and cheerful. All meals were very good quality and well presented.
I did learn that the hotel management had recently changed hands and the new management were endeavoring to bring the hotel back to what it once was but as we all know this will take time.
I was shown some of the other rooms and could not fault any of them

Room Tip: room in the original building
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrWardrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We attended a wedding at Heltand and had use of 2 rooms the first was ok the second was really not very good at all including brown water out of the shower. The heating was hit and miss but electric supplementary heaters were provided as when the heating was off the room was cold. Now to the food the vegetables were raw not al denta I mean raw and that includes carrot and cauliflower more cruidites than veg. At the pre-wedding breakfast they managed to mess up the order for starter and dessert many of which arrived cold. For £16 a head the food was not to the standard you would expect. It was slightly better at the wedding breakfast but still not 5 star. The best thing about Hetland is the staff they are really friendly and helpfull but things still need work to be work better than an ok review.

Room Tip: There are soom nice rooms but not sure how you ensure how you get one
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanttogoback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We had a small party of twelve, the bridal suite and other rooms were beautiful, all staff did everything they could to make our stay fantastic, could not have asked for anything more, we will be spending our first anniversary there, can not thank the owner, Marion or any of the other staff enough you all made our wedding just that little more amazing x

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikifraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We held our wedding reception at Hetland Hall after getting married at Comlongon Castle on December 13th 2011 first let me tell you we live in Cornwall which is totally the opposite end of the country however the distance was no problem to the staff at Hetland they were patient and kind throughout the whole planning of our wedding nothing was too much trouble we had a completely wonderful wedding stay the staff are completely wonderful and highly efficient the food and accomodation was excellent makeing our wedding perfect i would highly reccomend this hotel if you are thinking of haveing your wedding in Dunfries Jan Marion Carolyn and Fiona are superb thanks to you all we had a memorable day

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews