We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“April 2012 - Wedding”
Review of Hetland Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hetland Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“April 2012 - Wedding”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here for three nights for daughter's wedding. Staff made us feel truly welcome. The Hotel is in a wonderful setting. The public areas, especially the hall with it's gorgeous staircase is beautiful. Executive bedroom we stayed in was comfortable. Breakfast plentiful and cooked well. Must commend the staff on the food for the wedding - the beef was to die for! We had many positive comments regarding the food from our wedding guests. Well done and thank you to all the staff involved.

Room Tip: If you like spacious rooms - go for an executive room - they are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    225
    120
    58
    52
See reviews for
114
374
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Me and my new husband have just returned from an amazing stay at Hetland Hall Hotel. We had our wedding at Comlongon Castle and our reception at the hotel! Could not fault this place at all! From the moment we arrived till the moment we left the staff were truly fantastic! From the reception staff right to the house keeping and care takers. They could not do enough for you and no matter what we asked of them they done it with a smile! The hotel it self was absolutely stunning, the grounds were beautiful. The drive up to the hotel from the drive made hotel look very grand and posh. We had around 30 guests staying at the hotel with us with rooms ranging from the honeymoon suit, to a single occupancy room. The honeymoon suit was gorgeous, a huge 4 poster bed and grand fire place, bathroom was huge, only problem was the spa bath did not wrk :( our parents were in rooms 1 and 2 (executive rooms) both were lovely, huge and beautifully decorated. Bridesmaids, grandparents and brother/sisters were in rooms, 21,22,24 and 26. Their rooms were all lovely decorated, lovely sizes. I didn't get into everyroom our guests had booked out but all our guests were more then happy with their rooms!
The food we had with our reception package was out of this world! Was so nice, well cooked and all our guests commented on how good it was! The bar staff were fantastic, friendly and chatty, the cleaners were more then happy to help with the constant requests and the reception staff were fantastic! Overall I dnt think we could have wished for a better setting or nicer staff to share in our big day! We will b going back, and when we do we will be staying for longer! Mr & Mrs Traverse!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willow-Ro5e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife and I booked a late deal just 3 days prior to going - Monday - Thursday D.B.B. and it was most enjoyable. The waether was V.G. the last week in March - BONUS for us
The Staff we met were all very helpful, happy and easy to approach. The room we had was to the front, just above the bar area and what great views of the garden. It was a very large room with a sofa, chair, onsuite -jaccuzi, although not working the bath did, so that was fine for us. Maybe next time it will be fixed, as we would definately go back there. There is a very nice garden centre within easy walking distance - say 10 mns, which did very good snacks, soups etc. The garden centre had an old Bothy in the grounds which was very interesting.
You do need the car though to go to nearby Gretna, Annan and Dumfires also Powfoot is worth a visit. Beahc lovely. + a golf course.
Thanks to Sheila and Marion who made our visit special too.

Room Tip: Either to the front or to the back car park would be fine. Always say to reception if you are not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronaldofnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2012

After reading many of the reviews on Hetland Hall I agree the place does need some up grading in the bedrooms and bathrooms which in time im sure they will get round to after the last people who had the place let things slip. my sister in law had her wedding there last october and couldn't fault the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenlawless2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freuchie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Two retired couples. Took advantage of a press offer. Two night DB&B for £79 pp. Good price for what we got. The dinner was nice and the breakfast was filling. Room 26 (no upgrade offered) was a nice size and comfortable in the original part of the hotel. Decor a bit tired and in need of refurbishment. The room carpet was not particularly clean . The lounge area really should be upgraded. Staff were helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freuchie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just got back from the hotel and me and my husband was very disappointed. We arrived for a friends wedding but they cancelled and decided to get married in the castle instead, we had already booked our room along with about 30 other guests, well the good thing about the hotel is it is in a lovely location the hetland is a beautiful building with a lot of history the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great unfortunately that's it for positive now for negative the rooms are very tired looking almost like a very cheap b&b only it was not cheap. We stayed in room 1a the first thing that hit us was it smelt of cigarete smoke the tele was resting on the fireplace top, the toilet holder was not even on the wall! At one point I lost my keys and was searching so lifted the cousin on the settee and found old cig ends , then we went down for dinner a set menu that cost 15.95 and to say the best thing about it was the coffee , then I met up with my friends and they said they changed the venue because they were not happy !! We did complain but the poor young girl said her manager was not in surely with a hotel like this management should be able to be contacted night or day !!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dumfries hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

me and my new wife had our wedding here on march 7th and we are very impressed with how the staff conducted themselves in a professional manner without being unfriendly they did an excellent job of making sure all the guests were well taken care of and there was a new staff member on the bar that did very well with my demanding family on the Tuesday night. the hotel was nice and good a standard and very clean and we had great value for money the food was good simple stuff with no fuss and my family loved that. Overall we are very happy and so pleased that we had chose to get married at Hetland Hall. I know to well all the work that goes on behind the scenes as i work as a chef in a top hotel and would recomend this hotel. We will definately return to Hetland Hall for many years to come. We were all made to feel extremely welcome and all of our guests were impressed with Hetland Hall and had an extremely good time. The owner is lovely and Marion and Teri dealt very efficiently with all last minute changes. Thankyou to everyone at Hetland Hall for helping to make our day stress free and extra special.

Room Tip: ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 58clara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
13.0 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
7.6 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
18.1 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hetland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hetland Hall Hotel

Property: Hetland Hall Hotel
Address: Carrutherstown, Dumfries DG1 4JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hetland Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hetland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Hetland Hall Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing