We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely staff”
Review of Hetland Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hetland Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“lovely staff”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

First stayed here in 1970 when it was a college.my next stay recently was a little more luxurious as our bedroom was my old classroom all those years ago.all the staff especially Trudi and Teri were fantastic.going above and beyond the call of duty to make our trip special.the food,bedroom,public rooms and service were all excellent.
many places of interest in this lovely part of Scotland.you would be hard pushed to find a better hotel for such a good price.looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: 1a is a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finnmcool9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    229
    122
    60
    52
See reviews for
118
378
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

3 nights from tus 14 may single room i booked with the hotel 3 nights bb and em for £99 ,all the staff are friendly and take a pride in the job and hotel nothing is too much trouble good service , the restaurant offers the hightest standard of homemade freshly prepared dishes with a wide range of choice tosuit all ,a fully stocked bar at reasonable prices with spectacular views across the countryside ,a good room clean all you need tv coffee tea making facillity en suite tasstefully decorated with all the modern amenities yes the hotel may need a little T . L . C but it is clean warm with great service fantastic staff and food the rooms are clean what more do you need and yes i will return a great hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21fifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I booked a room at this hotel for a birthday weekend away. On the website, the hotel looked stunning - the hallway and main staircase were very impressive, full of period features, as were the bedrooms advertised on the website. It was a different story when we turned up however. The hotel on the outside was lovely, and it was based in a lovely setting up a driveway, in the countryside. The reception and hallway area were lovely, just as the photographs had shown. We were welcomed by a lovely friendly receptionist who gave us our key to room 6. We headed up the stairs through the nice area of the hotel, and carried on through several doors to the furthest away rooms in the hotel. The corridor was getting less charming, and when we eventually located our room, I couldn't believe it. It was plain, dated decor, cold, and quite frankly depressing. My heart sank at this point, as it was nothing like the rooms I had seen on the website, and it was booked for my friends birthday. Whilst getting ready to go out, there was no hot water (this was 6pm at night), and I ended up having to boil the kettle. However, i could only find one socket in the room, which was next to the tv. The flex wasn't long enough to move it far, so we had to move the tv out of the way to boil the kettle! Not good! The room was cold and there was a portable heater in the room which was bashed, and the back was hanging off it - we didn't risk trying it, as it looked very unsafe. The shower room was equally as drab, the toilet seat was worn, and the paint was flaking at the bottom of the shower unit, and there was no chain on the plug for the sink. We had to get scissors and prise it open to release the water. I've stayed in better rooms in a travel lodge to be fair for half the money. I couldn't wait to get out of the room - luckily we were heading out for the evening.
On the way to breakfast we saw one of the rooms in the old part of the hotel which looked lovely, just like the ones we saw on the website.

It's such a shame that the room was so awful, as the staff were very friendly, and the breakfast room and other parts of the hotel were lovely, full of period charm. The breakfast was good also, there was a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, and a cooked breakfast. The dining room staff were friendly and efficient.

Sadly, I wouldn't stay here again, as the room has totally put me off, and made my friends birthday surprise very disappointing. I'm only giving it an average rating as the staff were so nice, and the breakfast was decent, otherwise I would rate it as poor.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6 like the plague! The rooms in the old part of the hotel looked lovely ( we saw one when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of Hetland Hall Hotel.
We take great pride in our service and staff and are heartened by your comments regarding them.
On a busy Bank Holiday weekend we can appreciate that not everyone will be satisfied with the rooms allocated to them at time of booking. Indeed we have such a fantastic return trade at Hetland Hall Hotel that many of our Guests book their stay weeks or indeed months in advance , not only one night stays , but 2 and 3 night packages as well.
We are sorry you will not be visiting us again but thank you for your comments especially your lovely comments about the hotel , staff and breakfast ; it is very much appreciated.
I am really sorry that in this instance we were unable to live up to your expectations regarding the room you stayed in . Whilst it was a very busy bank holiday weekend for your one night stay, and many of our guests request their favourite rooms , all of our accommodation should be of an acceptable standard.
I have noted your comments , and small necessary maintenance jobs have now been completed - thank you for pointing them out.
I really hope that you will be able to visit us again , and if you do , please contact me personally - I will ensure that you have a lovely room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic stay at this Hotel. Food excellent and great value for money. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Room was amazing with 4poster bed a n jacuzzi. /Breakfast very filling with great choices. Ladies at reception so nice. Was like staying at aDownton Abbey for the night. Was there last night 4thMay and would go back next week .

Room Tip: Ask for room 17 :-))))
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments , we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
It is always lovely to have positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days for my partners birthday. The downstairs is very warm and welcoming, literally, the log fire a wonderful sight on a chilly day. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, we were particularly pleased at how dog friendly the hotel was, making our 15 year dog feel very spoiled and welcome. Yes the hotel is faded and needs updating in places, it's obviously slowly being returned to its former glory.

Our room was in the 'new block' and disappointly modern in a 70's kind of way. We only had 2 problems with our stay...both room related (excepting the decor), the bed had no headboard and the bed lights where directly on the wall behind the bed at head height, making it impossible to sit up in bed without banging your head on them, secondly the bed itself was not comfortable at all, the mattress gave way completely to the base when sat on (and no I'm not a large person), fortunately we didn't spend much time in our room, and were able to enjoy the rest of the pleasantries the hotel had to offer, the food was lovely, a reasonable choice on offer for a 'set' menu, and the breakfast was tasty and plentiful.

Mollie our old dog enjoyed wandering the grounds at her own pace, then settled for a few comfy hours in the bar whilst we enjoyed a few pints of the local beer. All in all an enjoyable experience, with good food and warm, accommodating staff.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
it was lovely to welcome both of you and Molly to the hotel for your break . We certainly felt Molly enjoyed her time investigating our grounds at her own pace.
Thank so much regarding the comments about both the Staff and the food - everyone was delighted to hear them.
we have now rectified the little problems with your room , thank you for pointing them out.
We will hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice this week. The comment by another reviewer that the hotel is a little faded is true - but most are! The log fire in the hallway so welcoming, just like the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them - even asking the chef to prepare me an alternative vegetarian option to the risotto. Comfy beds & good location. Very good value for money.
The staff are a real asset.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrmeaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Booked a 4 night mon - fri break through classic Britain.com which offered us b&b free executive room upgrade & bottle of wine in room for £49 per night. Arrived and was warmly welcomed given our room key card & entering our room is was very small & dark with only 1 small window didnt seem like an executive room to me. I went back down to reception to ask if my booking was correct and they quickly changed our room to a lovely decorated large room very clean and bright although bathroom tiles were cracked especially floor tiles but we were happy enough with our room. The hotel is set slightly back off the main Carlise road so we did here a lot of traffic during the night as the road is busy 24/7. Not a good hotel if anyone doesn't want to or doesn't drive as its 9 mile either way to nearest towns. Breakfast was great but didnt eat in hotel at night as we were always out & about. We had a lovely wee break nice hotel great staff but would prob book nearer town so that we had the option of not driving.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weecooperess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,032 reviews
13.0 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
7.5 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hetland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hetland Hall Hotel

Property: Hetland Hall Hotel
Address: Carrutherstown, Dumfries DG1 4JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hetland Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hetland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Hetland Hall Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing