We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay.”
Review of Hetland Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hetland Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Taking a mid-week break (early June 2013) to look where some of my ancestors hailed from, we booked into this lovely hotel. This accomodation is very handy as a base to discover within easy reach Gretna (and its Retail Park), Carlisle, and Dumfries. We also discovered lots of quaint little villages, such as Urr, Dundrennan, Applegarth and the lovely small town of Castle Douglas.
The rooms are very spacious and well maintained. The food is amazing, it is plentiful and so delicious!! The staff are very friendly and welcoming too. This is a " Hidden little gem " ! (which I highly recommend). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the Solway Firth!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely reveiw .
We are very much in a forgotten part of Scotland and it is great to hear when visitors have enjoyed the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
There are newer reviews for Hetland Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

we recently spent a weekend in the Hetland hall hotel 21st-23rd June 2013 for our wedding 1st anniversary (we had our wedding at Hetland). And can i say is in, one year on what a stay we had with a new manager at the helm Fiona and her team are making some difference to the place, the difference i`v seen in the hotel in a year was great. it was good before but the standard of service is great you were never left waiting on anything. From start to finish you could not fault it from the very warm welcome you receive on check in to the great food and and drink to the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel to the grounds. Would recommend you too stay here.

Paul and Diane Mckie

Room Tip: The executive rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paulmckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

It was really lovely to see you both again and I am so glad you enjoyed your weekend break with us. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully with each anniversary ! Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

we stayed here on a 3 night dbb break. hotel in a great location food really good ...the hotel is lovely and clean ....but most of all top marks to the staff who were so friendly and efficient they are a credit to the hotel cant praise this hotel enough and will be back sometime

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments . We are always so pleased to hear from guests who have enjoyed their time with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Anyone thinking of staying at Hetland Hall or even looking for a place to get married. I would 100% recommend it.
The manager Fiona is amazing!! she was so helpful and always a pleasure to speak to.
Our small wedding party all agreed that it was an amazing building, beautiful grounds, the staff could not have done more for us so helpful and polite, the food was to die for great flavours and plenty to choose from.
Me and my new husband will be retunring for years to come.
A massive thankyou to all the staff
Mr and Mrs Jones
xx

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you very much Mr & Mrs Jones.

It was a pleasure to work with you throughout the planning of your Wedding Day and of course on the day itself.. We look forward to seeing you again and best wishes for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed for one night last night and found the hotel to be very pleasant. The staff were extremely helpful both on the reception desk and at breakfast. The best way to describe this hotel would be a "rough diamond" all it needs is a bit more TLC. The main staircase is easily the hotels best feature although the room we stayed in was very large and full of features it felt a bit unloved.

All in all we enjoyed the stay and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrissBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your nights stay with us at Hetland Hall Hotel. We always appreciate any feedback from Guests and strive to work on any comments given.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Beautiful building when you enter, period features and lovely gardens. The room was freshly decorated and very pretty, with a large bathroom with corner basin and the most amazing waterfall taps. Park for kids but it needs a bit of tlc, broken swing and frayed roped on climbing frame, but great gardens to run about in!
Food is ok, meal evening nice but uneventful, breakfast a bit mean with only one sausage and half a potato scone with a bit of egg. Granted we only asked for egg, sausage and potato scone, but cutting a potato scone in half was a bit annoying! Staff were super! Very friendly and helpful. The place has a lovely atmosphere and if you aren't expecting very high 5 star standards then this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judgeatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us here at Hetland Hall Hotel. Our Staff are always very pleased to get positive feedback.
Now the weather has improved ( only slightly !) we have made all nessecary repairs to the play park area for the summer.
Again thank you for your comment and it would be lovely to have the budgets of the Savoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

we have recently returned from a short stay at the Hetland Hall Hotel Dumfries. on arrival our initial reaction was very good, and would have to say it just got better. The room was clean, tidy and vary spacious. food was amazing with plenty of it, (would suggest you don't eat during the day if you want to enjoy your evening meal) the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, and this includes everyone from reception to housekeeping we will def be going back and taking friends.

Room Tip: we where in room 24 very nice believe they are all similar but would def recommend this hotel and lo...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivien r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, Front Office Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your nice comments on your stay with us here at Hetland Hall Hotel. I will gladly pass on all comments to the Staff concerned and we look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,068 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
13.0 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
7.5 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hetland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hetland Hall Hotel

Address: Carrutherstown, Dumfries DG1 4JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range: £76 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hetland Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hetland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Hetland Hall Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing