We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel; Unexciting rooms”
Review of Hetland Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hetland Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, while driving around Galloway.

Hotel has two sections: an older (19th century?) main block, with a newer 1960/70s block adjoining,the communal areas of which are reminiscent of a university hall of residence. Most of the communal areas - reception/hall, bar, dining room - are in the older section.

Upsides:
- v good catering - particularly the big breakfasts! (though more fresh fruit would be good!)
- Friendly and helpful staff.
- Pleasant, grassy grounds.

Downsides:
- Our room (in the newer part) was unexciting, though clean. The beds were of mediocre quality, though not obviously old.
- Hotel is a long way from anywhere - you definitely need a car to get there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stxmld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
There are newer reviews for Hetland Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just spent four days here as part of a leisuretime (wales) coach party....I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know, our room (16) had lovely views across to the solway, a very comfortable gigantic bed, it was very well furnished, and clean. The staff were all very nice too, even if some of our coach party seemed to push their patience, nothing was too much trouble for them, from the bar staff to the house keeping .
If we are ever in Dumfries again we will be back.
Mr.&Mrs.Regan

Room Tip: Rooms 16 and 17 are very spacious and have great views. Plus no-one walking above your room, so nice...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelmarkCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is always a pleasure to welcome Leisure time Wales to Hetland Hall. It would be lovely if you could manage a trip again to the area and we certainly would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just had 2 wonderful days (06/08/13-08/08/13) again to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary.Had our wedding reception here last year so thought would spend our anniversary here so could have a proper look around the area.The hotel & staff are so lovely.There has been some changes since last year with the hotel being re- decorated outside & in.The food was excellent as usual!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments.
It is always a pleasure to welcome Guests back to the Hotel especially when they are celebrating their 1st anniversary with us. ( and you brought the sunshine with you too !!)
Hope to welcome you back for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Can I start by saying they provide excellent customer service! My husband and I recently stayed for a weekend and sadly the standard room bore no resemblance to photos on their web page, we asked for a change of room and was met with a very positive response by showing us 3 other rooms (sadly all were of the same standard) we were then offered a full refund or an upgrade to the honeymoon suite the following night. This is what I call great us customer care. The communal areas have an old fashioned charm and the hotel is set in lovely grounds and ideally situated to explore the area. With a little bit of an upgrade in the rooms this hotel cold be beautiful!

Room Tip: Just bear in mind the photos don't resemble the web site but if you are looking for friendly and...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to thank yo for your very kind and generous comments about our Hotel and Customer Service - it really is appreciated. Whilst we believe that all of our rooms are of an acceptable standard , and are priced accordingly , we do not discount your criticisms , and would hope to complete the refurbishment of the rooms in our annex in the coming months. Again , thank you for your thoughtful and constructive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We found this hotel to be quite run down. Many parts of it, especially the rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment. We also found the food served was ....posh school dinners....

The building itself was nice and the settings and grounds were very nice. We also found the staff to be very nice, courteous and helpful but sadly I cannot recommend it.

Room Tip: We asked for a transfer and the staff obliged without fuss.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Although you were obviously disappointed with your stay, I do appreciate your complimentary comments about the staff and hotel.
Whilst you paid a reduced rate for a standard room, it should of course have been satisfactory, although it is a shame that you did not mention that the transfer was to another, Executive, room in the hotel.
I believe that you did have a bar meal on one of the nights of your stay, and I am sorry that you do not appear to have enjoyed this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We have just spend a few days here.
A very relaxing time.
Evening meal was very nice. As was the full breakfast. Although I must stay the one we had in our room was excellent and just £2.50 extra .
The only down sides were noisy people going on till after midnight and we had the superior room the jaccusi bath that had no controls so no jaccusi.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wenhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us here at Hetland Hall Hotel. We are always delighted to hear from Guests and especially glad you enjoyed Breakfast in your Room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Attended my daughters wedding here in June, i have to say i was quite disappointed at the organisation of the wedding meal, evening buffet etc, no one seemed to know what was going on, we had to ask on several occasions for things to be done that had been previously discussed, and staff were very thin on the ground for serving food and drinks, the hotel was very dated and quite shabby in places, having visited the rooms other guests were staying in they were very basic and old fashioned, and they were not the cheapest available. On a brighter note my daughter and husband enjoyed their day, but im not sure i would rave about the hotel to many people, sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your review.
I am very happy that you mentioned your daughter and husband; yes, they told us that they had a wonderful time, and we loved having them, and indeed, hope to see them again on their anniversary!
I am really sorry that you do not seem to have enjoyed your visit; we pride ourselves on our weddings at Hetland Hall, and indeed, our usual lovely reviews. Although I am puzzled by your comments, we certainly failed here in that you did not enjoy yourself.
I am not 100% certain that you actually stayed in the hotel, but I am sorry that you did not like the rooms that you looked at.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,066 reviews
13.0 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
7.5 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hetland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hetland Hall Hotel

Address: Carrutherstown, Dumfries DG1 4JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range: £75 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hetland Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hetland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Hetland Hall Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing