We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice "Squeaky" Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice "Squeaky" Hotel!”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

From my previous reviews you will find that I am a fan of the larger corporate hotel chains, that being said, The privately owned Cairndale Hotel was just around the corner from where I was to be, therefore selected on location.
The hotel is large with an swimming pool and gym (bonus!!).
Booking was easy, helpful guy on the desk and I was given the (rather large and weighty) key for room 80 on the second floor of the original building.
Hotel is based around an old building with annexes.
Room was fair sized with what looked like a farily recently refurbished bathroom, nice plush towels and a selection of toiletries.
I used the spa for a swim which was good and not too busy.
I then retired to the bar area for a quiet drink and evening meal.
The bar and restaurant seem to be in the very lower floor of the building and wifi is patchy at best or not there at all, therefore using the computer is tricky, although it was fine in the room itself.
As the title says, this part of the hotel squeaks a lot!!
The floorboards above me and mine all squeaked, not a criticism, you would expect this from an old building, some people may find it intrusive.
I'm sure that if I had the time and patience to be moved the request would have been facilitated.
On the whole, a very good hotel but I did miss the "was everything OK with your stay" part in the morning, bill paid and out the door swiftly.
I would recommend this hotel, it has a good central location, very good food in the restaurant and a swimming pool attached.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night, ask for a new room in the annexe,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such an in depth review following your recent visit to our hotel. As I’m sure you will appreciate our hotel is quite different to a large corporate hotel and for some guests this is a distinct advantage. I understand you had a problem with wifi access and I will have this checked out following your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    282
    132
    59
    42
See reviews for
128
300
20
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Larkhall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel went above and beyond my expectations, as traveling alone and female was abit aprehensive the staff from the reception to the bar staff to the owner all made me feel totaly at ease, so I would highly recommend to anyone traveling alone or wanting to treat themselves to a leisurely break away that this hotel has it all to offer. The room single was clean tidy and had everything I needed. The food was excellent and the level of service was very high. The leisure facilities were great with a very good gym and lovely pool and sauna & steam room, a great place for meeting and chatting with other guests.The location is ideal as two minute walk to shops and bars. A very enjoyable stay in all and would definately go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
I was delighted to read your review following your recent visit to the Cairndale and to find that you had enjoyed your stay so much. It was a pleasure to meet you personally during your visit and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights March 2012 for a friends wedding which was nearby but did not have enough accommodation for all the guests. Wedding was amazing but this hotel was more than a little disappointing.

We paid nearly £90 per night which I felt was pretty expensive for the standard of the hotel. Our room (room 1) was pretty dated in decor and quite small. It looked out onto what looked like a generator and a wall.

The breakfast was what we were most disappointed about. We were sat down and told it was self service. This was a continental breakfast and also hot food including sausage, eggs, beans etc which were stewing away in big metal containers. Tea/coffee was in a flask and cold. I thought at least you would be brought a cup/pot of freshly made tea. It was very much like a cheap B and B standard but charging hotel rates.

Would not stay here again as much better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonjs38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
I was sorry to learn of your disappointment following your recent visit to the hotel and in particular the arrangements at breakfast. Like many hotels we have a buffet breakfast which is self service. On busy mornings we can accommodate over 150 guests and because of the numbers we are catering for the hot buffet is regularly replenished. I believe that a tariff of less than £90 inc VAT for a double room and breakfast in a three star hotel with extensive leisure facilities to be a reasonable rate for the facilities and service provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Nice clean and tidy venue.

Would stay again, food excellent. Waiter service could have been better as our starter order got completely lost some how?!

Food quality made it orth while

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xraymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I was delighted to hear that you found the food in the hotel excellent overall and I can only apologise for the mix up with your steaks on this occasion.
I was obviously pleased to hear that you would stay again and with this in mind I would suggest you check out our website for special rates which are regularly updated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed here as part of a large group. 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast. The room was lovely and clean and quiet. The food was lovely - smoked haddock with a poached egg made fresh in the morning.
We found the staff couldn't do enough for us which was lovely. The barmaid even remembered the drinks order - and there were seven of us in our round!!!
The pool and Jacuzzi are nice - although a bit busy at times - but that's only to be expected at the weekend in a busy hotel.
As other reviews have said it is a central hotel - Morrisons out the back and only a couple of minutes walk from the front to the centre of the town.
We had a lovely walk along the river.
Overall great hotel, great food and a great weekend. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glasgowgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Great hotel, great food and a great weekend - we couldn't ask for more either! We really appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write such an excellent review and your comments about your recent stay will be welcomed by everyone in the hotel.

I was also pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your walk along the river and as you'll appreciate aswell as being close to the town centre we are only minutes away from the lovely riverside walks you mention in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stopped in Dumfries on our way from our crossing from Belfast to Northumberland. The hotel is situated in a convenient location a short walk from the town centre. There is ample parking at the rear shared with thebasement fitness centre and spa. Our first floor room at the front of the hotel was huge and our double room included three beds! The room was clean and tidy and well presented although a touch old fashioned. The hotel staff were reasonably friendly although they did not allow us to pay with an alternative payment card which was a little frustrating. We ate in town that night but had a very good breakfast at the hotel in the morning. They cater well for vegetarians and those with a gluten free diet (able to supply gluten free toast at breakfast). We were also able to use the gym, pool and spa facilities in the basement as part of the hotel rate making the hotel very good value. Overall, a very pleasant stay, good value, good location and good facilities.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have one of the larger double rooms (we had a double at the front of the hotel with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your excellent review of our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated.
I understand that you had a problem with card payment and as a result of your feedback we will be making a point of highlighting what card payments are accepted on our website and also in our booking conditions to avoid any confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at the hotel, had a wonderful time, the hotel was lovely and clean, my room was well fitted, nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable, the food was second to none! and the service we received from the staff was excellent. The hotel is within walking distance to the town centre and most of the tourist attractions. Would definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review on our hotel. It was great to hear that you had a wonderful time and would recommend the hotel to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
311 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
641 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing