We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Food, Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed for a week on a coach trip and was thoroughly impressed. From the staff at reception, to the staff in the restaurant, we were given a warm welcome.

The food at breakfast and dinner was exceptional. My husband love the buffet breakfast and I was very pleased to see Smoked Haddock with a poached egg on a separate made to order menu! The dinner was superb. We both said we would have paid good money for the meals we had eaten.

The rooms were very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities were replenished every day.

All in all a fantastic stay

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveMallorcaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent visit to our hotel.
It is always appreciated when our guests take the time to thank us for a job well done and your comments about the friendliness of our staff and the quality of meals ,and the service during your stay will be welcomed by everyone concerned.
Thank you once again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were in the lakes and decided to pop to Scotland. The tourist information at Gretna green found us this hotel. When we arrived we were not impressed from the outside but you cant judge a book by its cover. the receptionist Derek gave us a warm welcome and could not have been more helpful, lots of local information. We went to our room but asked to be moved because it was by a duct outside. We were given an alternative room in the old part of the hotel without any fuss . the room was great , beds comfortable and the room spacious. we decided to stay for dinner in the hotel after reading the reviews . We had an absolutely lovely meal , the restaurant (not sawney beans ) was great, it was busy , lovely ambience and John and the staff on duty couldnt have been more helpful . food was out fast and it was delicious, we are all vegetarians. The staff were friendly and the service was excellent. the following day we used the pool and the cafe. Our little girl aged 8 really enjoyed it. Staff lovely again a nice young man , very helpful What stood out in this hotel was the staff , they were lovely ,helpful and really seemed to care about the customers . I would definately recommend this hotel and the restaurant. if we are in the area we would definatelty go back . well done everyone. date of visit Sunday 2nd September

Room Tip: go to the restaurant beats going into town and food and service lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel following your recent visit to the hotel in September.
I was delighted to find that you enjoyed your stay and I'm sure that both Derek and John will be very pleased with your feedback about the service they provided during your stay.
It is always appreciated when our guests take the time to thank individual members of staff personally for their efforts and I know you comments will be particularly welcomed by those concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed while on a business trip in the summer. As the title states, it did the job but it was rather dated in many ways, including the rooms and restaurant.

It felt like we had stepped back about 29 years in time. The staff were nice enough although a little 'slow' at times. Breakfast was very entertaining for all the wrong reasons - it felt like we had joined a coach trip for breakfast and were the odd ones out (and we are in our 30's). Always nice to feel young again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rennie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

I am always happy to respond to reviews posted on the site but sometimes words fail me.
It is very easy to critise an establishment and for anyone caring to delve further into this review they will see that the reviewer is in fact in the 25-34 age bracket.
I would hazard a guess that the reviewer could only be around 30 years old and had he visited our hotel 29 years ago he'd barely be born!
Having worked in the hotel for almost 30 years myself I can testify to the vast improvements that have been made in the hotel over the years and I have many photographs of the hotel and how it looked back in 1983.
As a privately owned hotel we also try our best to welcome people of all ages to and try to treat all of our guests with the respect they deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at the Cairndale for a couple of nights in mid September for our anniversary and found all the staff to be very helpful and pleasant. The room was very clean and the bed was sooooo! comfy you didnt want to get out of it. We used the swimming pool, sauna etc which was ideal at the end of the day. Breakfast service was like a well oiled machine everyone being seen to fast and efficiently. The food was good too. We would come back to the Cairndale if we were in the area, so maybe see you again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FocusYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for posting such an excellent review following your recent visit to our hotel for your Anniversary.
It would be great to welcome you back to the hotel in the future and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We booked a deluxe room but on arrival was told that part of the hotel had a fire alarm problem so the rooms were not available and was given a standard room with a bottle of wine as compensation. It appears there were deluxe rooms available for some, as our friends were in one (we only realised the next morning when leaving).
Dinner was very nice (free wine too), Jordan was great as our waiter.
Drinks in the bar were a little confused when ordering a liquor coffee, it must have been the first time he'd been asked to make it but was ok when it was served.
Very pleasant breakfast and overall service was good.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank GordsGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnighr with work coleagues found room very clean and comfortable with very good shower excelent service from the bar near reception food was very good but a little on the pricey side but location very good

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for takiing the time to post a review following your recent visit to the hotel.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Booked this hotel as part of a family holiday with my mum, dad and gran. Upon arrival at the hotel the receptionist allocated us a twin room in what appeared to be an extension to the hotel on the ground floor but which could only be accessed via the 1st floor. Although there was a lift available to take guests from the main lobby up to the 1st floor you still had a fair trek of corridor and a flight of stairs to negotiate before you could get to your room. Ok if you’re young but might not be suitable for older visitors.
I would also advise guests booking into this hotel not to stay in the extension part of the hotel as although the public areas of the main hotel were adequately heated, despite there being 3 radiators in our room none of them were on for our 2 day stay and we had to resort to asking the receptionist for a portable heater.
Despite the issue over the cold room which was dealt with speedily by the receptionist providing us with a portable radiator the rest of our stay at the Cairndale Hotel was very good. The rooms were spotless and the food was excellent. Only comment I might make would be to amend the way in which the bills are prepared for guests on an allowance for evening meals, it might be easier if they only showed the actual extras you were being charged for instead of guests receiving a bill for everything, I’m sure the poor restaurant staff must be sick and tired of having to explain how it works time and time again.
Special mention has to go to Kolin Grainger, he was great, he started at 7.30 and sang non-stop till well past 11. With a varied mix of tunes he had the whole restaurant singing along.
If the heating issue was resolved I would not hesitate in coming back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Not sure if it was a one of or not but if you like heating in your room try getting a room in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barries361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
327 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
668 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range: £63 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing