We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fur coat, no knickers?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
NW England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fur coat, no knickers?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel was booked on my behalf and after seeing the name thought i was in for a real treat.
The entrance was grand and looks very nice with a sweeping staircase in the lobby to the upper floors. The food wasn't that bad and the service seemed ok.
The single room i was given, now that's a different story.
How small does a room need to be before it gets called a cupboard?
The floorboards were beyond belief with the noises they made. The building is old so noisy boards are to be expected but these were so much more than that.
The night i stayed it was quite warm so i had the window open which was a bad move as the room was above the entrance so all the noise from the drunks coming in late was waking to say the least.
The bathroom was dated but the shower was ok.
I wasn't sad to leave and as for the 3 stars it claims......maybe it was an old sign.
No, i wouldn't return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stigmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
I would suggest that the throwaway heading probably says more about the reviewer than the hotel. Either way it is wholly inappropriate and in bad taste.
Our single rooms are booked by regular guests and we believe they are reasonably priced given their size.
We also offer double rooms for single occupancy although there is an additional charge. Many guests choose to pay a little extra for these larger rooms.
We are only too happy to try and allocate guests quieter rooms which are generally at the rear of the hotel.
As far as our star rating is concerned we have are regularly assessed by Visit Scotland and the AA ,and you're quite correct it is an old sign because it's been up a long time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    275
    130
    59
    40
See reviews for
122
295
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is large and very clean super food for dinner and good choice at breakfastjuice, cereal ham, cheese rolls, bacon sausage tomato,beans mushrooms,fried,scrambled and poached eggs smoked fish and poached eggs kippers and plenty of tea or coffee and toast. Rooms good and bathroom lovely shower and plenty of hot water. Tea and coffee making and biscuits, Had a leisure part but did not stay long enough to use this. Maybe next time! We were late arriving as boat from Ireland docked later than expected but we were still able to get dinner which was great and Restaurant Manager and girl Agnes on reception were both very helpful. Wish we could have stayed another nite!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chobe Lodge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Don't assume because you've booked a room a year in advance you will be given the room you booked. We did that as we wanted a room by the lift as my friend has mobility problems and we had had this room in previous years. When we arrived we were assigned a room at the far end of the hotel. We were given a room on the ground floor after we complained but not the room we had booked a year previously. The receptionists attitude left a lot to be desired. Lesson learnt - always check before hand and a don't assume because you've booked a room you will be given that room!

Room Tip: That's the point you are not guaranteed the room you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesleygreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
I was sorry to hear of the problems with your booking and I was pleased to know that we were able to allocate you a ground floor bedroom close to the lift.
I should point out that whilst trying to allocate the same rooms to guests each time they visit this is not always possible and we did highlight this on your booking form.
We were unable to meet your specific requirements as we had a number of long term guests staying in the hotel.
I can only hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and should you decide to stay again next year we will try our best to meet your specific room request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in August, nice hotel pool and sauna etc were good but overlooked by the coffee shop downstairs. Rooms were average staff were good. Only had breakfast in hotel. Was buffet style breakfast with a good selection to pick from. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron0Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to the hotel.
I was pleased to hear that you would choose to stay with us again in the future and with this in mind I'd suggest you take a look at the hotel's website where we have some great offers over the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Staff very friendly and made you feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Room very good size and very well equipped. We were on the ground floor facing the road however little noise due to double glazing. Leisure facilities also very good. Hotel short walk from the town centre. Bar prices are competitive and not over priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive review following your recent visit to the hotel.
The comments about the warmth of your welcome and the friendliness of our staff are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Eleven golfers stayed for 4 nights. On check in we were all a bit taken aback to asked for payment in advance, very unusual practice! VAT receipts had to be demanded. However rooms were nice and of good size, although beds on small size for anyone over 6 ft tall.
Golf was well coordinated, and everything spot on, (Loch Maben & Southerness were particularly good courses).
Breakfast was very good and buffet style for both hot and cold food, table d'hote evening meal was also okay for what we were paying, but the menu repeated on forth night!!
The staff were mainly very friendly, but appeared ill led and dis-organized, this led to us having to ask for bread, ask for sugar ask for cups, and milk (for the coffee) and one steak meal was served (after three reminders) after the other members of the party had finished their main course, the £5 supplement was waved however. a small compensation!
All in all we enjoyed our stay, but the hotel policy made things a little impersonal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williamtelephoneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
As a hotel that welcomes a large number of golfers to the area throughout the season I was particularly disappointed to read the contents of your review.
As you were not the organiser of the group you may not have appreciated that we requested advance payment several times prior to the group's arrival. I do not think this is unreasonable given that we'd arranged tee off times at all the courses and invested a lot of our time and energy arranging the visit.
I do not feel that your own attitude to our staff on arrival was acceptable under these circumstances.
Interestingly enough our Golf Coordinator has already spoken to the organiser of your group who has highlighted that he was more than happy with the arrangements in the hotel and it is my further understanding that he also apologised for the unacceptable behaviour on arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Two day stay I cannot fault any aspect of this hotel the staff were pleasant and it was very evident of a very well run establishment The spa facilities were very good A well equipped gym Lovely room with very comfortable bed and and all the little things that you need provided hairdryer, trouser press beautiful toiletries and tea. coffee chocolate and biscuits Spotlessly clean throughout Great food served in restaurant but extremely pleasant and helpful staff Fantastic breakfast will great choice on both hot and cold tables Sorry to have to check out Highly recommended and hopefully will return to sample one of the very popular tribute nights

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed you recent visit to the hotel. It's always appreciated when guests take the time to tell us about an enjoyable stay and your comments will be very much welcomed by everyone concerned with your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 8 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing