We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dripping tap!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Alexandria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dripping tap!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The receptionist (Heather, I think?) was very polite, professional and helpful, as were the other members of staff we encountered. We had a lovely relaxing swim in the pool. Our room was ok, the bed was quite comfortable but the cold tap in the bathroom wouldn't stop dripping! It was like water torture all night. We were situated on the ground floor, and our room (no 3) was above the pool we think because there were giant air vents just outside our window and they were pretty noisy. (We had to close the window). Apart from that, a pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    282
    132
    59
    42
See reviews for
128
300
20
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have stayed at the Cairndale several times for business over the past months and I have always been given a great welcome from all staff making my stay feel like a home from home.

Reception, restaurant and leisure centre all deserve to have my thanks passed on.

Meals in the main restaurant have always been good and the one complaint I had was rectified immediately and the breakfast staff always have a smile and filling my thermos cup is no problem at all.

All in all a clean, nice and welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce011978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your recent visit to the Cairndale. It's always appreciated when regular guests take the time to give us feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived late. Lovely welcome. Given a suite for room rate. Oodles of hot water after a comfortable night. Fast free WiFi. Breakfast just excellent, they cooked us kippers and the service friendly and fast. Our best night yet on our holiday, really recommend this place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi Michele. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I held a Burns Supper in the Park House Suite, Cairndale Hotel in February 2014. The service and food was of an excellent standard. There was 75 people attended the event and the room was set up to a brilliant standard. Thank You!

Room Tip: Held a Burns Supper in the Park House Suite, Cairndale Hotel in February 2014. There was 75 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hi Gillian
Thanks for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your recent function in the hotel.
It's always appreciated when people take the time to thank us for a job well done and I know your comments will be warmly welcomed by everyone concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel on the 25th February for a spa break as daughter had a university interview in the morning and also as a treat first room was very cold and felt damp went down to complain and nicki was very helpfull and said she would boost the heating and both myself and daughter went for spa came back hour later heating wasn't working asked to change room again heating wasn't workin has to get heater from reception. Went for dinner in hotel staff where very rude and unhelpful never interacted with customers cutlery was dirty glasses weren't taken off table or extra cutlery must say though food was amazing best I've ever had com planners to chef and food was very reasonable as where drinks staff made the experience not pleasant though was a large booking on our floor and mouse levels where unbearable as they where banging doors all night and screaming has to vibrancy night Porter who addressed tge problem daughter was very unsettled after that and never slept the whole night went for bfast in morning again staff let the hotel down food again high standard spoke to nick I regarding the issues and again she was very helpfull asked to stay another night as daughter was so tired to travel back to glasgow stayed another night stayed for dinner again good was amazing and kris made the meal even more enjoyable as his customer service skills where excellent as where his manager who apologised for the previous night hotel facilities where excellent pool sauna ect pity again about the staff who closed down tge facilities at 930 and felt we where being chased out wouldn't stay again because of some poor customer service

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackieh1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Well were do i start.....Booked 2night stay for my husbands birthday and our wedding anniversary...The staff were so freindly and welcoming .Room was clean and large.We booked for tribute night which was a brillant night.The manager went out his way to help with the set menu as my husband couldnt eat what was on it,,and changed his order without any hassel he Even informed restaurant staff so we had a great night... This is our second visit to hotel and will Defo be back..,,Angela and Paul .xx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1889angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your most recent visit to the hotel.
We have many guests who return to the hotel and our entertainment breaks are particularly popular with guests.
We've just completed our entertainment programme for the coming months and a full listing can be found on the hotel's website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

No it's not a 5 star luxury hotel but for good value, clean and pleasant rooms, a nice pool and personal service, it's hard to beat if you want to stay in or around Dumfries. With regular themed nights at weekends, it is hardly more expensive than going out for the evening.

Room Tip: Have not been disappointed with any rooms so far
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz1253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
I was pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel.
We certainly aim to offer great value and with our extensive range of leisure facilities and our regular programme of entertainment throughout the year we believe there's something for everyone to enjoy in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
311 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
641 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing