We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Dumfries”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Spending a few days with my wife in Dumfries and currently staying in the Cairndale in Rm19. I had an excellent meal last night in reivers restaurant at a very reasonable price. The staff are very friendly and do all they can to help you. Breakfast was buffet style and there is a good range of produce available. The room although small and cosy was very clean and tidy ,I slept well ,the bed was very comfortable and the room had a modern bathroom and good shower /bath. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: I liked Room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for posting such an excellent review following your recent visit to the Cairndale.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spent Easter 2014 and previously Chistmas break 2010 & 11. Very nice family run hotel. Standard rooms are fine, not over big but have all you need for a few nights stay. We had a new modern bathroom with good shower. Leisure facilities are good with a small swimming pool. Meals are great, breakfast buffet style and dinner is waiter/waitress service which is prompt efficient and friendly. There is entertainment on some Saturday nights with special deals. Had a great night Easter Saturday celebrating a birthday and enjoyed an Abba Tribute band after dinner in the larger function room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Mary
Thank you for posting such an excellent review following your most recent visit to the Cairndale. It's always appreciated when our regular guests take the time to thank us for a job well done!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We are just back from a two night stay. This hotel is centrally located within easy reach of shops and restaurants.it was great value for money as we booked it through wowcher.would definitely go bk with same deal. The two men at reception were very nice (Douglas and Alistair). Rooms were lovely and beds were very comfy .The breakfast was very very nice a good selection and the staff were very attentive.We all enjoyed the pool sauna steam room and the gym which was all included in price.very nice hotel and lovely staff ..thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boorach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Girlfriend booked this for my birthday weekend 24th May for 2 night! First imprecations nice building with interior to suit. Service with a smile from receptionist. Booking in easy, got to room and it was like a seat on a easy jet flight! Toilet was spotless and rooms very clean. Went to spa and it was good part from the walk though the gym with people training and staring at you awkwardly! Went to dinner next night at hotel and the food was microwaved! They nuked my haggis and chicken taste dirty n dry! But breakfast was good! Staff were nice but think they knew how the "chefs" we're getting food out so quick!!!! Wouldn't go back! But had a good time with the mrs on trips!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

"Room like a seat on an Easy Jet Flight!" I must say this comment sounds very strange to me and I'm at a loss to understand it! Most of the feedback in this review is actually very positive (apart from the comment about the haggis) - Good first impressions, service with a smile, spotlessly clean & nice staff. The reviewer seems to focus on one particular dish on our menu that wasn't to his taste saying very little else about the rest of the meal and allowing this one thing to mask what would appear to be an enjoyable stay in every other respect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband booked this hotel for two days,t celebrate our anniversary.upgraded to a lively suite,with four poster bed.lovely bowl of fruit,complimentary toiletries,hospitality tray,shower and bath.the shower is the best we have used in any hotel.all areas of the hotel were very clean.every member of staff was pleasant and courteous.food was lovely,well cooked and presented.waiting staff were the best.kris in particular,very helpful and informative,as were all the dining room staff and front desk.wouldn't hesitate to visit again,just wish my husband had more time off work !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ninascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your recent visit to the Cairndale. It's always appreciated when our guests take the time to thank us for a job well down and I know that Kris will be particularly pleased about your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

How delighted we all were with this choice of hotel for our annual Ramblers weekend away. From the moment we arrived we felt at ease and welcome. A lovely old fashioned charm about this place with attentive staff, good food and excellent accommodation. Our rooms were all reported to be spacious, clean and elegantly furnished. The pool was a bonus, being warm and a good size, with sauna and steam room too. The location of the hotel is perfect for every purpose, being so centrally located for the lovely shops and with good walks on the doorstep. Definitely the best yet and would recommend without hesitation!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yentl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review of the Cairndale following your recent visit.
Your feedback is very much appreciated by everyone concerned with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night, using the hotel as a stop over. We stayed in room 8 and was very pleased as the room was large with a double bed and a single. The bathroom was clean and everything worked as it should. The bar was a bit sparse and a bottle of wine for £16.95 was I think rather expensive so we did go out for a drink.
Breakfast was included, and was plentiful. There was a good selection of everything from fruit, cereal and the normal bacon and eggs. It is on a help your self service so you can keep going up.. Service was good and everyone helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the excellent feedback following your recent visit to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
10.5 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
334 reviews
2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range: £57 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing