We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
US$99
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Arms(Lockerbie)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
273
306
138
65
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
273
306
138
65
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiestribute nightswimming poolreivers restaurantsteam room and saunaelvis tributetrouser presskippersbreakfast was buffet stylegreat weekendgolf tripcourse mealtown centreboth nightsbit datedweekend breaklovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A party of 16 travelling bikers stayed here for one night, the reception was very helpful and swift, the rooms clean and well presented, the staff pleasant, the food was very good both evening meal and breakfast, the head waiter was very attentive and very helpful. overall excellent stay we will be returning

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunderlandChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to the Cairndale. As I'm sure you already appreciate Dumfries and Galloway has some of the quietest roads around and when you add fantastic scenery you have the perfect ingredients for a motoring holiday.
Your favourable comments about the helpfulness of our staff and the quality of your evening meal and breakfast are also very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here with a group of 20 golfers for two nights, the hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and attentive, unfortunately I didn't have time to try the pool & spa but it looked very good.
The food was excellent and considering the size of our group, was served very quickly and efficiently.
The only reason I haven't given a 5 star rating is the bar prices were a bit steep.
Having said that, I was so impressed I have booked to stay again in August and enjoy the delights of Lochmaben golf course once more. Thank you for a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your recent visit to the Cairndale.
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed playing at Lochmaben Golf Club and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A nice hotel with great facilities but rather pricey. The staff where very attentive and friendly. Bar staff very good and efficient. The hotel itself is rather dated and this is probably it's main fault.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ally_dickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have just returned from a 3 night golf trip to Dumfries. The Cairndale Hotel is what you would describe as a good old fashioned proper hotel. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. The rooms were all nicely furnished and it looks like the bathrooms have been updated since our last visit. Albeit the hotel has a bit of age, the leisure facilities are state of the art, from the well equipped gym to the pool and steam/sauna rooms. We (eleven of us) stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was both varied and plentiful. We did not have dinner this trip but we have in the past and it was always very good. The location is very good, being close enough to the action but far enough to get a good nights sleep. The whole trip was arranged by the Cairndale's own golf organiser (Mr Michael Dickie) and a great job he did to make it a stress free holiday. We will be back.

Room Tip: I'd get any room overlooking the car park at the rear. It is very quiet. Showing my age?
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_ofarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Paul.
I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent golf trip to the Cairndale. I know that Michael will also appreciate your feedback about the arrangements for your golf and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were booked in to stay 2 nights at this hotel from Friday 13th June. They say Friday 13th may be unlucky and so it proved with us. I'm sure its possible that there are some hotels in the world which look more tired and dated that this one, but I'm not sure. The flock wallpaper, multiple colours and overall tiredness of the lobby, corridors and rooms firmly dates this hotel back to the 70's.

Our room smelt musty, and felt damp. It was also near a busy road. Yes it was clean but the overall ambience and feeling of the hotel were very disappointing and we decided not to stay at all and rapidly moved on. We were charged for one nights accommodation when we booked in and the receptionist wanted us to pay for 2 nights upfront. I have to say paying in advance for a room, as opposed to leaving credit card details is very rare in my experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TheDoc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

This booking was an ADVANCE PURCHASE booking made through Booking.com. It was a specially discounted rate that was non-refundable and fully payable in advance.
When checking into the hotel the guests explained that they'd already tried to cancel the booking because another hotel (where they were attending a function) was now able to offer a room.
The original booking was made back on the 3rd of April and the accommodation was held in for a full 10 weeks and in good faith by the hotel.
As a gesture of goodwill our receptionist agreed to waive the charge for the 2nd night despite this being fully chargeable. After check in our receptionist also made a point of calling the guests in their room to see if there was anything we could do to make their stay more comfortable.
At no point did they mention any problem with their room and had this been the case an alternative room would have been offered.
It was obvious that the guests were unhappy being unable to cancel their booking with us
in the first instance and the subsequent review would appear to be at odds with most of the other reviews that have been posted on Tripadvisor recently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews