We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveller rating
298
328
149
69
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
328
149
69
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities reivers restaurant swimming pool steam room and sauna tribute night elvis tribute trouser press kippers breakfast was buffet style great weekend golf trip course meal town centre bit dated both nights night porter family room
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 895 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is lovely and very central in Dumfries with free parking and wi-fi though this did not always work very well in our room. On arrival we had been upgraded to a deluxe 4 poster bedroom. The room was enormous with a large marble bathroom and a living room area with a basket of fruit. Very impressed with this. On the Saturday night we stayed in the hotel for an Elvis tribute night. The meal was fantastic and the Elvis impersonator was the best one we had ever seen and we have seen a few. We met some really nice people and had a great night. Would definetly stay here again. Breakfast had lots of items to pick from and the leisure facilities were great.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daffodil1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to the Cairndale for your husband's birthday.
It is always appreciated when guests take the time to thank us for a job well done and a copy of your review will be prominently displayed on our staff notice board where I'm sure it'll be warmly welcomed by everyone concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights on a 5pm deal, therefore price very reasonable. Double room spotless, food lovely and pool great. Conference facilities were very good too. Staff very friendly and helpful, excellent customer service! Mattress slightly uncomfortable, passed onto management via comment card. Would stay again.

Date of stay: June 2014
1  Thank JenAC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for giving us such constructive feedback following your recent stay.. Your comment about the mattress in your room was particularly helpful, and you'll be pleased to know that we're in the process of replacing a number of the mattresses in the hotel (including the one in your room).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A party of 16 travelling bikers stayed here for one night, the reception was very helpful and swift, the rooms clean and well presented, the staff pleasant, the food was very good both evening meal and breakfast, the head waiter was very attentive and very helpful. overall excellent stay we will be returning

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunderlandChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to the Cairndale. As I'm sure you already appreciate Dumfries and Galloway has some of the quietest roads around and when you add fantastic scenery you have the perfect ingredients for a motoring holiday.
Your favourable comments about the helpfulness of our staff and the quality of your evening meal and breakfast are also very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here with a group of 20 golfers for two nights, the hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and attentive, unfortunately I didn't have time to try the pool & spa but it looked very good.
The food was excellent and considering the size of our group, was served very quickly and efficiently.
The only reason I haven't given a 5 star rating is the bar prices were a bit steep.
Having said that, I was so impressed I have booked to stay again in August and enjoy the delights of Lochmaben golf course once more. Thank you for a most enjoyable experience.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your recent visit to the Cairndale.
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed playing at Lochmaben Golf Club and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A nice hotel with great facilities but rather pricey. The staff where very attentive and friendly. Bar staff very good and efficient. The hotel itself is rather dated and this is probably it's main fault.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ally_dickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews