We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Husband and I just back from a 2 night break given to us as a birthday gift. Lovely stay from the minute we arrived - girl on reception friendly and efficient, as were all the staff in every department, double room was very nice, comfortable and clean. Food was amazing, we ate here on both our nights and thoroughly enjoyed the food. Booked in for the Elvis tribute night - great fun and although there was a bit of an altercation with a guest the staff dealt with it very calmly and quickly, as did "Elvis" and the night continued with no other drama. Pool and spa was also great. Comment card asked to nominate 1 member os staff we felt done a good job - but we couldn't pick as all the staff we encountered were polite, friendly and efficient. We will certainly be back sometime in the future for another stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your recent visit to the Cairndale.
Your comments about the friendliness and efficiency of our staff are particularly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is lovely and very central in Dumfries with free parking and wi-fi though this did not always work very well in our room. On arrival we had been upgraded to a deluxe 4 poster bedroom. The room was enormous with a large marble bathroom and a living room area with a basket of fruit. Very impressed with this. On the Saturday night we stayed in the hotel for an Elvis tribute night. The meal was fantastic and the Elvis impersonator was the best one we had ever seen and we have seen a few. We met some really nice people and had a great night. Would definetly stay here again. Breakfast had lots of items to pick from and the leisure facilities were great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to the Cairndale for your husband's birthday.
It is always appreciated when guests take the time to thank us for a job well done and a copy of your review will be prominently displayed on our staff notice board where I'm sure it'll be warmly welcomed by everyone concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights on a 5pm deal, therefore price very reasonable. Double room spotless, food lovely and pool great. Conference facilities were very good too. Staff very friendly and helpful, excellent customer service! Mattress slightly uncomfortable, passed onto management via comment card. Would stay again.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank JenAC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for giving us such constructive feedback following your recent stay.. Your comment about the mattress in your room was particularly helpful, and you'll be pleased to know that we're in the process of replacing a number of the mattresses in the hotel (including the one in your room).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A party of 16 travelling bikers stayed here for one night, the reception was very helpful and swift, the rooms clean and well presented, the staff pleasant, the food was very good both evening meal and breakfast, the head waiter was very attentive and very helpful. overall excellent stay we will be returning

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunderlandChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to the Cairndale. As I'm sure you already appreciate Dumfries and Galloway has some of the quietest roads around and when you add fantastic scenery you have the perfect ingredients for a motoring holiday.
Your favourable comments about the helpfulness of our staff and the quality of your evening meal and breakfast are also very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here with a group of 20 golfers for two nights, the hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and attentive, unfortunately I didn't have time to try the pool & spa but it looked very good.
The food was excellent and considering the size of our group, was served very quickly and efficiently.
The only reason I haven't given a 5 star rating is the bar prices were a bit steep.
Having said that, I was so impressed I have booked to stay again in August and enjoy the delights of Lochmaben golf course once more. Thank you for a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your recent visit to the Cairndale.
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed playing at Lochmaben Golf Club and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A nice hotel with great facilities but rather pricey. The staff where very attentive and friendly. Bar staff very good and efficient. The hotel itself is rather dated and this is probably it's main fault.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ally_dickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have just returned from a 3 night golf trip to Dumfries. The Cairndale Hotel is what you would describe as a good old fashioned proper hotel. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. The rooms were all nicely furnished and it looks like the bathrooms have been updated since our last visit. Albeit the hotel has a bit of age, the leisure facilities are state of the art, from the well equipped gym to the pool and steam/sauna rooms. We (eleven of us) stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was both varied and plentiful. We did not have dinner this trip but we have in the past and it was always very good. The location is very good, being close enough to the action but far enough to get a good nights sleep. The whole trip was arranged by the Cairndale's own golf organiser (Mr Michael Dickie) and a great job he did to make it a stress free holiday. We will be back.

Room Tip: I'd get any room overlooking the car park at the rear. It is very quiet. Showing my age?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_ofarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Paul.
I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent golf trip to the Cairndale. I know that Michael will also appreciate your feedback about the arrangements for your golf and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
10.5 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Lockerbie
337 reviews
2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range: £62 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing