We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here in May on a 2 night leisure break offer. Room was large and comfy at front of hotel. Food was excellent with good service from staff. We enjoyed the free use of the adjoining pool. On site car park. Only a few minutes stroll from town centre. Would definitely stay here again.
Jim H
Amble

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi Jim I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to the Cairndale and to hear that you'd definitely stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
There are newer reviews for Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went for a 2 night deal with a friend and arrived to find the lift broken and room on 2nd floor. Had to drag suitcases up 2 flights to find it was a double room and not a twin as booked. Had to go back down stairs and were then allocated a 1st floor room. Room was tired and at the back above the kitchen and pool/spa so there was a strong smell of chlorine in the room. With the windows open we couldn't sleep due to the noise of a kitchen fan, bottles being thrown into a bin and crockery/cutlery noises. The DIY man was sanding the picnic tables with a machine and there was also a food de-compressor being used which was noisy. The Tawny Beans bar was closed for refurbishment so we couldn't get a drink to sit in the beer garden. The bar in reception was closed but opened at 6.30pm. On the first day of breakfast a huge spider ran across the wall and dropped onto our table. The staff, although very nice didn't find it. Didn't get the Spa as they did not reply to our phone calls or messages. Upon leaving, (very tired) the receptionist asked if we enjoyed our stay and we replied 'sadly no, due to the above and there were no facilities as advertised'. General Manager Matthew Wallace phoned and took offence at our comments and was extremely rude. Seemed drunk as it was 9.10pm when he phoned. He laughed through my constructive criticisms and astonishingly hung up. On a positive note Dumfries is a lovely Town and the locals were lovely (except Matthew Wallace). I've already advised the Voucher company as it's the worst we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Don't accept a back room above kitchen & pool.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank S0uthMead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Have just returned from 2 nights here with a Wowcher deal. Great value. Liked the room (90) although my partner was woken up early by possibly extractor fan from kitchen both mornings. However room was spacious bed very comfy and buffet breakfast was excellent. Like the table and chairs in room so didn't have to just sit on bed. Nicely positioned to easily stroll into Dumfries. Would go back again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review.
Your comments about the friendliness of our staff and the suggestion that they were genuinely interested in making your stay as enjoyable as possible is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here 13th. july till 15th July and were treated like royalty from the minute we arrived.
Dougie on reception noticed I was not able to walk far so arrangedto have another room more suitable. We ate in the hotel that evening and John and his staff were excelent in showing us to a table and the meal was superb, the service and attention to detail was unsurpassed.
Our room was huge and very comfortable, very clean and spacious as was the en-suite.
The breakfast was buffet style but as much as you could want and again plenty staff to look after you.
The manageress Janet was really nice and helpful in fact each and every one of the staff have to be complimented for the service and pleasantness to customers.
We will certainly be returning to this hotel and would recommend this as one of the best in Scotland
The food was fantastic hospitality great and of course my wife had full use of the pool and spa
A lovely couple of nights for which we thank all concerned.

Jas. Fagan

Room Tip: possibly front rooms would be best
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jimbo334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice small old hotel in the centre of Dumfries town. Place is interesting itself and provides an additional opportunity for people travelling across Scotland. Leisure facilities are on the good level (sauna, gym, spa, steam room and pool).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AnatoliZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your recent stay at the Cairndale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Location - only a few minutes walk to town centre
Customer service - excellent. Every member of staff was friendly, welcoming and helpful
Food - we were on a dbb rate which included a 4 course meal. The food was of a very high standard both at dinner and breakfast.
Rooms - very clean. Yes they are a bit dated, but does that really matter? To me it doesn't.

This is a great hotel, with great food, hospitality and location. Don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TheBluesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for such an excellent review following your recent visit to the Cairndale with family.
Your comments about our staff being friendly, welcoming and helpful will be much appreciated by everyone concerned with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Okay so the decor and hotel are a little tired but aren't we all. The hotel was central, clean and welcoming. Thank you for the lovely robes, fruit and water in our room. A very nice and welcomed touch. The staff are amazing and really make customer experience of the hotel a first class stay. John in the restaurant was brilliant - he ran a tight ship and I didn't see his stop once. Similarly Maria was outstanding. She remembered I took peppermint tea which was a really nice touch. Room 15 was close enough to reception and the lift for the leisure centre. Danielle delivered a great massage and was good value at £43 for the hour. I would not bother with the hotel if the staff were not as outstanding as they are. They really want you to have a great experience which makes all the difference.

Room Tip: Room 15 was nicely presented and close to reception. It was quiet as it overlooks the back.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AmandaLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
323 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
659 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range: £78 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing