We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel spoilt by poor management ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel spoilt by poor management ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Where do I start ?

Nice welcome. Nice hotel. But like faulty towers !

Reception staff didn't know left from right and directed us into the wrong direction for our room. Then rang us when we finally got there to see if we had found it ok !!'

We were in a group of 20 and hadn't booked an evening meal. So the restaurant staff said they could accommodate. Shown us a lovely menu and we negotiated a whole £2.50 off a special menu. We were told we could chose off either.

To our disappointment. We weren't seated together. And there was only one menu option. !'

Meals were not bought out together. One on our table hadn't received his meal when everyone else had finished. !! Not good.

Half way through our meals, those that had steak were told of a £5 supplement which was clear on the menu. BUT they wanted to know how we was paying for it. !!! 3 times they approached our table while we were eating till eventually we reached into our pockets and handed them the £5's then only to pay the same person the rest of the meal price after our meal

Time waiting at the bar was ridiculous. Only when the reception was clear did the staff man the bar.

I would not recommend this hotel.

Our own party and the rest of the guests made the memorable stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrylho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Although this group left it to the last minute to decide whether they required dinner our staff managed to accommodate the party at very short notice and at 8.30pm on what was an already busy evening.
It was clearly explained that we could only offer our table d’hote menu for 20 people and we even agreed to offer a discount after negotiating this with the organiser.
As the party hadn’t pre booked we were unable to offer one table for 20 people and it’s my understanding that the group ate on 4 tables situated next to each other.
Rightly (or wrongly) all 20 main courses for the group were sent out at the same time and there may very well have been a short delay between the first and last meals being sent out of the kitchen.
When steaks are ordered from our table d’hote menu a supplement is charged and our staff are required to get room numbers in order to charge extras to guest accounts.
This should have been perfectly straight forward and shouldn’t have required our staff to repeatedly ask for this information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    274
    129
    59
    40
See reviews for
120
293
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We arrived at the cairndale hotel and were upgraded to a four poster room. The reception man douglas was lovely, very friendly and helpful. The food and staff in the restaurant were great, we had bed, breakfast and evening meal well recommended, lovely well cooked food. We stayed for two nights and entertainment was on both evenings, the weather wasnt great so this was a bonus. We used the leisure facilities too, the pool was big and there was a steam room and sauna. All the staff were great we were sorry to leave and when we come back to dumfries we woulldnt go anywhere else. Thank you for a lovely stay. Forgot to say the price was great also, good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hi Susan
Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your recent visit to the Cairndale.
I know that Douglas will be particularly pleased with your comments and your feedback about the friendliness of our staff, the quality of meals served in our restaurant and our leisure facilities are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked a double room, but unfortunately given a twin in error. No problem for a very efficient and friendly Douglas on reception who quickly sorted the problem out and put us in a really lovely room.Leisure centre was nice and breakfast was very varied and lovely.All staff friendly and are a credit to the hotel. Would be happy to use hotel again and recommend to others.Great value for money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your excellent feedback following your recent visit to the Cairndale.
It was great to hear that you'd be happy to use the hotel again and to recommend the hotel to friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made welcome, booking in was straight forward, we were directed to the stairs or to the lift, our room was in the newer part of the hotel on the top floor up 2 flights of stairs once we got out of the lift, it is a bit of a trek for anyone who is not fit but we were ok. The room was lovely and the facilities were right for the room.
The spa facilities are excellent and there are plenty areas to rest and relax, the food served and service is also excellent, overall a very good experience that we shall want to experience again.

Room Tip: Ask reception on booking as some rooms do not have lift access, the website is a good place to start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley-anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your recent visit to the Cairndale. Your feedback is very much appreciated by everyone concerned with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle, england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

room ok. we were in room 20 and it was ok, but the TV!......I've seen larger PC monitors!....it was tiny. bed was comfortable, breakfast was nice as was the evening meal but not a great deal of choice. staff very nice. guy on reception on arrival was very good and very friendly. restaurant staff were very professional and friendly. only real gripe was the flippin' floorboards! we were kept awake both nights through people walking the floor above. this was at 4.30.am so i wasn't very happy but the people in the room above can't control the noise from the floorboards. it was the same the next night. the boards in our room were just as bad but as we were above one of the restaurants we didn't disturb anyone below. I mentioned it at checkout but I don't suppose anything will be done about it. if I went to Dumfries again (which I doubt) I would stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: don't choose room 20 if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntievera48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed with this hotel rooms need updating urgently very 80's and a tad scruffy cigarette burns on the blankets for the sofa bed. Room was ridiculously boiling with no air con or fan and only able to open the window an inch. As for hairdryers in rooms it would take an eternity to dry even the finest hair with theses ancient dryers.

The only positive was the breakfast was wonderful with lots of choice.

Even though you are able to use the pool and the very small gym I do not think this hotel was value for money.

This hotel in my opinion is more suited to the mature traveller and not families as 97% of the residents there during our stay where over 65.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Donmarlukkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Arrived at this hotel with my mother and her friends, to see the Tattoo in edinburgh. We were greeted by a friendly staff member. The room was small but clean and the bathroom was lovely and clean. Bar staff were great fun on the saturday night after we got back from the Tattoo, and we all had a deserving drink in the bar. Breakfast was good, and there was plenty of staff if anything was needed.
Would definitely stay again but maybe take my husband next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WirralTrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to the Edinburgh Tattoo.
As you know our hotel is situated less than a 2 hour drive from Edinburgh and we welcome an increasing number of guests who travel up to Edinburgh for the Tattoo in August.
We'd be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel with your husband next time and hope to see you back at the Cairndale in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
12.0 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
22.0 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing