We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, comfortable rooms and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I have recently returned from a four night break staying at the Cairndale.
The hotel is easy to find in the town centre and there is a large car park opposite the DG One Leisure Centre – which is also a good point of reference on the local traffic signs. The hotel looks a little old-fashioned from outside and indeed a few parts of the hotel look as though they could do with updating but there is nothing “sub standard” about this hotel.
The welcome at reception was warm, and we had a pleasant double room on the second floor. There were adequate facilities in the room – desk to work, a couple of arm chairs and a very comfortable bed. There was a flat-screen television with reasonable choice of channels and ample supplies of tea, coffee and chocolate. The free Wireless internet worked well and was fast.
The en-suite consisted of loo, wash basin and a really good power shower. The fitting and tiling all appeared quite new, there was a good selection of shampoo, soap, etc and plenty of room for your own bits and pieces.
There is an excellent pool, Jacuzzi, etc, although the changing rooms could do with sprucing up a little. Adjacent to the pool is a café where you can get a lunchtime snack.
The most chaotic part of the hotel was the bar. Service was slow and seating limited.
The best part of the hotel was undoubtedly the restaurant. An excellent self-service buffet breakfast with a wide range of hot and cold foods and kippers and haddock cooked to order. One of my big complaints about hotels is that there is every variety of jam on the tables but no marmalade – that was certainly not the case at the Cairndale where jams and marmalade choices were wide and varied! In the evening there was a substantial three course dinner – ordered from a set menu or a la carte. Main courses ranged from a roast beef dinner, spicy chicken, pork, salmon or steaks which all come with potatoes and a good selection of vegetables. The food was all excellently prepared and good quantities and good wines by the glass or bottle to accompany.
Throughout our stay, wherever we went in the hotel the staff were really friendly and all went the extra mile to help and make our stay memorable.
We will certainly be back to the Cairndale if we visit the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stopped here for one night as a family of four on route to Scotland. It appears to be a destination for large groups of golfers. The food was extremely good and service both in the restaurant and at reception was really outstanding. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. We used the gym, swimming pool, sauna and spa and everything was clean and working well. The room was perhaps the only disapointment and although perfectly clean the beds were soft, saggy and uncomfortable.
We thought it was good value.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubycambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Hats off to the staff, in particular the big chap at reception who was friendly and very helpful.
Also, the reservation staff were helpful and efficient.
Spent one night DBB with wife and two kids. Not the greatest value but food was acceptable and surroundings were pleasant enough. Gym was OK and pool was a good size. Also, no issues with free Wi-Fi which was a bonus.
The hotel is let down by the quality of the bedrooms and bathroom. They are very "tired" as was I after one night's attempted sleep. Try to avoid the wing 10-20(?) and especially room 14 as you are situated next to the Polish (?) cleaning staff HQ. Loud bangs and heated debates at 7 am are an unwanted distraction. Also, the fold down bed is fold down springs. Got a Z bed as a replacement, not ideal.
My compliments to the staff for being friendly and helpful but the rooms in the hotel are in need of some TLC.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2010

The feedback from this review is very helpful and constructive.

I was pleased to receive the comments about reception staff being friendly and helpful and the member of staff concerned certainly goes out of his way to ensure that guests enjoy their visits to the hotel.

We have a number of family rooms in the hotel. Family rooms for three usually have a double bed and a single bed and rooms for families of four have an additional sofa bed.

These rooms are particularly popular with families during holiday periods but it has to be said that sofa beds are only really suitable for younger children.

I was pleased to find that the request for a Z bed was met although this might not have been any better than one of our sofa beds if it was used for an older child.

As well as being able to offer a range of family rooms we also have a limited number of connecting rooms that are suitable for families. These rooms are probably better suited for families with older children but as they are not sold on the internet it's always best to contact the hotel directly to discuss the suitability of the various rooms for families depending on ages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Average is really all I could say about this hotel. 1 nights double room b& b £100 was overpriced for a three star hotel which is all it deserved. Room was small but clean. Wardrobe smelt so did not hang clothes up in it. Room was located near some exterior fans which were noisy and woke me up. My husband is tall and his feet stuck out of the bed but the bed was comfortable. Drinks were expensive at £3.25 a pint. I have stayed in much better hotels for the money we paid . Breakfast was good although self service on hot food could be improved as lidded heater trays were a pain and plates were small. Although friendly Waitresses stood next to our table gossiping with eachother which was distracting when trying to enjoy a quiet breakfast together . Don't sit too close to the kitchen!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillywilly_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

It is always helpful to receive feedback from guests and I was sorry to find that this reviewer felt that the price paid for accommodation was overpriced.

Our rate can vary throughout the year and are usually higher at weekends.

In saying this I do not consider the rates paid unreasonable for a three star hotel with leisure facilities.

A much better rate is often available when dinner is included in the rate.

As far as bar prices are concerned in the hotel we have recently reviewed these and have found them to be very reasonable when compared to other 3 star hotels in the area with the price of a pint of John Smith's Bitter or Tennents Lager currently £3.25 a pint, 25ml spirits £2.25 and soft drinks £1.50.

We do not pretend to be anything other than a three star hotel and would like to think that we trade at the higher end of this standard with the hotel being regularly inspected by the various awarding bodies including Tha AA and Visit Acotland

As far as the beds in the hotel are concerned these are standard throughout the hotel although we do also offer a number of executive rooms and suites. We often receive special requests from guests for larger beds or for firmer mattresses and whenever possible we try to accommodate these special requests when we are advised of them in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and had the worst nights sleep. I booked this for our anniversary with information I had seen on this web site. I booked a double room and it was tiny. The double bed was not a double as my partners feet were hanging off the end and he is not that tall, plus it was very hard. The room was clean and the breakfast was ok. I think it is best suited for older couples as we were the youngest there by about 20 years. The location is great for the town as everything is in walking distance. Caught up on our sleep at the Premier Inn in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

I was sorry to find that these guests did not enjoy a comfortable night's sleep in the hotel.

We offer a number of room types in the hotel including standard rooms (which tend to be smaller rooms), Executive Rooms , and Four Poster Suites with separate lounge areas which are perfect for anniversaries and honeymoons.

Whilst it is not always necessary to know the reasons for a visit to the hotel if we know guests are celebrating a special occasion we very often upgrade rooms although this is usually subject to availability. Executive Rooms and Suites can also be booked at an extra cost to guarantee this room type if it is required for a special occasion. As Executive Rooms and Suites are not always sold on the internet it is advisable to contact the hotel directly to book these rooms and at the same time highlight special request or reasons for a visit (eg wedding or Anniversary)

It may of course be the case that the hotel was particularly busy the night these guests stayed ,and if the room was booked at the last minute or at at a reduced other guests may have already been allocated Executive Rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

After booking 3 rooms with Cairndale and turning up with written confirmation - they had booked only one but had taken the total cost from my Credit Card on the day of booking. - good wheeze, take the money but don't have the rooms!!! Busy day in the town so difficult to find other accomodation - return to the hotel to meet up with colleagues.......... asked for a certain very "everyday" make of beer, to be told they had none (actually they were "locked in another bar and didn';t have the key" allegedly) asked for another kind .......... didn't have that either but different excuse given. Told we couldn't dine until after 8.30pm. Asked for some crisps or nuts - they didn't have those either. I could fill several pages, but do you NEED any more info! DREADFUL!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
4  Thank AyrLindaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2010

I have looked into the details of this review and feel that some clarification is needed.
A booking for three rooms was indeed made but because of ambiguity only one room was reserved.
Having accepted our mistake, highlighted the reason for the problem and explained that no payment had been taken from the guests credit card alternative accommodation was found for the guest at a nearby hotel.
A taxi was also booked and paid for by the hotel so that guests could return for dinner later in the evening.
As far as booking times for dinner are concerned these are subject to availability and other bookings taken on the night and it is not always possible to accommodate everyone in our restaurant at the same time.
Our advice would always be to try and book tables in advance to avoid disappointment for dinner as our restaurant can be very busy at peak times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

This hotel is situated in the centre of town. We took our dog and there are plenty good forrest walks a short drive away. The dog wasn't allowed in any public areas in the hotel -which was a disappointment for us but might suit others. Our room was of a good standard and nicely decorated. The hotel was well maintained and cleaned (although we could have done without the loud chatter of the cleaning staff coming on duty early in the morning).
We had two meals in the restaurant for both of us, one was very good, one was less good. However, I have an allergy and the chef made me a special dessert. Also, the staff went out of the their way to find maps for walks for us.
I would definitely recomend this hotel - they also have entertainment on Saturday nights (we weren't there on Sat but other guests said it was good).

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,083 reviews
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
334 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range: £67 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing