We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had high expectations but was really disappointed...”

The Swan Kingholm Quay
Ranked #17 of 133 Restaurants in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Swan is on the Quay less than 2 mile from the town centre of Dumfries with great views, beer garden and easy parking. Opens 7 days a week from 12noon for lunch and 5pm for dinner. Serving quality traditional pub food with a full bar to include real ale and is family and disable friendly. Enjoy food outdoors in the summer in the beautiful beer garden and terrace and in the winter a warm welcome awaits you with the 2 log fires in the pub.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Had high expectations but was really disappointed...”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Went for an evening meal recently as I heard the restaurant had been taken over by new management and was getting good reviews. On arrival we received a friendly welcome and were shown to our table - good start. We then had to wait at least 10 minutes before someone would take our drink order as they were too busy but said they would get to us asap. We also had to wait ages to order our food as a big party had just been served and the kitchen needed time to catch up! I enjoyed my meal however my husband was really disappointed with his - he had pork and it was mainly fat with very little pork! Was really looking forward to the meal but won't be rushing back. There are many restaurants in Dumfries that are much better in terms of service and quality of food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LilleVennWestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    86
    26
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Newly Renovated”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Swan at Kingholm Quay has been newly renovated both inside and out. The menu has also been updated. Please note that there is both a winter menu and a summer menu so the current one will undergo some changes. Interestingly enough they are willing to listen to suggestions so who know, something you suggest might show up on the menu.

The Swan is located on the Nith and I have been told they get good summer traffic. There is lots of parking across from The Swan. Right now there are major road works in the area but don't let this deter you from visiting.

We went for supper. They were very helpful when they were told about dietary restrictions and they gave suggestions. I can vouch for the sticky chicken. It was tasty and would recommend it. There is a bar so if you just want a drink you can.

There was no issue with access. One of our party had a cane and was able to negotiate both the interior and exterior.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PastTimesWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One staff member let it down”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and partner walk the long way from dumfries to The Swan for a bite to eat. I've been before and always thought the food was good.

We arrived and were greeted by a pleasant older waitress who showed us to our table.

Another younger girl came over to take our drinks order. Her attitude was terrible. Very unfriendly, she appeared like she could not be bothered. When my partner said he wanted to pay for our drinks first she questioned this a number of times and made us feel awkward.

Despite this the food was very good and the other waitress was excellent. Highly recommend this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the Swan on Sun 4 May for a (very) late lunch. The staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive. The food was delicious (although the coffee was like dishwater - disappointing after such a lovely meal). We had a very relaxing lunch in nice surroundings. We will definitely return next time we are in Dumfries.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank McAlpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have not been to the Swan for many years. Went there today, with my mother, for lunch. The refurbishment is lovely. The disabled access and facilities are spot on - one of the best designed, well equipped and cleanest disabled toilets I have seen for a long time. The food was excellent and good value. The staff were friendly, cheerful and attentive. We will definitely be back and will bring others with us!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan Kingholm Quay also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Swan Kingholm Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing