We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Dumfries
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“comfy stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

It was lovely to see that this hotel had been refurbished, as it had been looking very tired on previous visits. Our stay was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep, all important as we had a lot more miles to travel the following day .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 186342Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    102
    36
    14
    12
See reviews for
115
116
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Told friends we were staying in the Travelodge Dumfries, oh we know the one!!! giving us the knowing look of things to come.
Found the location no problem, it is situated on the approach to Dumfries on the A75, Checked in with the receptionist who was elderly and without Joy (on that day). No helpful information on the town of Dumfries, nor able to give direction or able to speak about the local area...OH deep Joy.

We travelled into the town and found an excellent restaurant and came back to the hotel to settle down early as we had been travelling all day and this was just an overnight stop on our way to Edinburgh. Lights out 10pm awoke at 1.15am to the sound of a Diesel Locomotive starting up just outside our door, problem was there was no train line anywhere near us! this thing took a good 5 mins to get up a head of steam and then continued banging and clattering, enough was enough this was just outside our door coming through the bathroom corridor wall, Like a Ghost train hidden in the corridor services cupboard outside room 23. I went down to reception to complain and the chap Bill - fortunately our earlier friend "Deep Joy" had gone home, Bill could hear the noise as we climbed the stairs to the room and was concerned as the "Plumbing was just redone not that long ago"! he was concerned with the noise building to a crescendo and said he would run some water of the taps as he thought the pipes were knocking...I thought it was the haunted 01.15 service serving the derelict caravan camp site behind the hotel. the water run off worked silence fell across the top floor...Thank you Bill....

Until 01.45 when the system regained a head of steam and the banging and clattering started again...arrgh! thankfully this only lasted 15 mins as I ran the water this time in my bath, this did the trick again and this time it stayed quiet until 5am when the rooks, and the jackdaws were peck pecking at the windows and squawking oh I now know why friends gave that knowing glance.....

we won't be staying here again

Room Tip: Ground floor may be better avoid room 22/23 - see review about the haunted station in the services c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stubai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Dumfries, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Stuai99, we’re really sorry to hear about the disruption you experienced during your stay. We do hope that all of our customers get a good night sleep when staying with us. Please be assured that a copy of your review has been sent to the Hotel Manager to make them aware of your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were on our way back to England from Scotland and decided to stay the night before the long trip home. We booked via the web site which was effortless and meant we could pre pay for the room. The location is a little out of Dumfries and near a main road, however, you could not hear the road from the room. On arrival check in was quick. The room was basic but spotless and well equipped. Plenty of storage room, however, there could have been a couple more sockets for charging. The hotel has no restaurant, however, a short 5 minute walk led us to a table 2 table restaurant next to the premier inn. I would advise a little caution a you have to cross a couple of busy roads. All in all the money we paid for the room, £40, meant a good night sleep and a refreshed driver ready for the trip ahead.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The accommodation was easy to find, and was a welcome stop on our route to and from the Highlands. The room was newly-refurbished, bright, clean and comfortable. No on-site restaurant, but a Premier Inn restaurant very close by! A busy Travelodge, but parking was easy and free. The outside area was marred by the presence of an abandoned, dilapidated Little Chef, but that didn't really matter because we weren't awake long enough for it to bother us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
12.5 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
6.7 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dumfries

Property: Travelodge Dumfries
Address: Annan Road | Collin, Dumfries DG1 3SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
#3 Family Hotel in Dumfries
#3 Business Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Dumfries 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Travelodge Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dumfries Hotel Dumfries
Travel Lodge Dumfries
Dumfries Travel Lodge
Dumfries Travelodge
Travelodge Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing