We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night wasn't enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langlands Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 48 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“One night wasn't enough!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for just one night in May at the end of a Rover ticket trip round NW England and just into Scotland. This was a last minute decision, so we didn't have time for too much in depth research but we honestly couldn't have found better.

The house is very close to the railway station, and Room 3 (a family room for double occupancy on this occasion) extremely nice indeed, with a beautiful river view. Eyecatching décor and a wonderfully comfortable bed. A very spacious room with lots of mirrors and that rarity ~ plenty of sockets for charging phones, cameras etc!

Donna was very friendly, and gave us a great recommendation for the Cavens Arms, where we had a great meal that night. The breakfast was excellent - good quality bacon, not that thin, frizzled stuff you often get; and the Lorne sausage and black pudding were excellent!

Everything was so nicely done, it felt like being at home. We wish we'd stayed longer - and probably will, soon!

Room Tip: The bed in Room #3 is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ailidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a must if you want to stay in dumfries. You will want to return, a very nice B& B excellent value, You don't need taxis, everything is within walking distance. Bright white crisp sheets, cosy comfy beds, bright smile from the landlady Donna. What more can you want ..and a fab breakfast . The bathrooms are spotless. Dumfries is having work done in the town too. It will look great when complete, the town is spotless too, no litter on the streets .

Room Tip: All rooms spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flowerpot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband stayed here for three nights, last week while he was working in Dumfries. he said it was very clean room was large with comfy beds. Breakfast was good and staff very friendly. He would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milly035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed at Langlands last week on the first night of a long-distance cycle. After a long day in the saddle battling against winds I was delighted to finally arrive and find that I had been upgraded from a single to a twin room. The room was super (think it was room one) with a sofa, TV and good WiFi. The beds were comfy and the hot shower great. I had cereal and toast for breakfast and there was a vast range of cereals, fruit etc. The cooked breakfast choice looked good. The building itself is a delight and was by far and away the best B and B I stayed in on my trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitsea, Basildon, Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Donna was awesome, we stayed during a visit for a wedding, Donna was wonderful, she Knew the area, the people and was a great conversationalist. The room was a great sizeand we have already stared talking about a second visit to Dumfries and a second stay at Langleys, if your on the fence, stay at Langlands, far more personable than a hotel and really really friendly.

Room Tip: En-suite double room at the front overlooks the water (this one for our next visit), or twin with en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I used Trip Advsor to find this B & B. I wanted 1 night near A75, had to be easy to find and easy to park after a long drive and near to a town for getting an evening meal. This accommodation ticked all the boxes. Warm welcome from Donna; she told me how to do a 3 minute walk into town for a nearby pub which served food until 10pm. Room 1 was large with a sofa and plenty of space. Everywhere clean and it was a quiet room overlooking the rear. Parked outside on the street. Something like 2 hour parking 8am Mon to Sat then full parking after 6pm. Used Expedia to book - this takes money at time of booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week and had a lovely stay. I was on a 2 week charity cycling adventure. The room I had booked was a twin as was due to stay with a friend but he was no longer travelling with me. The Langlands were good enough to give me a single room occupancy price (many other B&B's I stayed in still charged me full rate) but not only that she donated £5 of the room rate to my charity. The room was spotless with free WIFI and she recommended places for me to eat in town. Good location next to the river and 2 minutes walk in to town centre. The breakfast was the best one I had during the 2 weeks I was away. Delicious. Overall I had fantastic value and a really good stay. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodywood78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rivendell B&B
Rivendell B&B
#8 of 48 in Dumfries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#17 of 48 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Old Shop
The Old Shop
#19 of 48 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morton Villa B&B
Morton Villa B&B
#15 of 48 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langlands Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langlands Bed & Breakfast

Property: Langlands Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 Edinburgh Road, Dumfries DG1 1JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langlands Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langlands Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langlands Bed & Breakfast Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing