We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to spend the day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drumlanrig Castle

Drumlanrig Castle
Ranked #3 of 45 things to do in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set on the spectacular 80,000 acre Queensberry Estate complete with Country Park and Victorian Gardens, Drumlanrig Castle presents one of the finest examples of late 17th century Renaissance architecture in Scotland and an internationally renowned art collection. Beyond the castle are over 40 acres of enchanting gardens and a wide range of activities including walking, mountain biking, adventure playground, wildlife watching, Scottish Cycle Museum, Landrover tours, Ranger-led walks, events programme as well as shopping and catering.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to spend the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visited Drumlanrig Castle on Friday 30th May 2014. Tickets cost £8 each for two students and allowed us to go on a tour of the castle and visit the gardens. Our tour guide was wonderul (if I remember correctly, I believe his name was Ralph), very informative and friendly. He allowed us to ask questions about anything and everything that caught our eye, which was great! The castle tour was wonderful, full of beautiful and priceless objects.
You are not allowed to take photos inside the castle due to insurance reasons, but there are plenty of opportunities to take lovely photos when outside.
We went to the cafe after our tour for a bite to eat, which was delicious, if a little pricey. They make really nice coffee!

The gardens were very pretty and full of colour, they looked glorious in the sunshine. You can tell just how much work goes into keeping them looking neat. Huge expanses of lawn to stroll about on and little trails to adventure down.

All in all, one of the most pleasant days out I have had in a long time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoanneM858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    141
    32
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tour guide, Nicola, knows her stuff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Staying at Friars Carse Hotel just down the road, we felt duty bound to check out Drumlanrig Castle. The weather fortunately was glorious and undoubtedly added to our visit, particularly, of course, our view of the grounds, but the highlight was the guided tour of the inside of the castle. Once again we were particularly lucky to be the only ones booked and so had a personal tour escorted by the very knowledgeable, Nicola. As an archivist at the castle as well as a guide, she really knew her stuff and we spent a fascinating hour or so learning all about the castle's history and it's treasures. The setting of the castle is beautiful and the gardens lovely. Well worth the visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hilaryandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Set Tours for House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

To tour the house you must sign up for a tour. It is totally guided. The guides are full of information and willing to answer any questions you might have. The estate has an amazing collection of paintings and it is worth a visit on its own.
Once you have finished your tour you might want to have something to eat in their cafe. This is an order service.
It is worth spending several hours here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PastTimesWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Before you reach the estate there are ancient woods and the River Nith tumbles down the valley. The entrance is along a beautiful avenue and the castle sits at the top. Good parking and lots of picnic benches, plus walks and trails through the estate.
Take the Castle tour- the guide is informative and the treasures must be seen , especially the pictures. The rooms are outstanding , with wonderful views to the gardens.
All in all a great day out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LanarkshireKillieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
186 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We went on Easter Sunday and were blessed with good weather so the grounds were just beautiful to stroll around, with manicured lawns and woodland walks. We also took the 45-50 minute tour of the castle as well which was very informative and geared to the varying ages in the small group. I don't know with all the stairs if it is suitable for elderly or those in a wheelchair, having said that I do believe there is a lift which may be available in those circumstances - worth checking beforehand. The small café served very nice cake but sadly not my usual cappuccino. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nantwichgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drumlanrig Castle also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Drumlanrig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing