We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub with amazing views”
Review of The Steamboat Inn

The Steamboat Inn
Ranked #6 of 133 Restaurants in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fantastic location right by the Solway Coast. Plenty of seats for indoor and outdoor dining. Cosy fires in the winter and very child and dog friendly. Locally sourced produce freshly cooked to order. Gem of a place.
fleetwood
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely pub with amazing views”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Spotted this inn on a drive out from our cottage at New Abbey. Looked it up and saw how popular it was so luckily I pre booked. All the tables were taken but it is very homely and cosy and the tables are not too close together. We had steak pie and the pasta both of which were lovely and the portions were perfect. Fantastic views over the bay and you could see that there were locals in there eating and not just tourists. A really nice place to eat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jes40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    127
    29
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, stroppy teenager behind the bar!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Really enjoyed our meal here, huge portions and lovely food. The teenage girl with the attitude was the biggest problem, rolling eyes and making remarks about other customers, a huge let down for the business.
Cannot fault the food or choices, excellent location and could be improved with training or change of staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs P”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were staying at the Parkdean caravan park just minutes away from this quant little gem. With breath taking views and free parking. We wanted a somewhere special to eat out on our last evening of 3 here at Southerness. We were on a drive drive out on a sunny Saturday afternoon and stumbled on some signs for the Steamboat and decided to follow. It was a lovely late afternoon and it didnt take long before we found the place. With a lovely seating area outside. The Steamboat seemed popular with the car park alomst full and a glance at the menu we knew this was the placeto eat on our last night here in Scotland. We were not disappointed.... the food was quick and superb quality. We had tge 12oz Sirlion steak with all the trimmings it was delicious . Greedly followed by the homemade strawber ry cheesecake to share OMG!! We love it here.... and will be back guaranteed.

Helpful?
4 Thank Carli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet meal”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Saw the signs for the steamboat while on a short break in southerners. ..although this pub is a little of the beaten track it is so worth a trip down there. .
My wife and I have just had the 12 oz serloin steak with all the trimmings and I can honestly say it's one of the best steaks I have ever eaten which we followed with homemade strawberry cheese cake which was to die for. ... The staff are friendly ,the ambiance relaxed and food served promptly and beautifully presented. ...
If you are in the area. . Don't think twice go there. ... You won't regret it. . We certainly didn't !!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely location, eclectic decor (!), good size portions”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Visited for evening meal whilst staying at B&B nearby. Lucky to be able to book a table as very busy -need to phone ahead. Enjoyed our food. Friendly staff. Décor a bit over the top but appeals to others I assume.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fisheatingveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Steamboat Inn also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing