We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinoriffic Park!”
Review of Dino Park

Dino Park
Ranked #4 of 47 things to do in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Scotland's best dinosaur experience is open. Step back 150 million years and discover the giants who roamed the earth. Take a trip through the Dino Mine, hear stories and facts in the Dino Den, dig for fossils, have fun on our bouncy dinosaur and much more! A great day out for all the family! We are open 7 days a week, 10am - 5pm from 28th March to 1st November 2015.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinoriffic Park!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This park is awesome! My son is only 5 and a massive dinosaur fan and this made his day! The park is spotlessly clean the staff are super helpful and the entry price was very very reasonable, so credit where it's due Dino Park you've really nailed this. We will definitely be back again in the future.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Leezy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HetlandCentre, Owner at Dino Park, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
I will pass on your posative message to all the staff, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    89
    28
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinotastic”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is awesome my 5 year old loves it and I've been in a professional capacity as well as a coach driver . Well signed easy access coach friendly car park and staff looked after me as well . Add this to your itinerary if you are in the area well done all

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HetlandCentre, Owner at Dino Park, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Excellent, thank you for taking the time to give us a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Staff are wonderful”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

After driving from Glasgow my 2 year old was very reluctant to go in crying etc. I thought he would be fine once we got through the gates but he was really scared and Asking to leave. After half an hour I was ready to give up but one of the staff Sheila saw us about to leave offered to read my son a dinosaur story. After that she took him to the fossil sand and encouraged him to have a go. After that he was much happier as was I, so grateful to sheila as she turned what was beginning to look like a wasted trip into a lovely day to remember. All the staff were very friendly and seemed genuinely happy to be there. Bouncy castle there too and wee tuck shop. Great reasonably priced gift shop too with lots of pocket money toys and not just the usual rubbish. Overall fab day and we'll defo be back. Thanks again Sheila xxx

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurakelly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HetlandCentre, Owner at Dino Park, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We are really pleased that the day turned into a success for you all. I will pass on the nice comments to Sheila and all the staff, it will make there day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Dinosaur Fans”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were visiting my parents in Dalbeattie and spotted signs for this on the way to their house, after checking reviews on trip advisor we decided it was worth a visit as our 3 yr old is crazy about dinosaurs! We had a fab day and both the kids loved it, even our 20 mth old little girl. Despite having two school parties visiting at the time the staff were lovely and made time to read our little ones a story and made sure they enjoyed their time in the park. This is a hidden gem and excellent value for any family, you can go round as many times as you like and there is a lovely interactive element where you dig for fossils! We will definitely come back next time we visit my parents. The food in the cafe is also great value for money too with a good choice for kids and adults alike. My parents will definitely visit again but just for lunch in the absence of the grandkids!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HetlandCentre, Owner at Dino Park, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Great to hear that the AA signs worked, I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Adventure for young kids.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited Dino park at Hetland Garden Centre. The park isn't a giant theme park it's a lovely wee park with lots of fantastic dinosaurs that look like the real thing. The kids do find the dinosaur noises a bit too loud and life like but I think that's part of the fun (too be a wee but scared!).

The entrance fee for a family ticket (2 adults and 2 children) is £12. Under 2s are free. With this you can come in and out as many times as you like.

It's part of the Hetland Garden Centre which in itself is a lovely garden centre with lots of plants/ trees/ furniture/ kitchen items/ books/ gifts to browse around. Also worth a visit for lunch is the cafe which is really good too. Everything (as far as I can see!) is homemade in the kitchen and as well as great main meals/ soup & sandwiches they have fabulousr cakes& tray bakes. We have been too stuffed to fit in a cake so just buy them in the shop at the front and take them home!!

The Dino Park is a great wee park for a trip out with wee ones with enough the keep them occupied r a few hours.

Also have to say all the staff were very friendly and welcoming and seemed to lie working there. It gives a really warm feeling to both Dino Park and garden centre!

We will be back again for more Dino roars!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBoldBoysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HetlandCentre, Owner at Dino Park, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Brilliant, really pleased to see you back, I will pass on your comments to all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dino Park also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Eastriggs, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Dino Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing