We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dumfries Museum

Dumfries Museum
Ranked #6 of 45 things to do in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
swansea
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We arrived on a grey morning, having come up from the Bridge Museum. We went to pay to visit the camera, but were asked if we wouldn't mind waiting to pay, as it may rain, and it would have to be closed! We went up to the top of the old converted windmill and had a fascinating time with a very informative curator. As the camera reached the 360th degree, so the warning came and he was able to close it down before the rain came down in sheets! Well worth £2.70!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbirdSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    57
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Take a look about you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This attraction is free, although there is a very small charge for the camera obscura. We went on a sunny one minute and raining the next sort of day (Scotland has those). The staff wouldn't take any money for the camera obscura in case they had to cancel the show part way through, they didn't and we paid afterwards. The museum in interesting and well presented. There is limited parking, but it was August and we found room. Well worth an hour of your time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antmaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Loved the camera obscura”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The view from the camera obscura makes a visit absolutely worthwhile. The museum is well put together, although probably not “exciting” enough for children who want to press buttons. Really helpful and friendly staff.



Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank P_n_R_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Rain !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Wanted to see Camera Obscura but this was closed due to rain Nevertheless a very interesting little museum bursting with exhibits and information An enjoyable way to spend an hour or two Happy to recommend

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit-must see camera obscura”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A wonderful museum filled with exhibits that will appeal to any interest and age. The special treat is at the top of the winding staircase of the old converted windmill- the original camera obscura. It is a treasure trove of Dumfries a clear and colorful spyglass as if you are a bird with an aerial tour of the city. What a gem!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dumfries Museum also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Dumfries Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing