We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit .. ”
Review of Dumfries Museum

Dumfries Museum
Ranked #7 of 47 things to do in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
“Well worth a visit .. ”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

This visit was a little treasure trove ! The museum is full of interesting finds and well displayed. The camera obscura was amazing. To get the best views of dumfries from the obscura you need to go on a non raining day otherwise it will not be open. We had opportunity to get a 2nd go! As rain passed over during the first viewing and had to be closed. The staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Recommend a visit .

Helpful?
Thank Poppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    60
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Eye in the sky”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were lucky that the weather was good enough to be able to go up to the camera obscura.
The guide that took us up to the obscura and showed us how it worked was very knowledgeable and made it a most fascinating experience. There is a small charge for this but it is well worth it.
The rest of the museum also some very interesting exhibits.
Would recommend a visit here when in Dumfries.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank maggie55186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We arrived on a grey morning, having come up from the Bridge Museum. We went to pay to visit the camera, but were asked if we wouldn't mind waiting to pay, as it may rain, and it would have to be closed! We went up to the top of the old converted windmill and had a fascinating time with a very informative curator. As the camera reached the 360th degree, so the warning came and he was able to close it down before the rain came down in sheets! Well worth £2.70!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbirdSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Take a look about you”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This attraction is free, although there is a very small charge for the camera obscura. We went on a sunny one minute and raining the next sort of day (Scotland has those). The staff wouldn't take any money for the camera obscura in case they had to cancel the show part way through, they didn't and we paid afterwards. The museum in interesting and well presented. There is limited parking, but it was August and we found room. Well worth an hour of your time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antmaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Loved the camera obscura”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The view from the camera obscura makes a visit absolutely worthwhile. The museum is well put together, although probably not “exciting” enough for children who want to press buttons. Really helpful and friendly staff.



Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank P_n_R_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dumfries Museum also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Dumfries Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing