We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice welcoming to Scotland”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glencairn Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glencairn Villa
Ranked #31 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice welcoming to Scotland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

landed in Edinburgh and had issues with our rental. finally got out of airport and slow traffic to dumfries. was late and raining by the time we arrived and we drove around almost an hour trying to find this place. Everywhere we stopped, everyone knew where this street was, but took us a long time to find it. finally found it and turns out one roundabout messed us up. Wonderful hosts and cool house. Bed was ok but pillows were no good. close proximity to a lot of good things in Dumfries and surrounding areas as well. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogger33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
6
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Good value, very comfortable, quiet area, good food, no problems at all. A nice feature of Dumfries are the beautiful old buildings in red sandstone. Good entertainment in the Hole In The Wall pub in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahammk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I spent two very pleasant nights at this B&B in a room with en-suite bathroom and toilet. The villa is a short walk from the station and from the centre of the town and river. The owner ,Lawrence, made me most welcome, obligingly advised me regarding recommended places to eat and also booked a taxi for me. Facilities were very comfortable, the room clean, decent television, good coffee and tea making facilties and the breakfast to be recommended. Having stayed in numerous places around the world I would have no hesitation at all in recommending the Glencairn Villa B&B as a very good homely place to stay when visiting Dumfires and Galloway.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Enjoyed my stay, however it was a return to an older style b&b. My room was small as expected, however i didn't get on with the bed or the wardrobe. There was also a communal bathroom, which I believe was shared with all rooms, tho I never found it engaged, however some may find it inconvenient dashing across a multi level landing.Hosts were friendly and offered information when asked, however i'd recommend a info book for each room, covering the basics and some recommended places to see, eat and drink, however there were leaflets in the hall. Location is just a matter of 5 min walk into Dumfries and couldn't be better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

stayed at this bed and breakfast for first time at weekend Shirley very friendly and helpful. Very clean with excellent breakfast would definately stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pake47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

The owner, Shirley, made us feel welcome and guided us to a pub just a couple of minutes walk away that served good pub grub.
Would stay there again.
Stuart Southern

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartSouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Glencairn Villa is one of many Victorian-era houses that have been converted to modern B&B's, especially in this area of town. Parking is a bit dicey, as the homes were built before the age of cars, and the streets are somewhat narrow. Not as narrow as in the center of Dumfries, which was built in the 1500's though!
The rooms are small, but offer everything we needed. My mother and I stayed in Room 3, up a flight and a half of stairs. No lift (elevator), so if you have problems with stairs, be warned. But breakfast was always on time and just what we ordered, even to little things like added mushrooms in my omelette. Lawrence and Shirley are the owners, and Lawrence was very helpful giving us directions to the Family History Centre and Ewart Library, as well as suggestions for places in town to pick up a few sundry items we needed. He carried our luggage up the stairs for us, which was quite a help. The B&B is within walking distance of the rail station (maybe 3/4 of a mile), which was nice, since we didn't rent a car until we were leaving the town. The B&B might be a bit difficult to find in the rabbit warren of streets in the area, but I think most people would enjoy staying here.
Warning: though there is wi-fi here, it’s VERY intermittent. For short things you’re probably okay, but uploading or downloading of large files is probably not going to work. The occasional e-mail usually goes through, though.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSDunford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Burnett House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#16 of 52 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Torbay Lodge Guest House
Torbay Lodge Guest House
#13 of 52 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 52 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morton Villa B&B
Morton Villa B&B
#19 of 52 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencairn Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Villa

Property: Glencairn Villa
Address: 45 Rae Street, Dumfries DG1 1JD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Dumfries Town Centre - Glencairn Villa Our B&B is situated in an ideal town centre location with easy access to Dumfries museums, theatres, art galleries, shops, meals and more. Quiet Dumfries Town Centre Location Free Private Parking Places To Eat & Drink - 2 mins away! Free WIFI We Only Use Local Free Range Eggs We Only Use Local Butchers Vegetarian Options Available All Bed Linen Professionally Cleaned All Major Credit/ Debit Cards Accepted Glencairn Villa offers comfortable Bed and Breakfast accommodation in Dumfries with full central heating and a friendly atmosphere. We are just four minutes from Dumfries Train Station and less than five minutes walk from DG1 Leisure Centre and the high street. All of our double, twin and family rooms are en-suite Dining room and bedrooms with tea/coffee making facilities and freeview colour TV's We are an ideal base for family history researchers , walkers ,on & off road cyclists, golfers and fishermen wishing to experience the area. For an evening meal we can recommend several pubs, hotels and restaurants all within walking distance. Dumfries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Glencairn Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencairn Villa Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing