We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent welcome”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I last stayed in the Dumfries Premier Inn 3yrs ago and this place has really changed, last time it felt weary and isolated, now the welcome is warm and friendly from all the receptionists we saw (stayed for three nights), my room was set to a lovely warm temperature on arrival. The room, as usual withPremier Inn were clean, modern and well maintained (plug sockets next to bed would be useful Whitbread)! The Table Table next door had fast, very friendly service at night and for breakfast. There was a problem with tills on Tuesday night which I felt was handled in a smiley professional manner and an apology instead of with poor excuses, a great example for others on how to deal with customers when technology lets every one down.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    225
    92
    17
    18
See reviews for
233
246
32
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I had just travelled from Aberdeen to Dumfries and was greeted with a very friendly and warm welcome by the receptionist. Which lifted my jaded spirits. Not a local accent as the lady was from Hull but is a credit.
Room was great and bed was excellent.
Restaurant ok, but for in the morning the gas was off unfortunate but they still supplied an ample cooked breakfast.
Loads of parking spaces.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was decorated nicely and very clean but the best part was the bed, so comfortable, I usually can't wait to get back to my own bed but it was one of the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel. The hotel was quiet even though there were a lot of families staying there and the restaurant was surprisingly good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke On Trent
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I regularly use Premier Inns for business trips and they are usually very good value with comfortable rooms and decent breakfasts. Dumfries is no exception, but I have to say that the hotel itself is possibly due for a refit, it did feel slightly tired. The attached pub was very nice but unfortunately does not serve real ale. I always think that if a pub can't be bothered to serve decent beer then they are not going to be bothered to serve top quality food either; having said that the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanBStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. We are currently in line for a Hotel Refurbishment at Dumfries, which will bring us in line with other Premier Inn's you may have recently stayed in. We hope to welcome you again at Dumfries in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst on a short holiday tour. As we arrived half of the car park was flooded so parking was limited.

Greeted at reception by the very pleasant Lauren who directed us to our room at the end of a corridor on the ground floor. Opened the door to be greeted by a very musty, damp smell as if the room had been closed up for quite a while. Opened the windows & this soon disappeared. Room was spacious & comfortable although the choice of tv channels was quite limited. Bathroom spacious & clean, but water pressure poor in shower. Bed very comfortable, room quiet although we needed an extra duvet, kindly brought to our room by Lauren.

Had a very tasty evening meal & breakfast in the attached Solway Gate restaurant next door. Food was very good & the standard of service efficient.

Ideal base for exploring the wonderful Borders & Galloway Forest. Would recommend & will return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul197002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this regarding your water pressure in the shower also we were encountering an issue with a flood in our car park, which I am now glad to say has been resolved. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Maintenance Team at our hotel. I have passed your feedback to the Restaurant with your comments regarding Breakfast and Evening Meal.Also Many thanks for your kind compliments to our Team here at Dumfries .We look forward to welcoming you again at Dumfries Premier Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denbighshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

As with premier inns, you know what you're getting. We paid £29 for one night stay just before Christmas 2013 en route to Scotland. Personally, I like to have my bedroom window open overnight for fresh air and this venue does have windows that open. Staff very friendly. We only had one towel in the room on arrival so I asked for another one and more sachets of coffee which was no problem. Check in and out quick and easy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay very nice staff quite location nice clean and far more comfortable accommodation then some hotel's we've stayed in we didn't try the pub apart from coffee but looks a very nice place but expensive.
The breakfast is a bit steep at nearly £9 head we didn't bother
All in all would recommend this place

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jav-karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,046 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
314 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.4 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Address: Annan Road | Collin, Dumfries DG1 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
#1 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near this market town on the River Nith - once home to poet Robert Burns, Scotland's favourite son ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel Dumfries
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing