We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sleep tight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“sleep tight”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The usual high standard that you expect from this chain Welcoming reception staff and very friendly ( Polish ) waitress in the adjoining restaurant that serves reasonably priced food
Very good links to the motorway system

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    225
    92
    17
    18
See reviews for
233
246
32
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked an overnight here on our journey north to Glasgow and also because we hadn't visited Dumfries. We weren't disappointed as we know that Premier Inn maintain a consistently good standard of accommodation. The room was clean and spacious and as with most Premier Inns the en-suite bathroom had the benefit of a bath as well as an overhead shower and large white soft towels.

We decided to walk into town which was around 40 minutes at a reasonable pace but took the bus back (the Carlisle service number 79) which only cost us £1.70 each (sadly unable to use our English bus passes!)

We ate in the on-site restaurant in the evening (Table Table) and again these type of chain restaurants offer the same type of pub food - but usually to a good standard. Our food was very good - we had pre-booked the two course meal deal which is very good value (sticky toffee pudding to die for!) and our waitress (Myna) was chatty and attentive providing an excellent service. Breakfast was excellent with the usual Premier Inn choices.

Plenty of space in the car park, and easy access to the main road north, so all in all another good stay at a Premier Inn

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarboroughgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Agree with previous reviewers the hallways are a bit tired looking but the room was spacious and clean. It wasn't a particularly hot day hut the room was warm and you could only open the window a few inches. This was our first stay in a Premier Inn and the creaky floorboards near our bathroom ( room 36 ) along with the extraction fan noise affected our sleep. We had to get up at 6am so felt pretty tired. Plenty of fluffy towels in the room. Had drinks and dessert in the restaurant which was good. Parking spaces are a big tight especially when the car park is full. Receptionist was efficient and friendly.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JC-the-organiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, Premier Inn Team Leader at Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your first stay at a Premier Inn wasn't fully up to your expectations. I have noted your issues and will investigate floorboards and the fan in your room. As you may of been aware when you arrived we are having an extension to the Hotel which at the moment, has taken a few car parking spaces away, we will however have these back soon. You also noted that the Hotel is looking tired, again we are having a Hotel refurbishment starting soon which will bring us in line with newer Premier Inn's. I am glad you found the Reception Team friendly and you enjoyed your Desserts & Drinks in our adjoing Restaurant. I hope you had a good crossing over to Ireland and enjoyed your break. I would be obliged if you would contact me on my e-mail address to discuss your stay further pitl.dumfries@whitbread.com.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I love staying at these Premier Inn. Nice pub as always next door. I went at the end of June when we where having some very warm weather and the hotel could have done with some air-conditioning in the rooms which it didn't have at the time but overall It was good as always.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel was ideally placed to break our trip up to Scotland. Check in was faultless due to the fact I had checked in on line the day before!

Room was clean and comfortable and the addition of a fan as the weather was warm was a nice touch.

Ate at the restaurant as we had booked a meal deal so got evening meal and breakfast which is excellent value for money.

Highly recomended and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sclubpooh153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just had our second visit to premier inn Dumfries and I am now looking to book again as we have been really pleases with the service provided by the staff. They are friendly and helpfull. It is very clean and near to every thing in Dumfries


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We often use Premier Inns and always find the rooms to be clean,quiet, comfortable and well appointed. Dumfries is no exception. We were on our way to Ardrossan to board the ferry for Arran and after a stressful drive up th M6 in torrential rain it was good to know that our destination would be easy to find and we would be able to eat on site

Room Tip: Rooms on the left [west?] side face a lane rather than a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterVitalspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,046 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
314 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.4 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Address: Annan Road | Collin, Dumfries DG1 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dumfries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
#1 Business Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near this market town on the River Nith - once home to poet Robert Burns, Scotland's favourite son ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel Dumfries
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing