We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Huntingdon House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

we stayed at huntingdon house in july for 5 nights , myself my brother and our mum , our 2nd stay at this lovely hotel , lynne and terry are fantastic hosts ,nothing is to much trouble its like home from home ,they make you feel like family . the hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are lovely , and the breakfast is fantastic . its a 10 min walk into town centre, and just 5 mins from train statiom , we travelled by train and hired a car when we got there ,as its well placed to visit surrounding places , , i would recommend this lovely hotel to everyone , we will be staying there again next year with more members of our family ,

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cindymercer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel was spotlessly clean, easy to find, convenient to the town centre and surrounding countryside. The welcome was simply fantastic, we got stuck in traffic and didn't get there until really late but this wasn't an issue. I couldn't praise the service and hotel enough. Breakfast was great and nothing was too much trouble. Nothing at all to complain about and would definitely return and recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Dumfries.

We took an 8 year old with us and they made her feel equally welcome.

Room Tip: The triple room we stayed in was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wenlock_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have just stayed for a week at this hotel and it was like home from home. We had a wonderful time and were treated more like a member of the family. The hotel was absolutely spotless and well maintained nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent and we never had to wait more than a couple of minutes. Just a shame they don,t run a chain so I could use them all over the country. Fantastic service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just returned from my annual golf trip to Scotland and our second stay at the Huntingdon. Once again the standards are second to none. Everything is top notch and the service provided by Terry & Lynne was outstanding as always. Food is excellent, the rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable, and Terry keeps a good pint of beer too! A big thank you this time to Lynnes parents, David & Jean who were looking after the place for a couple of days whilst Terry & Lynne visited their daughter. They both provided the same high standards of service and looked after us admiribly. We have already booked our rooms for next year and would highly reccomend that anyone visiting the area stays here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrokenStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

As soon as we arrived at the Huntingdon Hotel we were amazed at the excellent level of customer service, there was nothing that couldnt have been done for us and the rooms felt Just like home. Everything was neat, tidy, and organized and shops and local amenities were only a few steps away. This is an excellent place to stay and I shall be' recommending this hotel to any friends or family that are thinking of visiting scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Domino1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Terry and Lynne provided an outstanding base for our four night stay in Dumfries to visit relatives. The hotel is spotless, very well equipped and appointed. Its location is ideal for getting in and around the town and is close to several good places to eat. The breakfasts were spectacular (I can highly recommend the porridge!) and Terry was the cheeriest host we have met. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with a large en suite bathroom. All in all, the whole experience of staying at the Huntingdon was superb. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Dumfries now and hope to make regular visits.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

What a place this is,Terry & Lynn just cannot do anymore,they have it down to a fine art,the whole hotel is spotless,(Terry nearly tucks you in bed..ah ah---just a private little joke)loved every moment we were there.Nancy`s birthday was great(had two nights,wished it was longer)ONE BIG THANK YOU & the staff.& hope Lynn is feeling better.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank del451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 52 in Dumfries
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon House Hotel

Address: 18 St. Marys Street, Dumfries DG1 1LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: £80 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1863 by Jean Aitkin Carlyle (Thomas Carlyle`s sister), this large sandstone house offers the ideal location to discover the delights of south west Scotland. A friendly and courteous service awaits you, making it the ideal place to visit Scotland. The house has been completely refurbished and benefits from double glazing, central heating, free Wi-Fi and a large car park. The entire hotel is strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Huntingdon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing