We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Huntingdon House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Had our first nights stopover here on a tour of Scotland. Very friendly owners, lovely room, great breakfast especially the porridge!Everything was great ,would definitely return and would highly recommend to others. Wish we could have stayed another night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireWanderer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
138
19
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Our experience reflects that of others in that the reception and service was excellent.Nothing was to much trouble and local dining advice was freely given. Our room was quite big, clean and tidy and had all mod cons. Abonus was a bar which was unexpected in a guest house

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

travelled from newcastle,stayed for 2 nights,the stay from beginning to end was wonderful! the hosts were lovely,helpful and accommodating,the hotel is clean,well kept and homely,we will return for sure!! one of my favourite weekend-away hotels,thankyou. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah84x6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

.Just returned from a very comfortable stay at the Huntingdon hotel. Stayed 3 nights touring the lovely countryside of Dumfries and Galloway, and attending the Fringe in Edinburgh. Its 20 odd years since I stayed in Dumfries, and found that the actual town has been really badly hit by the recession.
The proprietor of the hotel, Terry, is a fun and knowledgable guide to the area, with some wicked stories, including Gold panning and Bulgarian arm wrestling dentists (up to you if you believe them or not!).
Breakfast is ordered the previous night using a requirement sheet (that seemed odd), but certainly worked well. Good English(Scottish) breakfast including various cereals, dried fruit, and fresh fruits and Yoghurts.
We had room 5, that was fairly large, with a nice big bathroom. Slightly questionable electric shower, but over all very nice.
When we return to the area next year, we will return to the Huntingdon.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee5360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay,you must visit,nothing is to much trouble.
Welcoming host,great room,large bed,large bathroom,lots of shelving and storage,
spotlessly clean,toiletries.Breakfast was nice & freshly cooked.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdinburghJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

we stayed at huntingdon house in july for 5 nights , myself my brother and our mum , our 2nd stay at this lovely hotel , lynne and terry are fantastic hosts ,nothing is to much trouble its like home from home ,they make you feel like family . the hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are lovely , and the breakfast is fantastic . its a 10 min walk into town centre, and just 5 mins from train statiom , we travelled by train and hired a car when we got there ,as its well placed to visit surrounding places , , i would recommend this lovely hotel to everyone , we will be staying there again next year with more members of our family ,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindymercer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel was spotlessly clean, easy to find, convenient to the town centre and surrounding countryside. The welcome was simply fantastic, we got stuck in traffic and didn't get there until really late but this wasn't an issue. I couldn't praise the service and hotel enough. Breakfast was great and nothing was too much trouble. Nothing at all to complain about and would definitely return and recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Dumfries.

We took an 8 year old with us and they made her feel equally welcome.

Room Tip: The triple room we stayed in was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wenlock_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.4 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 8 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon House Hotel

Property: Huntingdon House Hotel
Address: 18 St Mary's Street, Dumfries DG1 1LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1863 by Jean Aitkin Carlyle (Thomas Carlyle`s sister), this large sandstone house offers the ideal location to discover the delights of south west Scotland. A friendly and courteous service awaits you, making it the ideal place to visit Scotland. The house has been completely refurbished and benefits from double glazing, central heating, free Wi-Fi and a large car park. The entire hotel is strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntingdon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing