We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Huntingdon House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2013

excelllent place to stay, owners extremely friendly and went over and above to make sure we had a pleasant stay. bedroom was brilliant. we had a choice of bath or walk in shower, i informed them before we arrived that i was on crutches , they asked if i was ok on stairs, they provided the first bedroom on the first floor, fluffy towels and bathrobes, little touches like deoderant, hand cream. in the room. .when we asked for recommendations of somewhere for an evening meal they were very knowledgable and recommended a few places, they were in walking distance but to far for me, they did offer to drive us there, we declined but it was a lovely gesture. breakfast lovely a good idea to order your breakfast the night before. would definetely come again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

A friend and I stayed here during our LEJOG (Land's End to John O'Groats) cycling tour in September 2012, and stayed just after the Tour of Britain had come through Dumfries.

The hosts were excellent. The chap was incredibly friendly and made us feel really welcome; which helped no-end as the weather hadn't been great.

He let us use his garage to store our bikes, and let us use his tools and pump to get ourselves back up to tip top shape as well.

Breakfast was really good, and properly filling.

The room was well decorated and the bathroom was really big and nice and clean with plenty of towels.

Also, they did some washing for us as well for a reasonable charge especially considering we must've given them at least 2 full loads (and what some accommodation would charge!)

(My apologies to the owners for taking so long in writing this! We completed the trip on time, and I've no doubt that was in part due to the brilliantly friendly atmosphere here.)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Fantastic B&B! Lovely hosts, lovely rooms with good amenities and comfy beds, cracking breakfast especially the porridge, good location close to town and train station, good value for money. Would deffinately stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadic-Snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Absolutely perfect you could not fault the food, the owners or the room. The lovely toweling robes and fluffy soft towels were just spot on after the long drive we had to Dumfries. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and be assured we will be back for the "Big Burns Supper" next year. Hopefully there won't be any SNOW next time.

Room Tip: We had a Super King Size bed and it was really comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed at the Huntingdon House Hotel in Dumfries for one night last weekend & could not fault the place. Very warm welcome & excellent facilities. If you are a biker (and we are) it is particularly recommended as the owners are bikers too so they know what bikers need when staying away! If you are not bikers then don't worry - your stay will be just as enjoyable! Keep up the good work & rest assured we will be back soon! Thank you!

Room Tip: Biker friendly! Warm welcome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Beautiful Hotel and wonderful hosts ... Service second to none.
Would definately stay again!! From the minute we entered to
when we left nothing was too much trouble, and also local knowledge
of restaurants and directions was great!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed for one night recently! Really enjoyed the stay. Beautiful rooms, great service, good food and in a central location. The owners were a mine of helpful information
Service with a smile and a chat!
LH.

Room Tip: Best aspect in rooms to the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiamHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.4 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 52 in Dumfries
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon House Hotel

Address: 18 St. Marys Street, Dumfries DG1 1LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: £80 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1863 by Jean Aitkin Carlyle (Thomas Carlyle`s sister), this large sandstone house offers the ideal location to discover the delights of south west Scotland. A friendly and courteous service awaits you, making it the ideal place to visit Scotland. The house has been completely refurbished and benefits from double glazing, central heating, free Wi-Fi and a large car park. The entire hotel is strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Huntingdon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing