We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful small and quiet Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Huntingdon House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 48 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basel / Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful small and quiet Hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

It was very relaxing to stay at this hotel and explore Dumfries from there. The owner couple is very friendly and gives very good recommendations. Lovely people. My room was spacious and very quiet. The breakfast was good. (fill in the form the evening before). There is a good chinese restaurant within ten minutes walk, and an excellent italian 12 minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAETZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    28
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
141
19
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Well, where to start with this one? I think I've stayed in anywhere worth staying in by now in this wonderful little town, and you will do a lot worse, and I sincerely mean a lot worse than this wonderful establishment. Situated a comfortable 5 minute stroll from the centre of town, it's an easy and comfortable walk to get there.

Terry and Lynn are the most welcoming of hosts you could imagine. I got a far better welcome here than the 'upmarket' Cairndale, which could really do with sending their staff here for a lesson in how to make a guest feel welcome.

As a frequent sole traveller, you are often left feeling isolated in a place such as this, but certainly not in this hotel. Having been in the bar alone several times, Terry is more than happy to sit and chat with you and entertain with some great stories of the area. Make sure you ask about the Annan Seal!

My room then. Very comfortable, very quiet and a huge en-suite bathroom with a good shower. Cleaned daily to a high standard, spare pillows available, wifi works well, despite being towards rear of the hotel. I rarely sleep well when away from home, surprising considering the amount of times I do it, but I actually slept in this morning! Only the smell of my breakfast being cooked stirred me from my slumber...

So, breakfast. Now, here's something I quite like : You order your breakfast via a small menu card on the evening before. So, if you're pushed for time on a morning, your breakfast is ready for the time you specify, and it's exactly what you want. Full English, cereal, fruit, all the usual stuff - it's ready for you. And here's the kicker - if it's not on the menu, they'll do it for it you (within reason!). Bacon sandwich - no problem! I think what really made it outstanding for me was a cafetiere of freshly brewed coffee just waiting for you as you stumble t your table after trying Terry's excellent single malt recommendations on an evening.


That kind of attitude towards breakfast actually sums up the whole experience here. Whatever you want, just ask! I was offered food ordering in, restaurant recommendations, best place to go for a drink, best place to watch football. The list could go on and on.

A little unfair trying to score this on fitness centre and pool below - a place like this doesn't need one to still be charming and appeal to anyone looking for a good value stay in the town. There is a huge fitness complex 5 minutes walk away, if that kind of thing floats your boat.

The hotel doesn't have an on site restaurant, but you shouldn't let this put you off. There are plenty of good places to eat within walking distance, read some of my other reviews for recommendations.

In summary, for a similar price to what you'd pay for a Premier Inn this is a far more satisfying experience, with the added bonus of being much more central.

Well done guys, I'll definitely be looking to stay here again as much as possible during my extended work in the area.

Room Tip: You won't have any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craigo1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Wow!!!
I arrived at the hotel very late at night and was greeted by very friendly staff member.
The room was outstanding! Spotlessly clean with anything you could want. Anything that wasn't available I am sure staff would get!
A bar is available at the hotel with a lovely beer garden, sadly I was not able to use these facilities due to my late arrival.
Breakfast was ordered the night before from a menu of options. As I discovered, due to food allergies, if it wasn't on the menu, ask, and it was ready and waiting on the table the next morning.
I stayed on a business trip, but it is somewhere I would come back to for a leisure trip.
The hotel and staff are a credit to the owners!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

A group of us took over the hotel and had a fantastic time. After each game, we were able to get our trolley batteries recharged. When it rained , they had a drying room for all our clothes, clubs etc. Breakfasts were excellant, either full british or continental or a combination of both. Rooms were great with comfy beds.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This was the most welcoming of hotels I've stayed in - and I travel a lot on business. Our hosts, Terry and Lynne keep a very tidy and clean establishment. They were very helpful and attentive, and able to provide excellent recommendations for dining and other local facilities. I would certainly highly recommend this hotel and will use it again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_T516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed for one night last Saturday.We were greeted by the owner Terry who immediately recommended us the best pub to eat and drink in the city. The room was nice and bright thanks to a big bay window with a lovely view.The bed was very comfy and we had an amazing sleeep.Breakfast in the morning was perfect with a big selection of cereals and cooked breakfast was very tasty.In the hotel there is also a large bar on the ground floor very quiet and welcoming with a good selection of beers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Excellent hotel of high standards. Service and levels of hospitality of extremely high standard. Ideal for short or long stay and suitable for families. This is one hotrl where you will not leave the breakfast table still feeling hungry.

Room Tip: Although there is no swimming pool / leisure centre the hotel standards and owners attitude to servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.4 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon House Hotel

Property: Huntingdon House Hotel
Address: 18 St. Marys Street, Dumfries DG1 1LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1863 by Jean Aitkin Carlyle (Thomas Carlyle`s sister), this large sandstone house offers the ideal location to discover the delights of south west Scotland. A friendly and courteous service awaits you, making it the ideal place to visit Scotland. The house has been completely refurbished and benefits from double glazing, central heating, free Wi-Fi and a large car park. The entire hotel is strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Huntingdon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing