We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Huntingdon House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

once again a fantastic stay at the huntington , the hotel is lovely , , and is well situated for the station , we travelled by train ,and for getting around and visiting places,we hired a car when we were there . the rooms are spacious very clean and comfortable . the breakfast is a must , and is served with a smile and a joke , .The garden.is lovely ( its first time we have been able to sit out in it , ) and Terry serves up a mean cocktail . Terry and Lynne are a great friendly couple ,and nothing is to much trouble , and our stay with them is like home from home , looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: i have stayed in 3 different rooms and family have stayed in 2 others and they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindymercer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have to stay that I think Terry and Lynn are doing such a fanatic job with the Hotel. When you walk through the door and you are made to feel most welcome by the two of them. It is a Hotel that has the personal touch and perfect for visiting Scotland. 10/10 for the breakfast and you really have to try the Mushrooms and sausages. The rooms are extra clean and bed is super comfy. you will again will feel that personal touch. I am looking forward to my next stay and feel lucky that my first time to Scotland was at the Huntingdon House in Dumfries. My advise is to book it soon as possible. Drinks at the Hotel bar is always a joy.

Room Tip: room 9 with its nice big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essex44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The owners were outstanding -- funny, nice, helpful, went out of their way to make our stay fantastic. The room was clean, spacious, with a very comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. It was nice to have the pub right downstairs, and the terrace seating was lovely. We were there for four nights, and would have loved to stay longer. Excellence in a lovely, homey, comfortable setting.

Room Tip: I doubt there's a bad room here, but our room, #2 was spacious and right at the top of the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancyye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Not our first visit. Once again met all expectations. Quiet location with a huge private car park. Pre ordered breakfast was spot on time and very good. Very clean, accommodating, good food and drink. Very homely with extremely friendly owners. Bar prices very reasonable compared to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

2nd stay at this hotel. Very helpful and great place to say. We were in Dumfries for the Scottish Rally at the end of June 2013 and enjoyed our stay. Very clean, accommodating, good food and drink. We had a need to use a battery charger overnight and Terry has no hesitation to assist us. It made a big difference to us.

Have booked to stay again in October.

Room Tip: Room no. 1 was VG.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Third visit to the Huntingdon House Hotel. I think that all I want to say has been said on many occasions before. This is without any shadow of doubt the number one place to stay in Dumfries. Spotlessly clean and very homely with extremely friendly owners. You are given advice on where to eat and both Lynne and Terry offered to drive us to any local restaurant of our choice ( not many places do that ) Bed was so comfy and we had an excellent nights sleep. Quiet location with a huge private car park. Breakfast which you pre order was spot on time and very good. 100% satisfaction , well done to both of you, a credit to the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul7628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have stayed in many places in Dumfries this year, due to my mother being in hospital most of this year. I can honestly say, this place has been the best yet. Although I turned up early begging a room, I was made to feel welcome, and despite only having their king size room available, I was offered this room at a very reasonable price, given I was staying alone.
There is a lovely private garden, with sheltered area to accommodate smokers such as myself, again it felt welcoming, given smoking is so frowned upon these days.
I cannot comment on the food as I did not eat there, though I was very touched that both owners made the effort to come and speak to me, and offered to do pretty much anything I wanted for breakfast. It is these small gestures I feel that really make a place.
Huntingdon house will be the first place I check for vacancies if I should need to stay in Dumfries again. Thank you very much to the owners for making my stay pleasant, albeit only one night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerensa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
326 reviews
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
10.3 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon House Hotel

Address: 18 St. Marys Street, Dumfries DG1 1LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: £80 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1863 by Jean Aitkin Carlyle (Thomas Carlyle`s sister), this large sandstone house offers the ideal location to discover the delights of south west Scotland. A friendly and courteous service awaits you, making it the ideal place to visit Scotland. The house has been completely refurbished and benefits from double glazing, central heating, free Wi-Fi and a large car park. The entire hotel is strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Huntingdon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing