We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the personal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Huntingdon House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The kind of place that makes you want to go back to Dumfries just to stay there. Terry (didn't meet Lynne - although I heard someone hard at work with a vacuum cleaner!) was an excellent host. Interesting and helpful. Room had every facility you could wish for. Nice breakfast. Very reasonably priced altogether. Have to confess that I initially tried to book a room at the Premier Inn but luckily they were full. No harm to the hotel chains but you can't beat the extra bit of effort and attention that comes with a private hotel as well run as this one. Must take a huge amount of effort and dedication.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMMScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We we were made welcome and so comfortable in this spotless little hotel. A bar to relax in, Tastefully decorated rooms and a delicious breakfast all made this a place we are keen to return to. The owners personal investment in customiser care and service was refreshing and complemented the lovely setting.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was a one night stay as we had family business to attend to in Dumfries. Everything was done to assist us. more than ample parking. Had a slight hiccup with the shower but was probably our fault and they immediately offered use of another room's facility. Very friendly and accommodating. We would visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had more than a wee spot of trouble finding Huntingdon House without a GPS or a Dumfries street map, but a phone call to Terry soon sorted that out. We were made very welcome on arrival, and given some recommendations for dinner, especially since it was late evening. The restaurant we walked to was very strange as they were closing early, and turned away six customers, but we opted for the second choice given us by Terry and Lynne. We strolled back to Huntingdon House, and the guys helped us place a order from the local Indian takeaway to be delivered to the hotel. As Terry warned us, the meal was huge, and it defeated our very best efforts.
A few drinks at the bar finished the day off and we enjoyed a very comfortable night's kip.
Breakfast was excellent, and set us up for another day on the road North.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartMac1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Yet another stay at this great hotel for another motorcycle adventure in Dumfries and Galloway.
Huntingdon House Hotel is my only choice for accommodation in this part of Scotland.
Terry welcomed me, on arrival, in the (huge) car park and I quickly felt at home - again.
Superb breakfasts set me up for the three days touring and the service must be the fastest anywhere! Lynne and Terry work extremely hard in maintaining hospitality of the highest order and I hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghostrider5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a tour of Scotland and came away highly impressed. We were running behind schedule when we arrived and Terry was very welcoming and accommodating, giving us a late dinner recommendation and keeping the pleasant hotel bar open for us to have a much needed dram of whiskey, along with some very pleasant conversation, before bed. Terry took care of some laundry we had accumulated and both our hosts did everything to make sure we were satisfied and comfortable. Wonderful hoteliers with a wonderful hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank PunchyKoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Terry and Lynne made our short stay in Dumfries so happy and comfortable. The public areas and the room we stayed in were beautifully decorated and neat and clean. The bed was large and very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Terry was a terrific host and Lynne offered to look after our laundry for a very reasonable price. There was also a large car park which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#4 of 7 in Dumfries
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 52 in Dumfries
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon House Hotel

Address: 18 St. Marys Street, Dumfries DG1 1LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: £78 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1863 by Jean Aitkin Carlyle (Thomas Carlyle`s sister), this large sandstone house offers the ideal location to discover the delights of south west Scotland. A friendly and courteous service awaits you, making it the ideal place to visit Scotland. The house has been completely refurbished and benefits from double glazing, central heating, free Wi-Fi and a large car park. The entire hotel is strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Huntingdon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing