We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Huntingdon House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 48 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Welcoming”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is located about 10-15 min walking distance from the town center. We were warmly welcomed by the owner and were shown to our room (second floor, no elevator, but not n issue at all). The room was spacious, very clean, comfortable bed, clean bathroom with nice toiletries. Free internet throughout the facility. Breakfast was great, fresh food with a good selection (you fill out a card the night before and you can always ask for more if you wanted). Loved the French-pressed coffee! Plenty of free parking space. Will definitively recommend to stay here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Senorskytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    28
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
33
144
19
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

An excellent hotel.Very clean and friendly.Bedroom was comfortable,Nice touches such as tissues on the side cabinet and a sewing kit in the bedside drawer.Local guides on what to do and see also in the room.
The ensuite was well provided with towels and even bathrobes.
The breakfast was to order and was cooked well, with extra toast if wanted.
I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor51Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just spent 2 nights in this Hotel, got to say it is the best i have stayed in , re Dumfries and i have stayed in a good few. great situation and so convenient for the town, just a short walk over the bridge and its the town centre. Train staion is only 2 minutes away. the Hotel itself is spotless, luv the carpet, the rooms are great and beds good ,you never want for any toiletries, the hosts were so welcoming, Terry you need some Carling in the bar.
Plenty tables outside to sit and enjoy the sunshine , parking , just loads of room to park,,, just could not fault the place at all. will try and stay there again on my next visit to Dumfries.
The situation also makes the place so quiet and peaceful,, excellent.
Thanks folks.

Room Tip: Rooms are all just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTBluebells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Nicely situated as you enter Dumfries from the North it is handy for the town and the station should you be travelling by rail. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our spacious accommodation. Everything you require is provided in the room and the hosts are very attentive and keen to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast was selected from a tick menu the evening before and was served on time and proved to be very enjoyable.
Overall our second visit was as good as the first and I would happily recommend a stay there.
There is no provision for an evening meal but the Station Hotel is a short walk and provides a good menu as well as plenty of other eating places in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A group of us on motorcycle tours of Scotland have stayed here a few times and have always enjoyed a very friendly welcome. Very helpful owner, great breakfast and safe bike parking, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMJeffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in May 2014. It was such a pleasure to walk into a hotel that was clean particularly after a stay in a supposedly 4 star hotel in London. Terry and Lynne were very welcoming and Terry had a wealth of knowledge regarding places to visit (and a wicked sense of humour). No complaints about the room, except that perhaps the mattress was too soft, but that is a personal preference and you cannot cater to everyone's taste.) The room was very well appointed with added touches that were appreciated. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dumfries.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I visit Dumfries & Galloway for a motorcycling holiday twice a year and only stay at the Huntingdon House Hotel.
I tried in early May but it was 'fully booked' (no surprise there!) but I managed to book later in the month and was allocated the room of my choice.
Room 1 has, since my last stay, had a new bathhroom fitted and I attach photos of said en suite. Terry informs me that Daniel Craig stayed in this room several years ago - before his rise to fame as 007.
Anyway, moving on...Lynne and Terry are the perfect hosts and always have time for a chat away from their busy schedule. The usual comforts of home and superb breakfasts made my stay all the more enjoyable - yet again!

Room Tip: Book early too avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghostrider5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
310 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon House Hotel

Property: Huntingdon House Hotel
Address: 18 St. Marys Street, Dumfries DG1 1LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1863 by Jean Aitkin Carlyle (Thomas Carlyle`s sister), this large sandstone house offers the ideal location to discover the delights of south west Scotland. A friendly and courteous service awaits you, making it the ideal place to visit Scotland. The house has been completely refurbished and benefits from double glazing, central heating, free Wi-Fi and a large car park. The entire hotel is strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Huntingdon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing