We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Just back from our weekend away to the Aston Hotel in Dumfries can not fault it in any way. Rooms clean and spacious lovely big bath in which to sooth aching feet from all their is to see. The staff were all very gracious and helpfull nothing was to much trouble. Would highly recomend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmarple51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the Aston a good location for your weekend break. Delighted the staff looked after you well and nothing was too much trouble. This is exactly what we thrive to achieve hopefully will be able to welcome you back on a return visit. In the meanwhile kind regards Mike Phillips. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    365
    126
    61
    36
See reviews for
159
530
26
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
All over
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed with family for a wedding at the ajacent facility. I stayed 4 nights in an Executive room-- which I recommend (good bit bigger and more comfortable than the standards). The staff was helpful at every turn and always had a solution to anything I asked. Beds are very comfortable and the restaurant is really very good (tried 3 breakfast and 2 dinners).

Free wifi was easy to use and fast. Overall, I was very impressed and would recommend the property to anyone.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the Executive room. Also, try the Baraccuda club in Dumfries for a great workout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FineF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this review which is much appreciates by the Aston team. Our twelve executives’ rooms which are extremely popular with many guests and can be booked with a supplementary charge. Terry our Restaurant Manager & Symon are Head Chef both thank you for the comments on the restaurant and food. Look forward to welcoming you again. Best Wishes , Mike Phillips General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights on a "Cyclists' Package" while doing some of the 7 Stanes cycle routes around Dumfries. And what an excellent base it proved to be.

The hotel reception, bar and dining rooms is actually the ground floor of Johnstone House, one of the original villas in the old Crichton Psychiatric Hospital I remember when I was younger. The upper floors of the villas are not currently used but the remainder of the hotel is of a modern green-turquoise block design, which actually contrasts the old sandstone villa. Much of the original interior and exterior design of the original building is still evident, with photographs in the rooms highlighting architectural features.

We arrived at the same time as a coach party. Nevertheless our check-in was rapid and we were sent to a large excellently equipped "L-shaped" room on the ground floor sporting a large double and single beds. Our en-suite was lean and whilst we only had a shower there was a seat within the enclosure. Soundproofing was pretty good (although we did notice a bit more noise on our final night) and heavy curtains assured a good night's sleep.

We ate in the restaurant on all 3 nights. On one evening our reservation had to pulled forward to accomodate the coach party but on the second two nights we had no problems booking tables. The food was excelllent and varied and we had a generous dinner allocation as part of our "package". There was a good selection of reasonably priced wines too. Breakfasts were part buffet / part order and again there was a ready flow of freshly cooked food, juices, fruit and cereals. Being on the cycling package we also received a packed lunch - freshly prepared sandwiches, crisps, fruit and water.

The staff were mostly young and obviously kept busy. However they were always helpful, friendly, curteous and polite and never seemed to be flapping, even when it appeared they were understaffed.

For cyclists there is a secure locked bike storage facility (basically a locked steel container), although this seems to double as a storage unit for the hotel as on the one day we used it it was mostly full of chairs (interestingly when I asked about it I was told I could take my bikes into the bedroom if I wanted to!). There is CCTV in and around the car park and I left our bikes locked on to the car bike carrier on the other nights.

Now used partly by the NHS and the University, the grounds of the Crichton are great for a wander. Unfortunately we couldn't see inside the old church when we were there

A couple of little things which drop this from five to four and a half stars. The bar was rather expensive; however the hotel's got to make money somewhere and given the exceptional value of everything else I can't really complain. Unfortunately it was also a bit small and we ended up taking drinks to our room on one night when we would have rather stayed to relax in the bar. We experienced quite a bit of noise in our room on one night. Service could be a bit slow - on one occasion we had finished our starter before our wine arrived - but this was not down to inattention of the staff who were extremely busy.

A couple of final suggestions relating to specifically attracting cyclists.Presumably when the hotel is busier, the bike storage is used for bikes and not as a general store - it was a push having 5 bikes in there. Also hotel laundry charges were pretty hefty and if you are going to attract mountain bikers (which by its very nature is a muddy, dirty past-time) why not have some sort of self-service laundry room on site for cycling gear which needs washing and rinsing, not sent off-site for the full laundry, ironing and folding treatment.

Overall we had an enjoyable excellent value for money and very comfortable stay and I would have no hesitation in coming back to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
What a find and what a review. Thanks for this covering so many aspects of your stay. Delighted you found us and enjoyed. Take note of your suggestions and comments and certainly will see what can be done. Bike storage we appreciate is a must so will always have room in our 'store' even when we are busy during the summer months. Best regards Mike Phillips General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

A well run hotel, friendly service and full value for money - would stop here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.Delighted you enjoyed your stay and you would use the hotel again.Look forward to welcoming you back on your return.Kind regards Mike Phillips,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Had a very enjoyable stay here. The room was comfortable, with an enormous bed. The buffet breakfast had a good choice, and seemed to be replenished quite frequently. The evening dining was a la carte, with a reasonable choice and the chef seemed to care.

There were some minor niggles about cleaning and maintenence (soap not replenished at all over the stay, light bulbs blown, air conditioning not working although fixed quickly when reported, sheets and duvet cover not really good enough) but the friendly and helpful attitide of the staff more than make up for these.

I would stay here again. Be aware that this is hotel around 1.5 miles from the town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park, as otherwise you might be overlooking a car park and overshadow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me-from-the-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and would return. Pleased the maintenance issues which can unfortunately happen were corrected promptly. Appreciate your comment on the distance. Must say a majority of our guest feedback state they enjoy the peaceful surroundings free from traffic noise ensuring a good night’s sleep.Thanks once again and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Mike Phillips General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Have just returned from a two night break at the Aston Hotel, Dumfries, whilst celebrating our wedding anniversary. We arrived mid-afternoon and were greeted pleasantly, and swiftly checked in. Our room was lovely; a huge, comfortable bed, with cosy bedding, including extra pillows if required. The shower room was very nicely fitted out, and the shower is one of the best I've used in a hotel. Breakfast on both mornings was very good, the waiting staff were efficient and attentive, and the food delicious, with a huge variety to choose from. We chose not to eat in the hotel in the evening, although we did have soup and a sandwich mid-afternoon, which was delicious. The hotel is about a mile out of the centre of Dumfries, in a quiet and attractive location, and we would definitely hope to return the next time we need to 're-charge our batteries'.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolJNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you you for taking the time to write this review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.Kind regards Mike Phillips General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed here one night, on business, in October. I was initially offered a room on the ground floor, which I don't like and was moved upstairs without fuss. I found the room to be in good condition and clean. While the bathroom did not have a bath, which could be an issue to some with young children ,and on the small side, it was perfectly fine. Dinner in the hotel met expectations as did breakfast the following morning. The only improvements I can think of would be to serve real ale in the bar and maybe have extra reception staff in the morning to check people out, as I had a short wait. Overall, I'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iamcorrect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thanks for this review. Good to receive this type of feedback. Will record your preference for a 1st or 2nd floor room which will alleviate this problem for future visits. Note your point on the showers but pleased to confirm our executive rooms all have baths and sofa beds with are suitable for families. Regret we our unable to stock draught real ale but we have recently extended our range of bottled ales from our local Sulwarth Brewery in Castle Douglas which are highly recommended.
Thank you once again for this feedback which we find most extremely usefull.Kind Regards Mike Phillips general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing