We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Twixmas break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing Twixmas break!”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Took a Travelzoo deal between Christmas and New Year at the Aston and really enjoyed ourselves. Check in was friendly and easy. Room was a good size, clean, modern and comfortable. Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. The hotel is in a lovely location with beautiful grounds. The only tiny grip would be hat ordering dinner (which was included in our package) was a bit of a fuss. We were given a general menu, then a menu of the day, but told we couldn't have a starter off the menu of the day and a main off the general menu, so had to choose something else. Strange policy, haven't got a clue why we couldn't just eat what we wanted. But don't let this stop you staying at a lovely hotel.
Can recommend The Cavens Arms in Dumfries for food. Fresh food in a busy friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don90Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for this review and your excellent comments on the hotel. Your point on the menu’s are noted which are perhaps down to staff training which I will address to avoid any future problems. Hopefully will be able to welcome you back again. Kind Regards, Mike Phillips General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    357
    126
    61
    36
See reviews for
156
527
25
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We spent two wonderful days at The Aston Hotel in Dumfries. Our party of 4 couples had a fantastic post New Year break. On arrival the receptionist was exceedingly friendly and professional during the check in. We went into the bar diner for lunch as this was New Years day there was a few things on the menu that had sold out however the staff were very good and offered alternatives. The hotel is situated in an estate near the banks of the river and there is a wonderful walk along the riverside to Whitesands then the town centre this takes around 20 - 30 minutes. The walk back can take slightly longer if like us you decide to visit one or two of the fabulous local pubs for a wee dram (it was a cold day and it was purely to warm us up!) The second night the hotel had fewer guests and Terry the F & B manager looked after our party ensuring we had the right wine for our meal, giving us a crash course in "how to taste wine" we all then spent time slurping and looking at the legs......!

We had such a good time during our two day break we went to bed on a stormy Tuesday evening vowing that this would not be our last visit to The Aston, little did we know that we were to experience even more of this hotels attention to customer care.

At 07.40 we were woken by the sounding of the fire alarm this was caused by a large section of the roof being blown off by a gale force gust of wind. Every member of the Aston team remained calm and efficient and looked after the guests explaining what had happened and it was safer to remain in the building than go outdoors.

A little later we were approached by the GM who introduced himself and ensured that we were all safe and in no way injured. He was genuinely concerned for our well being and that was greatly appreciated.

Sure the roof will need repaired but the staff just need to keep doing what they do so very well.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJO1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Many thanks for this comprehensive review on the Aston during you recent stay. Terry appreciates your comments and confirms it was a pleasure to serve you. We will relay your comments to other staff.

Yes, the storm. A morning not to be forgotten! I appreciated your understanding of our unusual situation. We had to close for five weeks but we are now open and back to normal. Best Wishes Mike Phillips General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We booked a travelzoo break at Aston Hotel Dumfries, a great deal in a great hotel. Very clean and comfortable room (exec upgraded) the food was tasty and well presented even the danish on arrival had cream with it. Our ground floor room was well furnished, the huge bed was sublime the hospitality tray well stocked and even bottled water and ice. The room had shower and bath plenty of towels and toiletries but sadly in December no heating in bathroom. The only minor problem we had was when we unlocked the room it was dark with no lighting took us a while to realize the electronic key went in a slot Never seen that before. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and would go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Review based on a Travelzoo two night bed and breakfast online deal in December which included a three course evening meal on the first night.
The hotel is on the outskirts of the town but well signposted from the main roads.
On arrival we discovered plenty of well lit car parking close to the entrance and reception. We received a warm and friendly welcome from the receptionist who took time to explain where the bar, restaurant and room were located. Straight away we were told that we had been upgraded and made our reservation for the evening meal at the hotel. We were given room 123 which was big with modern fittings and furnishings, a king size double bed with soft mattress and pillows, nice view of the landscaped gardens outside, free bottle of wine and generous tea making facilities.
Evening meal and the food in general was a real treat, I had the crab cake starter (very tasty) followed by a 12oz gammon steak and homemade chunky chips. The portions were huge and although it was three courses I was so full after the main I couldn't make room for any pudding. The restaurant is a tad on the cosy size but to be fair we never had any problems getting seated at dinner or breakfast and the tables are spaced well apart from each other. The window seat is a bit drafty though. Bar prices are about what you would expect for a hotel and I would expect to pay the same elsewhere. Its clear that the hotels main business is lectures and seminars with its conference room, however they would appear to only cater for professional business persons.
The only issue we could find were dusty bedside tables/lamps and a dusty dressing table although this definitely wouldn't put me off staying again. I would certainly recommend the Aston Hotel Dumfries if you are looking for a relaxing couple of days away. Recommend the restaurant if you have a big appetite!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakedistrictchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed here for a relatives birthday party - lovely hotel. A bit out of the way from the centre of town but lots of parking and luxurious rooms. Basi breakfast - would recommend when staying in Dumfries.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

After arriving exhausted in Scotland during our recent cycle trip from Lands End to John O'Groats, we were about ready to quit when we reached Dumfries. Our chance stop at this fine hotel was one of the highlights of the trip, particularly the impeccable service (special thanks to Terry at the Hotel), super room and shower and fine food. Even the bikes were given a secure place to stay. If you are ever passing through, celebrate making it to Scotland and treat yourself!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CycleSteve-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We've just got back from a 2 night stay at the Aston Hotel. It was our friends wedding and the whole event was hosted there. From our arrival which checking was smooth and effortless, we arrived at our room which was immaculate, as it was the excecutive upgrade we expected no less. Once in the bar area the staff were excellent, professional and polite making sure we were looked after, one person stood out Tony he is the upmost professional ensuring all needs are met and making our stay memorable.

I would just like to extend our thanks again to all the staff. It's good to see professionalism in the hospitality trade and standards were maintained even when placed under some pressure from a full wedding party landing at once.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain_the_kilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Fantastic review for the hotel and staff which is very much appreciated. Delighted you enjoyed your stay at your friends wedding. Pleased that Terry stood out to make your stay memorable. Note you name him Tony but don’t worry as we call him by other names sometimes as well.!!!

Thank once again Mike Phillips General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing