We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“john g”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
barnsley
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“john g”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

we stayed at th aston hotel in dumfries on the 9th and 10 th of march.our stay can only be described as far above expectations.
the reception on arrival was excellent,the room perfect and the meals in the restaurant were superb.excellent value for money.....wil definiteley return

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johngBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Delighted with this review. Your comments are greatly appreciated by all the team. Pleased that you found us over and above expectations and good value for money. Just what we try to achieve. Hopefully see you again Kind Regards. Mike Phillips General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    365
    126
    61
    36
See reviews for
159
530
26
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Strangers to Dumfries, and knowing we would be arriving on a Sunday evening, we thought it best to research the town's restaurants before we came.The Aston Hotel's promise of provision of food at this time sparked our interest.We were not disappointed..The out of town setting was magnificent ,the building imposing and the interior comfortable . We were soon armed with drinks and seated at a table with a view over The Crichton's lawns.Plenty of interesting choices on the menu for starters, mains and desserts. I really enjoyed my Trio of Lamb (confit, lamb cutlet and mini shepherd's pie)and the pheasant dish my husband chose was certainly to his taste.Desserts were rich and unctuous and we were left with the feeling of having enjoyed good food well cooked and presented.Service was prompt, good humoured and smiling.We were more than satisfied that our pre-trip research was well rewarded.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Your comments on our service and food are most welcome. The fact you choose to stay after what appears to be a thorough research is even more satisfying. It really shows the positive side of customer reviews. Hope to see you again. Mike Phillips General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The Hotel is let down by its 'brasserie bar'. the food is not fresh and is poor quality and in the case of the 'tandoori chicken' actually unpleasant. Breakfast was a buffet which on the second morning meant it had been out under hotlamps for a long time ...instead of baked beans the mush looked more like the refried variety.

Despite the claim for locally sourced ingredients this was betrayed by the 3663 delivery truck...though they may have a distribution centre in Dumfreis i guess.

Go for the accommodation,location and warm welcome but avoid the brasserie until they get their act together.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for your honest & frank review. Disappointed to see some of the comments as you might expect.

The comment on the breakfast buffet has been discussed with the chef as it is certainly not our normal standard.

Interesting observation on 3663.They are a national company and their nearest distribution centre is in Midlothian and not Dumfries. We purchase some dry goods as well as some local products as they are the appointed distributors for these. In addition to 3663 we have at least five suppliers in Dumfries & Galloway from whom we source local provisions such as meat, fish, cheese and other items. These we promote on our brassiere menu. Not everyone is aware perhaps that 3663 are also suppliers of a wide range of non food items.

The Tandoori Chicken dish unfortunately appears to have been your prime indicator in judging our Brassiere. I certainly regret your disappointment in this dish

Delighted you are happy with all other aspects. Hope you would use the hotel again and receive another warm welcome and a willingness by the General Manager to discuss in detail our local suppliers. In the meanwhile kind regards. Mike Phillips General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

was allocated a disabled room with a shower at a height of five foot, and therefore couldn't really use it comfortably, not only that the shower was faulty, reported it to reception and nothing was done, nor were we informed of this
room was not cleaned or made up the following day but a bag of towels/toilet paper just left in the room

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steven_sHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Steven from Harrogate, Interesting review especially after our recent correspondence. I accepted that we could have done better on one point but regret the misunderstanding which appears to have been the main problem. Thankfully people can see from previous reviews this is not normal. Kind Regards, Mike Phillips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We celebrated my husbands 60th birthday with a trip to the Aston, we were not disappointed.The room and en suite were lovely, the food was great and the staff were helpful and pleasant. It's a 30min walk downhill into Dumfries and even after strolling round the town, we still managed the walk back. We do lots of short breaks, this was the best hotel we've been too. It is also a pleasant walk around the grounds of the Crichton estate, lots of lovely old red sandstone buildings to admire. We will definately go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to write this excellent review. We find we are popular for birthdays anniversaries etc and we pleased you found us an ideal venue to celebrate your special event
Delighted you will be back and we all look forward to seeing you again Kind regards Mike Phillips General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Aston for a wedding on the Crichton Campus. It was very convenient for us, with only a short walk to both the church and the restaurant venue. However if you wanted to go to the Town Centre, it's quite a long walk past the hospital with only an occasional bus so you probably want to drive in an use the free [with a clock card] parking.

The hotel entrance is in an attractive historic building but the bedrooms are (all??) in a modern extension to the rear. Our room was very comfortable, with a superb bed and a very good shower - no bath - room. I did like the innovative idea of a seat in the shower!

We had a snack lunch and a breakfast there, and the food was very acceptable, though the lunch menu is a little restricted and the breakfast room is quite small so we had to wait for a table on Sunday morning.

So what are the negatives? Firstly there is an ENORMOUS difference between the rate if you book direct and that possible with an agency ~ think of a 35% discount! ~ an fortunately we had a tip-off in advance. Secondly finding the hotel was a little tricky - the satnav postcode took us to another partr of the campus with no helpful signing.

Thirdly there were sme annoying extra charges, in particular a £15 premium to check in at midday, AND the receptionist refused to hand over the room key until the extra charge had been paid. Did it go through the hotel books, I wonder? Also, though we didn't use it, there was a charge of £3.75 for room service - this seemed heavy.

All in all it was a good place to stay in you're in the Dumfries area, and, given the need, I'd go back. Just some of the details could be improved - or am I being too picky?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalriada-Cardross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Appreciate this review. A little surprised at your comment on the occasional bus service to the town centre. There are actually nine between 06.00 hrs and 09.00 hrs and then 10, 30 and after that 50 minutes past each hour until 16.00 hrs and thereafter nine in total until 22.00 hrs.Not what I would consider occasional!

Well done on finding our offer of advance purchase which you did some four months prior to arrival. You did not mention however that this had to be paid in full at the time of booking and was non refundable even in the event of cancellation. Whist I appreciate this may have suited you, not all guests are of the same mind.

There are two entrances to the estate and certainly my own sat nav directs me in the top entrance adjacent to the hotel We do have tourist signs for the hotel at the main junctions in the town leading up to the hotel which some guests find useful. Regret to hear that your sav nav directed you incorrectly.

Being a popular wedding venue we can be busy with wedding guests, some of which stay two nights especially for a wedding taking place early in the day. However we appreciate others prefer not to and stay for one night only. With an 11.00 hrs checkout we cannot service all bedrooms before lunch. We therefore have to prioritise and from experience the best way is to make a charge for the limited number of bedrooms that we can get ready. You will remember that you paid this charge by credit card and I would reassure you it was recorded correctly by the receptionist on duty at the time of your arrival.

Thank you for your other comments and I was pleased to note that you are recommending us as a good place to stay. Pleased to see also that you would return albeit I would respectfully point out we are not likely to change our policy on some of your negatives?. Kind Regards and thank you once again for your varied feedback. Mike Phillips General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stay fairly regularly. Has to be the best for business travellers in the area. Rooms comfortable wth everything that you need and fitted to a high standard. Free wifi but bad mobile reception.
Food always of a high standard. Always best to make a reservation for dinner as restaurant can get busy.
Will keep going back but always book through Laterooms.

Room Tip: If you want reliable Wifi ask for one with with reliable signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ifand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyfellow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Great comments, thank you. We are aware some mobiles do have problems. The provider I use has a mast 100 metres from the hotel but appreciate others are not as fortunate. I will certainly relay your comments to our Head Chef Symon McGregor who will be introducing a new Brasserie menu shortly. Your comment on dinner reservations is valid as we advise all guests on check in to book a table. See you soon, Mike Phillips General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing