We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent one nights stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Manchester
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent one nights stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2008

Stayed for one night BB&D whilst travelling upto Loch Lomond.
Excellent Hotel. Room & food of a very high standard.
Staff very helpful & friendly.
Highly recommended on all aspects.

  • Liked — Room & Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalglish07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    344
    121
    56
    33
See reviews for
151
516
24
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2008

Having stayed a year ago with a fantastic experience, we very much looked forward to returning. We were sorely disappointed!

When we arrived at reception, the clerk was busily engaged in conversation with the housekeeping staff and ignored us for several minutes, although with apologies afterwards.

Our room was lovely, as expected, complete with Wifi.

We went to the bar at dinner and ignored for a considerable period of time--no menus, no offer of drinks, nothing until one of us approached the server manning the podium for the restaurant.

After being seated for dinner, we were neither offered or served rolls, water (either bottled or tap), even though every other table in sight had been offered same. Our table was cleaned after the last sitting as I brushed handful of crumbs before we were served, in my palm.

The wine service left something to be desired due to inadequate training.

When the bill was finally presented, the wait staff disappeared and after a considerable delay, I left the table in and went to reception in search of a pen to complete the account. Needless to say, a tip was not forthcoming.

On check-out next morning, the reception desk was vacant. We waited expectantly for sometime before someone nonchantlantly appeared.

The rooms are great, service this time was terrible. We probably not be returning based on this experience (which was totally different from a year ago--obviously management no longer care).

  • Liked — Wi Fi
  • Disliked — Poor service
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank hushed_presence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2007

We stayed in the Aston Hotel Dumfries for a couple of nights at the end of November while attending a wedding in the nearby Easterbrook Hall. The hotel itself was nice enough - the rooms were clean and spacious, the food was good, and the grounds around the hotel were beautiful. However, we had significant problems with the hotel management. We booked the hotel by telephone many months in advance and gave our credit card details for a deposit. Sometime later we noticed that the deposit had not been taken and telephoned to confirm. We were then told that there was no record of our booking! We were offered a discounted rate and told that a confirmation letter would be sent. This letter did not arrive and it transpired (though another phone call) that it had been sent to the wrong address! If the hotel had not been so convenient for the wedding then we would have cancelled at this point. However, we persisted and fortunately there was a room available when we came to check-in, though the promised discount never materialised. It appears that the hotel is significantly under-staffed as there were long waits at the check-in desk and a general air of confusion during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank cwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was very nice, clean and well presented. Unfortunately, We wanted to go to the bar in the hotel when we came in after midnight. The man on duty said he was just a night porter and could not open the bar for us. There were 25 of us who had all come back to the hotel to drink in the hotel bar as hotel residents. The night porter did not have authority to open the bar and although he did try to telephone management, they either ignored his call or hung up on him. They eventually totally refused to help. We all complained about this in the morning and rather than explain to us, the hotel manager made a complain against us as guests. Really, really poor service. It was a shame because this was a nice hotel in a fantastic location but we were very let down by the attitude of the staff and management. They decided we were the problem rather than thier lack of undrstanding of what we wanted. To leave a night porter sitting in that position was appaling. He had no Health and Safety training and would not have known what to do in a fire situation. Clearly none of the management would have helped him!

We did get service from the Easterbrook Hall who I could not recommend highly enough.

This hotel deals badly with issues and the management should be changed quickly!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank BarneyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 8 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing