We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another Weekend Break”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is our 3rd weekend break and never fails to impress. The rooms are very comfortable with good views over the extensive grounds which are immaculate. The service as always was excellent and very friendly, and once again the food was excellent in fact I don't know why it is not Michelin starred.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken_hill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Ken, thank you for this review. Delighted that you keep returning for a weekend leisure break. Hopefully we will see you for visit number four. In the meanwhile best regards, Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    365
    126
    61
    36
See reviews for
159
530
26
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed in the above for one night. excellent value and the location is wonderful. Set in serene parkland university setting.
The room was in the new part and we faced the church. the gardens are stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for this review on you overnight stay. Pleased that you enjoyed and would like to think we could welcome you back for a longer stay next time. We are ideally situated to explore and visit all of the attractions and scenic sights of Dumfries & Galloway. We offer various packages some of which includes entrance fees which we hope would be of interest. Kind regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at this fabulous hotel for our wedding as we were getting married in the Crichton Church. The accommodation was exceptional value for money. The hotel was a fantastic venue to have our wedding breakfast, with the food being fabulous and also value for money. On the day of the wedding, a few hiccups occured that had nothing to do with the hotel, but were instantly put right by the staff of this hotel as they arose to ensure our day went smoothly. The staff were exceptional and we felt they went above and beyond the call of duty, We felt they made our wedding. The rest of our guests could not have sung the praises higher regarding this hotel and it's staff. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Elizabeth thanks for this great review and for choosing the Aston Dumfries for your memorable occasion. Delighted we were able to assist with resolving a couple of problems for you. Every happiness to you both. Hope we will see you again. Best Regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here overnight on our way further north, but would recommend it for a longer stay. The grounds are amazing, ask for a room with a view over the gardens/church. The rooms are a good size with everything you need and well maintained and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast, although buffet the hot food was regularly replenished rather than volume being kept hot. Overall a good overnight stop for us but would consider a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: Request views over the gardens and church not the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for taking time to post this review and for using the Aston for your overnight stop as we are just a few miles from the M 74.Would be pleased to welcome you for a return visit for a longer stay to enjoy the many sights and attractions you will find in Dumfries & Galloway. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Came here on a double Itison deal so were booked for four nights. We enjoyed it so much that we booked for a 5th night - and even got a brill deal on that (DB&B for the price of B&B.
The room was a decent size with very comfy king-size bed. Nice to have two chairs and appreciated the free wi-fi. TV was a bit disappointing, with only half-a-dozen channels and no way of knowing what was on.
The garden view was lovely though. The hotel is in extensive grounds, well-worth a walk round.
The shower is one of the best I've ever used. Very spacious, hot and powerful. Staff were all very helpful and friendly.
Food was first class and portions at dinner were plentiful. One small irritation was that staff cleared away the cooked breakfast items from the buffet ahead of "closing time" and we felt under pressure to vacate our seats quicker than we'd have liked.
However our overall experience was an excellent one and we'd highly recommend The Aston as a base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Hi David
Thank you for this review and for sharing your experience. The isiton deal has been extremely popular and we will be offering another one. Note your only negative point but please to say this has been addressed. All bedrooms will have new TV’s within a few weeks. Hope to see you again.Kind regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Made an overnight stopover here as part of a larger group. The rooms were good, the staff friendly and the food - a set mene for the large group, suprisingly good.

The grounds made a nice backdrop and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G7ONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Thank you and hopefully you enjoyed the rest of your holiday as well. Kind Regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Booked via ITISON and was excellent value . Hotel was great, staff very friendly and made feel welcome. Room was lovely with comfy bed and powerful shower. Breakfast buffet 1st class and credit to the chefs for keeping it freshly made with constant topping up.only downside was expensive bar prices. We actually saved money going into Town with taxi . Overall highly recommended . Beautiful grounds makes an ideal setting .

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johnward_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Pleased to see we have another satisfied guest from our ITISON offer. Thank you for your comments especially those on the staff who will be delighted to read. Bar prices are higher than some other, perhaps not similar establishment in town. This coupled with very reasonable taxi fares compared to other places may give this impression but overall I feel we give excellent value in all our special offers. Best Regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing