We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Arms(Lockerbie)
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,117)
Filter reviews
1,117 results
Traveller rating
479
386
137
72
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
386
137
72
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrichton churchuniversity campuseasterbrook hallexecutive roommodern extensionon arrivalbeautiful groundshotel is situatedlovely locationbuffet styleold buildingrestaurant staffthe ground floorsat navfirst classreception staffmain building
Filter
Updating list...
778 - 783 of 1,117 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Our "standard double" (room #20) was a nice size and included an iron, ironing board, tissues, one bar of soap, two shampoos, good towels, and the standard (in England and Scotland) tea kettle. There was a small table and easy chair as well. The room was quiet and faced the parking lot. The employees were very nice, letting us use the computer at the front desk since our Kindle Fire stopped seeing the wifi network. Parking and wifi were included. The dining room was convenient and served what we would describe as pub fare. The buffet breakfast included eggs, toast, tomatoes, ham, sausage, cheese, mushrooms, and fruit.
To find the hotel, follow signs to Crichton Estate and/or the hospital as the hotel is outside Dumfries proper.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for this comprehensive review and for choosing the Aston Dumfries. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Could I clarify we are only one mile from Dumfries Town Centre as the words outside Dumfries proper could many more miles. Hope you enjoyed the remainder of you stay in the UK. Kind regards Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on an itison deal (2nights, 2 people, breakfast, afternoon tea, prosecco, fruit bowl and chocolate).
One of the best deals we have ever purchased!
The Aston Hotel is lovely (strange choice of materials for the extension tho).
Beautiful, peaceful grounds. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Afternoon tea was good (not the best we've had but excellent as part of the deal).
Buffet breakfast in the morning.
Would definitely return :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Appreciate you taking the time to write this review. As said previously these offers have been very popular and we intend promote another one shortly. Pleased that you would return.Just what we aim for. Kind regards Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Nice room. But not even a sandwich available after 9:30pm, and nobody thought to tell me. Very small cheese plate for dinner - nice. Staff nice but nothing they can do... Apologies to be your customer - clearly an inconvenience to you.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Matthew disappointed and surprised with your comment. Our records show you received room service at 8.15 p.m. and again at 10.20 p.m. which included the cheese and biscuits. Have tried to contact you to clarify and resolve. Can assure you customer service is high on our list of priorities for all guests. Hope I am correct in assuming that everything else was to your satisfaction and we could welcome you back again.Kind regards, Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

we stayed at the hotel to attend a wedding - its in the grounds of what was once a lunatic asylum - it's now a conference/ wedding venue/ business park/university in a campus setting. The grounds are beautiful with extensive shrubbery and trees and the area is quiet and peaceful.The Aston is built on to one of the attractive sandstone building on site and has modern hotel rooms built onto the period building which houses the restaurant and meeting rooms. As a wedding venue it was perfect as the magnificent church was only 50M away with the Easterbrook Hall reception venue a similar distance. The Aston itself was very pleasant, the staff were polite, the food good and brasserie had a lovely ambience. The advantage of the modern rooms in an old venue was an excellent shower and a well thought out bathroom - the room was well equipped and the bed was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Jim, thanks for this great review. Your description of the hotel, Easterbrook Hall and our location on the Crichton Estate is perfect. Would like to welcome you again so will keep you posted with offers of our leisure breaks unless of course there is another wedding. Although originally a private Mental Hospital way ahead of its time, we like to think we deliver the same standard of care to our guests that Elizabeth Crichton awarded her special patients all those years ago Best regards and thanks again Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed at the Aston on various occasions and it is by far the best hotel in Dumfries in my opinion. The building is located nice grounds around the hospital area. The hotel is very modern and the rooms are always immaculate on arrival. The staff are very friendly and willing to help. Overall highly recommend if looking for a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandydons1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for this review and for choosing the Aston when staying in Dumfries. Appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews