We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long walk, but a pretty setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We arrived in Dumfries without a reservation and spotted the tourist information. They booked the Aston for us at a good rate and frommers had given it a good review. We had a car, but do like to walk to dinner and the center of town. The weather was nice enough to do so, but it is a bit of a hike from the center. The room was spacious with a king bed and overlooked lovely grounds. Nice lobby bar. We ate dinner at the restaurant the first night and was disappointed in the food. Breakfast, which was included, was average. So stay there, but don't eat there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you for this feedback although disappointed to read your points about the food. Will speak to those concerned but difficult to comment further without more details. We record feedback from customers and will look back to see if any were made at the time which will give me a better understanding of where perhaps we have got it wrong on this occasion.Kind regards Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel is situated on the Crichton Estate just south of Dumfries. A magnificent setting in parkland sharing with a church and university buildings. plenty of room to walk around a admire the scenery. We had a modern room with air-con which was great as it was Scotlands hottest day for years! all was fine apart from dinner which was dissapointing. Cold food and steaks not cooked as ordered with frozen chips. Shame really as staff seemed nice, maybe a one off.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyboyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thanks for this feedback which we value greatly. The positive comments are as you would expect good to read. Your negative one is duly noted and we apologise for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. Hopefully this would not deter you from visiting us again. Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A group of us stayed here as we were on a fishing trip................too sunny to fish,,We have stayed at the Aston several times before..The rooms are very comfortable and clean..good air con..What lets this hotel down??? The little things..warm white wine,no ice when you order a gin and tonic,no coffee or toast when you have waited 20 minutes and have finished your breakfast..On wed 10th july. in the evening. my partner and his friend ordered two gins,one with tonic and one with soda water. The staff had to serve them without ice..... the ice machine had broken down apparently.. We requested to speak to the duty manager but we had to wait 20minutes before he arrived at our table..He had been serving food at a conference..When he arrived he said YES....we were aware that he knew of our complaint We were then told ice would arrive in 3 or four minutes..It took 20 and the gins were like hot water at this stage. We were told by the staff that the ice machine had broken down..Thats ok but not my problem..Good management find a solution before the situation reaches crisis point..We were the people who suggested that ice be brought in from a local supermarket and guess what that is exactly what happened....Not sure if we will return as the staff in this hotel work extremely hard with little or no recognition and as a customer i know how that feels as we saw a grey haired manager who sat in his office every day and acknowledged NO ONE...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaandjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

As always thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Addressing your main point on ice first .Clearly we have got it wrong. Unfortunately we have been having problems but I am pleased and relieved they have been finally resolved by way of a brand new ice maker with our old one sent to be re cycled. Without going into details which were out with my control it should not have taken so long. Please accept my apologies.
On your personal comment about myself which I am surprised to read. Yes I do sit in an office some days but was out all day on 11th July on business. This appears to be the day after you spoke to the duty manager on the subject of the ice. My office is clearly visible to all guests as they have to pass by on the way to the bedrooms. In my 7 years at the Aston since the hotel opened I have made a point of speaking to most guests when I can, hence the reason why I leave the door wide open when appropriate. On customer questionnaires I invite guests to hand to me personally. If I have missed you then I again apologise but as I hope your appreciate from my comments this was not intended.
Note you have stayed a few times which I trust you have enjoyed and the reason for your return. With a new Ice machine I hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards. Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Attending an event which was to take place next door the Aston was the hotel of choice for most delegates.

An easy taxi ride to the hotel and we were soon checking in, which was a painless process, the rooms are nice and spacious and have everything you could need, though it took me a moment to find the kettle hidden in a desk drawer. Though the attachment does look very out of character with the other building in the area

As this was a networking event a lot of time was spent in the bar area, the staff did a great job as I'm sure they were a bit overwhelmed by us all!

We did not eat in the restaurant as we had booked a private room for dinner but the food was amazing and a great price.

Breakfast was the usual buffet affair, everything was hot and the toast freshly made so that was nice. the only comment I would make was for a busy hotel the breakfast room is tiny and there was a lot of fellow delegates waiting for a table at a times

The free wifi is a bonus if you are on a business trip as its important to be able to keep in touch with the office.

If I was ever to visit Dumfries again I would stay here.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jacqui O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Jacquil, thanks for taking the time to write this review which is much appreciated. Pleased to read all aspects appear to have been satisfactory and that you would use the Aston again. Best Regards Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Our "standard double" (room #20) was a nice size and included an iron, ironing board, tissues, one bar of soap, two shampoos, good towels, and the standard (in England and Scotland) tea kettle. There was a small table and easy chair as well. The room was quiet and faced the parking lot. The employees were very nice, letting us use the computer at the front desk since our Kindle Fire stopped seeing the wifi network. Parking and wifi were included. The dining room was convenient and served what we would describe as pub fare. The buffet breakfast included eggs, toast, tomatoes, ham, sausage, cheese, mushrooms, and fruit.
To find the hotel, follow signs to Crichton Estate and/or the hospital as the hotel is outside Dumfries proper.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for this comprehensive review and for choosing the Aston Dumfries. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Could I clarify we are only one mile from Dumfries Town Centre as the words outside Dumfries proper could many more miles. Hope you enjoyed the remainder of you stay in the UK. Kind regards Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on an itison deal (2nights, 2 people, breakfast, afternoon tea, prosecco, fruit bowl and chocolate).
One of the best deals we have ever purchased!
The Aston Hotel is lovely (strange choice of materials for the extension tho).
Beautiful, peaceful grounds. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Afternoon tea was good (not the best we've had but excellent as part of the deal).
Buffet breakfast in the morning.
Would definitely return :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Appreciate you taking the time to write this review. As said previously these offers have been very popular and we intend promote another one shortly. Pleased that you would return.Just what we aim for. Kind regards Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Nice room. But not even a sandwich available after 9:30pm, and nobody thought to tell me. Very small cheese plate for dinner - nice. Staff nice but nothing they can do... Apologies to be your customer - clearly an inconvenience to you.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Matthew disappointed and surprised with your comment. Our records show you received room service at 8.15 p.m. and again at 10.20 p.m. which included the cheese and biscuits. Have tried to contact you to clarify and resolve. Can assure you customer service is high on our list of priorities for all guests. Hope I am correct in assuming that everything else was to your satisfaction and we could welcome you back again.Kind regards, Mike Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
329 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
677 reviews
10.7 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range: £52 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing