We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location, nice staff but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Dumfries

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Perth
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely location, nice staff but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

As previously stated the setting of this hotel is delightful
The rooms were OK and all the staff we had contact with were great, except for the young bloke who served our drinks at the bar. We seemed to be getting in the way of him chatting with other staff causing our drinks order to take an eternity to prepare
The food was also below par with what appeared to be some cheap ingredients and poor presentation. So hotel generally pretty good but could do with paying more attention to the food coming out of the kitchen

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Ian, thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased you found the hotel in general to be delightful but as you might expect disappointed to read your comments on the food. I have looked at our daily restaurant reports as we prefer to try to rectify any disappointment at the time. I would be happy to discuss further if you would call me.In the meanwhile my apologies if we have failed on this occasion. Best Regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    342
    121
    56
    33
See reviews for
150
514
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

I found this a funny stay really. The staff were lovely throughout but at times some of the systems seemed a bit fiddly or fussy.
For instance I checked out prior to reception staff arriving and after 15 minutes of the restaurant and night staff trying to print my receipt I took a copy of their copy rather than wait any longer.
Food service was a bit strange with the bar menu finishing at 6pm so only the restaurant after that. However when I asked for ice cream in the bar at 9pm they were happy to let me have it. So really accommodating but odd fussy ideas.
Food was good too.
Room was lovely too.
Staff lovely.
I think I'd be happy to go back and it was a lovely setting

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank lancashirewillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thanks for this review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your mention of the staff. Will look into your comment on the receipt and apologies for your wait. Hopefully see you again. Best regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

First off, we thoroughly enjoyed our 2-day 'itison' deal at the Aston Hotel. The reception staff are very professional and accommodating - their attitude (both face-to-face and by telephone) was exceptional and set the tone for our stay. We upgraded to one of the executive rooms and found it to be spacious,comfortable and immaculately maintained by friendly house-keeping staff. The grounds in which the hotel is situated were a real surprise; they are delightful and we spent hours walking in the grounds and enjoying the scenery. Our deal included high tea on arrival and chocolate, fruit and wine in our room - a real treat. We travel often (mainly in the US) and, sadly, have come to expect lower service standards in our own country; however, this hotel is an exception. We were very impressed by the efforts the staff put in, and could tell that customer satisfaction was a priority. We ate in the hotel's own restaurant (one night) and found the food to be slightly disappointing given the extremely high standard of all other aspects of our stay. That said, the dining room was very pleasant and the staff were excellent and trying very hard to provide the best standard of service possible. We would be delighted to stay in the Aston again and would heartily recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayML11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments on staff are especially welcome and will be relayed to them as customer satisfaction is our number one priority. The itison deal has proved extremely popular so much so that we are currently repeating. Happy to discuss the point on the food if you would give me a call but disappointed that we did not met your expectations in this department.
We have been blessed with some fantastic weather and as you found out the grounds are excellent and we are fortunate to be situated where we are. Thank you for taking the time to write. Next time perfect,Regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We arrived in Dumfries without a reservation and spotted the tourist information. They booked the Aston for us at a good rate and frommers had given it a good review. We had a car, but do like to walk to dinner and the center of town. The weather was nice enough to do so, but it is a bit of a hike from the center. The room was spacious with a king bed and overlooked lovely grounds. Nice lobby bar. We ate dinner at the restaurant the first night and was disappointed in the food. Breakfast, which was included, was average. So stay there, but don't eat there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for this feedback although disappointed to read your points about the food. Will speak to those concerned but difficult to comment further without more details. We record feedback from customers and will look back to see if any were made at the time which will give me a better understanding of where perhaps we have got it wrong on this occasion.Kind regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel is situated on the Crichton Estate just south of Dumfries. A magnificent setting in parkland sharing with a church and university buildings. plenty of room to walk around a admire the scenery. We had a modern room with air-con which was great as it was Scotlands hottest day for years! all was fine apart from dinner which was dissapointing. Cold food and steaks not cooked as ordered with frozen chips. Shame really as staff seemed nice, maybe a one off.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyboyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thanks for this feedback which we value greatly. The positive comments are as you would expect good to read. Your negative one is duly noted and we apologise for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. Hopefully this would not deter you from visiting us again. Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enniskillen
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

A group of us stayed here as we were on a fishing trip................too sunny to fish,,We have stayed at the Aston several times before..The rooms are very comfortable and clean..good air con..What lets this hotel down??? The little things..warm white wine,no ice when you order a gin and tonic,no coffee or toast when you have waited 20 minutes and have finished your breakfast..On wed 10th july. in the evening. my partner and his friend ordered two gins,one with tonic and one with soda water. The staff had to serve them without ice..... the ice machine had broken down apparently.. We requested to speak to the duty manager but we had to wait 20minutes before he arrived at our table..He had been serving food at a conference..When he arrived he said YES....we were aware that he knew of our complaint We were then told ice would arrive in 3 or four minutes..It took 20 and the gins were like hot water at this stage. We were told by the staff that the ice machine had broken down..Thats ok but not my problem..Good management find a solution before the situation reaches crisis point..We were the people who suggested that ice be brought in from a local supermarket and guess what that is exactly what happened....Not sure if we will return as the staff in this hotel work extremely hard with little or no recognition and as a customer i know how that feels as we saw a grey haired manager who sat in his office every day and acknowledged NO ONE...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaandjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
As always thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Addressing your main point on ice first .Clearly we have got it wrong. Unfortunately we have been having problems but I am pleased and relieved they have been finally resolved by way of a brand new ice maker with our old one sent to be re cycled. Without going into details which were out with my control it should not have taken so long. Please accept my apologies.
On your personal comment about myself which I am surprised to read. Yes I do sit in an office some days but was out all day on 11th July on business. This appears to be the day after you spoke to the duty manager on the subject of the ice. My office is clearly visible to all guests as they have to pass by on the way to the bedrooms. In my 7 years at the Aston since the hotel opened I have made a point of speaking to most guests when I can, hence the reason why I leave the door wide open when appropriate. On customer questionnaires I invite guests to hand to me personally. If I have missed you then I again apologise but as I hope your appreciate from my comments this was not intended.
Note you have stayed a few times which I trust you have enjoyed and the reason for your return. With a new Ice machine I hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards. Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Attending an event which was to take place next door the Aston was the hotel of choice for most delegates.

An easy taxi ride to the hotel and we were soon checking in, which was a painless process, the rooms are nice and spacious and have everything you could need, though it took me a moment to find the kettle hidden in a desk drawer. Though the attachment does look very out of character with the other building in the area

As this was a networking event a lot of time was spent in the bar area, the staff did a great job as I'm sure they were a bit overwhelmed by us all!

We did not eat in the restaurant as we had booked a private room for dinner but the food was amazing and a great price.

Breakfast was the usual buffet affair, everything was hot and the toast freshly made so that was nice. the only comment I would make was for a busy hotel the breakfast room is tiny and there was a lot of fellow delegates waiting for a table at a times

The free wifi is a bonus if you are on a business trip as its important to be able to keep in touch with the office.

If I was ever to visit Dumfries again I would stay here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Jacquil, thanks for taking the time to write this review which is much appreciated. Pleased to read all aspects appear to have been satisfactory and that you would use the Aston again. Best Regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
10.6 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
13.2 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing