We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent break, very good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Dumfries

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent break, very good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break as part of a travelzoo deal. Everything was as the deal said without any issues, tea and scones on arrival, wine in the room and a 3 course meal on the first night.
Service from staff was very efficient, friendly and courteous, food in the evening and at breakfast was very good with a varied menu. The rooms were clean, modern and comfortable.
Location was good, a little out of Dumfries itself but well signposted and easy to find. The location was quiet as it is off the main road.
A very enjoyable stay, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    342
    121
    56
    33
See reviews for
149
514
24
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Bar one thing, my only complaint is that there was nothing to complain about.

The niggle concerns the TV in the room. No BBC Scotland - just BBC England! Why? Dumfries is in Scotland. Paradoxically they have BBC Scotland in the lounge/bar. So I had to stand in the bar to watch the football (seats there are no good as there are stupid lamps in the way of the screen. And no 'River City' in the room, which annoyed my wife. Or Scottish news. I can understand why Border TV has a lot of English stuff, fair enough. But BBC?

Right, apart from that it was faultless. And those folk who have complained about the food must have been at a different hotel from me. Do not be put off by those who complain about the breakfast or the dinner. They are talking nonsense, in my humble view.

Go on, try it!

And talking of views, the setting is absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_from_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. It is an old building with bedrooms in a modern wing. The room was of a good size and was clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern and spacious with a separate shower.

We had an evening meal in the bistro and it was very good. Breakfast the next day was very good and having stayed in two other hotels recently it was the best one yet.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The Internet access was free and good and did not require any codes. Our room overlooked the park and church.

This would be an excellent base for touring the beautiful countryside of Dumfries and Galloway. However I would give Dumfries town centre a miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

this was an excellent value for money two day break. we arrived a little early but was no problem we were given a nice pot of tea and shortbread,while we waited for our room. and what a suprise we had with the room it was spotlessly clean and very spacious the bed was massive and very comfortable. shower fantastic. reception staff, as all the staff were excellent and extremely efficient, and friendly. we dined in the restaurant both nights and had a first class meal with great service, the breakfast was also very good. the aston is a lovely hotel with very good straff and most pleasant surroundings and will definitely be visiting again. and once again all the staff are a credit to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itylay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I recently stayed here thinking yeah its out of the town so will be quiet and incredible! How wrong was I! The breakfast is basic buffet and tasted like cardboard, the eggs were dripping in grease and had a horrible taste to it, never experienced such disgust in all my life! But the only up side was the front of house staff and the restaurant manager, he was such a delight and such a credit to this hotel, the reception was fantastic all our needs met, the manager of the hotel sat in his office all day and looked extremely unhappy! I definitely wont be back here for the food thats for sure

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inspectorrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you very much for your recent response. All the team at Aston Dumfries were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. At our hotel, we take pride in everything that we do and try to ensure that all our guests have a pleasant and enjoyable stay. We try to make the hotel a 'home from home' experience and 99% of our guests warm to this. We were recently awarded our Trip Advisor Certificate of excellence to which myself and the team were delighted. Currently we are the No1 hotel within the area which is an amazing accolade. We admit that we don't always get it right, but as long as we strive for success and continue to better our product then we, the team, shall remain proud ambassadors of the Aston Hotel Dumfries. Again, on behalf of the team, thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was an excellent hotel and we enjoyed all aspects of our stay. The room was well appointed, the bed huge, the shower brilliant. The food and service were good. We also enjoyed a walk round the campus and the beautiful country views.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B_F562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Booked this hotel online way back in march and got a good deal. Advice on trip adviser was to ask for a garden room which we did. We arrived early evening after a long long day. Reception staff fantastic, check in painless and simple.
Our room was stifling hot as the day had been scorching, I went to reception and asked to borrow a fan, no problem a large one appeared immediately. The young lady explained that he garden side is in full sun all day but we had requested that side but we could transfer rooms if we wished it was no problem.we declined having already showered etc as it would have been churlish cause work.
Helpful and chatty when met with the unusual request as where best to park the car where the cockerels we had in the car would not disturb people. Suggested the car was fine where it was and she would notify the night porter not to be alarmed.
The only down side is the menu, it was the sort of pub lunch menu you would expect to find, such a great pity but we do not expect sandwiches and jacket potatoes on a hotel dinner menu. We asked about taxis and one was booked immediately.
The rooms are fabulous, large, spotless, well,presented, everything you could need in them. The bathroom was amazing and I wished I could have brought the shower home with me!!
Breakfast -- fantastic, ample choice of excellent food, staff once again faultless.
The staff are a credit to the hotel, whoever trains them does a great job and needs applauding.

All in all a great place to stay, staff and hotel fantastic but the dinner menu a let down.

Room Tip: In a heat wave remember the garden side is sweltering so opt for the other cooler side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.9 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 8 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
10.6 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing