We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel double booked.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Dumfries

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel double booked.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My company booked this hotel over 2 months ago for an overnight business stay. My company has never used this hotel before , but after reading reviews decided to book it. Arriving tonight at the hotel at 7.30p.m. To be told there was a problem with my room & booking due to a maintence issue with my room. There were no more rooms available in the hotel & they had trf my booking to another hotel. Arriving at the other hotel arranged it was not the same quality as the Aston, single room given with no ensure facilities. Far cry from the double room booked at the Aston. I was asked by my local work colleagues to check it out for staying after a wedding they were planning, I will be telling them not to stay at the Aston. Disappointed at the lack of prior contact & second hotel arranged was of lower quality. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amk672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Amk672,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further so I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    341
    121
    56
    33
See reviews for
149
514
24
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Spent weekend of daughter's wedding here in king size room. Generally sstisfied but there was a really inpleasant smell in room coming from bathroom so had to leave window open most of the time!
Husband was not impressed with standard of cooked breakfast - thought it was very average processed food! Being a vegan, I did not have a cooked breakfast option. The toast machine was the usual type found in most hotels these days and turned out the usual underdone toast! Can someone do something about these annoying machines - they dont work!!
I was not impressed with the leather table coverings in the dining room! Yuk!! Dead animal skins to eat off!!
Much better to leave the wooden tables uncovered, in my opinion.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the stunning Crichton gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Linda G,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad you liked our convenient location. However, I am deeply sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Having been to the Aston 4 times over the past year we were looking forward to our visit in March. The room was not to standard, cracked walls waste bin hadn't been emptied the heating hadn't been put on so the room was freezing cold. The meal was poor and some of the staff were not helpful. Having complained to the Manager we were advised we could return for a complementary stay, having emailed him now twice asking when we can stay and having no response back we shall not be returning again.

As for the fine dining experience it wasn't.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank markc255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear markc255,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay. Our goal is to provide excellent guest experiences but it is regrettable we weren't able to do so due to the condition of the room and dining being below par. Your feedback is instrumental for us to improve.

Again, thank you for your time in writing us a review and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We last visited the Aston Hotel in Dumfries 3 years ago and were looking forward to returning this Easter. As before we enjoyed the luxury of the large, comfortable bed, the cleanliness of the room and bathroom, in fact everywhere was spotless. The breakfast offered a great choice, no complaints there. However there were obviously severe staffing problems in that each morning guests were having to queue to wait for tables to be cleared before they could sit down. One morning we saw a couple clearing a table themselves. To try to buy a drink in the lounge in the evening involved a very long wait as the barman had no help and was rushed off his feet. Perhaps this was just as well as there was nowhere to sit anyway. As we paid full price for the 4 nights, we expected better than this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel

As the new General Manager, i am delighted you enjoyed your room, but i am disappointed that the service levels didn't meet your expectations. I will be spending time over the coming weeks and months to ensure the service levels always exceed expectations.

Hopefully i will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel over the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

First stayed at the Aston in 2008 which I rated as excellent and unfortunately based on my recent overnight stay the hotel experience has declined.
We arrived on 22/04/14 at 2.10pm for a one nights stay on a DBB deal.
Unfortunately we were told our room was not ready and would be available in "5 minutes", we sat in the car for a further 10 minutes and returned back into the hotel and was again informed that the room was still not available.
After making a bit of a fuss we were offered a complementary coffee in the lounge, which was full of customers whose rooms were also still not available .
3.30pm arrived and no member of staff informed us of any progress, so my partner went to enquire and after a further 5 minutes we eventually got our room card.
On our way to the room the corridors were littered with bags of used bedding & towels from the bedrooms.
I returned to my vehicle after 4 pm to collect some items and the customers from the coffee lounge were now all in reception along with newcomers all waiting for rooms which were not available a full 2 hours after the check in time...... Not a good start...
Our room was large and spacious, with large comfortable bed and modern bathroom with walk in shower, unfortunately there was no bath as I understand this is offered at an extra £20.
TV was large enough but at an awkward viewing angle when sat in the bed.
The curtains were hanging off at both ends and would not shut properly , knobs were loose on the draws and there were a few stains splattered up the walls ,all of which I would not expect from this hotel.
We had a good nights sleep until 5/5.30 am when we were woken from noises which came from the service shaft which is contained within the walls of the bathroom and I assume contains ducting and pipe work leading to the boiler room, this constant noise continued until after breakfast.
Based on my latest experience I would not consider this hotel if I was to stay in the area again.

I have posted a separate review on our dinner and breakfast experience .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dalglish07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear dalglish07,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations during this day. I am sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during check in and with your accommodations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

When we got to the hotel, the staff were very friendly. However, our rooms were not ready and we had to wait a good 20 minutes while they were made ready. The food was beyond awesome, though small portions. The wifi could have been ALOT better, but the staff was extremely friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a review on your stay at the hotel.

I am delighted that your enjoyed your stay, i have passed your comments to my team and they are delighted with your comments. But we are now working on fine tuning all aspects of the hotel.

I do hope i have the opportunity to welcome you back over the coming months
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Aston hotel on the Friday of the Easter weekend. Our first impressions of the hotel were excellent the hotel has lovely surroundings, the room was nice and the bed was huge and very comfortable.

We had dinner at the restaurant on our first night included in the price we paid for the room. The food was lovely although we weren't overly impressed with the service.

After dinner we had a few drinks in the bar which has a relaxing and cosy feel. The two staff there were very friendly and pleasant (nice to chat to). The male bar man we think was called stuart and a female on trial were both helpful with advice on local attractions.

The following morning we had breakfast in the restaurant. There was lots of choice of what to have and we didn't struggle for seating. Although we went for half 8 there was a queue for a table at around 9. It was beautiful weather so we took advantage of the outdoor seating on the Saturday to have a refreshment in the sun.

On the Saturday we had dinner in the bar from the bar menu. We had to wait around 45 minutes for this as the restaurant was busy but when the food arrived we weren't disappointed.

The bar area got really busy around 9:15 as there was an overflow of people supposed to be in the restaurant. There was a lot of disgruntled customers who had been affected by the chef refusing to cook for anyone after 8. These people had booked tables for dinner and an hour and a half later still hadn't been fed. The chef came out to speak to the guests but seemed to just worsen the situation. The waiting staff tried to offer alternatives to the guests however some guests still went to bed without being fed.

The drama continued through to the following day when a lot disgruntled guests were checking out (all at the same time). One of the receptionists was so upset by it all she felt she couldn't serve anyone which greatly slowed the checking out process.

Overall despite the drama we still had an excellent stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone. We have heard that there has been teething problems with new management and staff so hopefully these issues are ironed out soon. We would definitely return.

Sophie and Grant

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fuggy148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel.

As the recently appointed General Manager, i am delighted you enjoyed your experience at the hotel & my team were helpful & friendly. Rest assured i have spoken with all guest from the evening and as a team we are now working together to ensure we exceed all guest expectations at every turn.

I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
10.6 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
13.2 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing