We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel shame about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel shame about the food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My daughter took me for my birthday 19/05/61 and though we live in Dumfries I have a passion for food as it is my job, we had been the summer before and was quite impressed, on our return it was nice to see one of the waitresses from our last vist, however the food was another story, scallops not fresh and cold, the two different steaks we ordered, was not to the standard of a Marco Pierre White restaurant, the rib eye steak was very over cooked to the point more than half of it was left,(it was meant to be med/rare) the other steak( sirloin ) was slightly over cooked and very sinuary, when explained to a member of staff the situation, I was asked if we would like anything else, but the length of time it took to relay the message due to staff shortage meant we had passed the point of wanting anything more, I did explain I was in the profession and understood the workings of a commercial kitchen, however I do not think my opinon was taken on board as constructive, therefore I feel no improvement would be made in the cooking of the steaks. There are some good restaurants in Dumfries, sadly in my opinon this is not one of them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Linda G,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. As always we are glad to read feedback from our valued guests. We’re sorry your dining experience at our restaurant was a let down. Your feedback has been forwarded to the appropriate departments and will be used to reconsider improvements needed. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    350
    125
    60
    33
See reviews for
155
520
25
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from a three night stay B.B + evening meal. Very satisfied with the room, and the food was exceptional. Marco Pierre White has put his name to the restaurant and it shows. Will be returning very soon .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great value and a good nights sleep. The Marco Pierre White Restaurant also helped make the stay. The location on the University campus would make it ideal for those visiting friends or relatives there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groves97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed in Feb. Room was really nice and very clean but the bed was far too soft for us. Staff were not that friendly but that could be down to the lack of staff. One member of staff on the bar on a weekend is not enough, she kept disappearing too so you could not get a drink until she returned, then there was at least 3 others waiting. The drinks were overpriced in my opinion and several of the lagers were flat. Having looked at the rooms and the reviews on here I was really unhappy with the service we received and will not be back.

Room Tip: A room away from the car park would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hayley1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a review on your stay at the hotel earlier this year.

It's disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at the hotel, as the new General Manager i have made many changes & improvements to ensure we offer excellent customer service & consistency of all our offerings.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to experience the hotel as it should be
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Bullet points to sum up our stay on May 24th 2014

- fab staff, professional & friendly
- fab room, bed and shower - we love da shower
- fab restaurant, food, service & surroundings
- fab sleep, quiet and comfortable
- fab breakfast
- fab housekeeping standards
- fab hotel is all

We've visited this hotel many times and will do again, no question. Thanks guys for fussing over us and looking after us on Saturday May 24th... we had a lovely stay because of your hard work and professionalism.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a review on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you very much enjoyed your stay here, and we look forward to welcoming you back many more times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I took my family for Sunday lunch today to the Aston it was clean and very good quality hotel the staff were friendly and the dinner was superb we really enjoyed our day I will be back and would recommend it to anybody

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a review on your recent lunch at the hotel.

As the new General Manager, i am delighted to here that member of the local community especially you & your family enjoyed the wonderful Sunday lunch at the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Aston in Dumfries recently and were very impressed.

As a disabled person I constantly face inadequate accessibility which makes me and other disabled people feel worthless. Not so at the Aston in Dumfries. I have rarely, if at all, have experienced such excellent accessibility in all areas.

The crowning glory, and there is a lot of glory to crown, is the dining room staff. The food is ecellent and the service is provided by such cheery, enthusiastically helpful professionals so that the stay is elevated to a wonderfully happy experience.

Room Tip: Simply advise the staff of any special requirements and your room will be selected perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a review on the hotel & the wonderful letter i received today at the hotel.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, i am always delighted to here guest have enjoyed there stay at the hotel & experienced the wonderful restaurant we have at the hotel.

Hopefully we will see you again at the hotel very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing