We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned home after spending 2 nights bed and breakfast and attending our nephews wedding. We were made to feel very welcome by all of the staff we came into contact with, from management to cleaners. We were delighted with our room, it was clean and welcoming and the bed was a lot more comfortable than a lot of beds we have slept in, our job takes us all over the country and we regularly stay in hotels. The staff went out of their way to provide excellent customer service, going that extra mile to make us feel very welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal in Wheelers restaurant and are looking forward to returning soon, hopefully when Marco Pierre White is at the restaurant. Three members of staff who stood out and definitely went that extra mile are Shirley, Kerry and Faye. Thank you so very much for helping to make this weekend so special. Hope to see you all again very soon.

Room Tip: Room 101 is a very generous size and has a bath with overbath shower.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill150265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Many thanks for taking time to write a wonderful 5 star review on the hotel.

It's always lovely to hear team member mentioned by name and hear they are going the extra mile and i have of course shared the review with all the team.

Hopefully we will see you again at the hotel over the coming months

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dumfries
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked an executive room at the Aston Hotel because we really wanted to try the Pierre Marco White restaurant. The website made it look like a country house hotel. What you don't see I'd that the rooms are all in a eighties style office block type of annexe. We checked in two hours after our room was supposed to be available, the girl on reception told us that our bottle of prosecco was waiting in our room, which was on the ground floor. We left reception and walked along a corridor which was littered with the detritus of the previous nights room service, linens and other rubbish. We arrived at our room and found it to be open, what a mess the furniture was in the middle of the floor, the bed unmade, the safe on the middle of the bed and the curtains half open half closed. Surely the staff should have advised reception that the was not fit for habitation. Also no way even if ready would this room have been classed as executive. We returned to reception spoke to the duty manager who seemed to have no idea as to what was going on, we decided at that point to leave. So unfortunately could not review the restaurant which had drawn us to the hotel in the first place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bobnsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear bobnsus,

Thank you for writing us a review. I apologize that you did not receive an exemplary hotel stay with regards to the room condition and the level of service you have received. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information about your experience. We look forward to hearing from you soon and be of further assistance.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My daughter took me for my birthday 19/05/61 and though we live in Dumfries I have a passion for food as it is my job, we had been the summer before and was quite impressed, on our return it was nice to see one of the waitresses from our last vist, however the food was another story, scallops not fresh and cold, the two different steaks we ordered, was not to the standard of a Marco Pierre White restaurant, the rib eye steak was very over cooked to the point more than half of it was left,(it was meant to be med/rare) the other steak( sirloin ) was slightly over cooked and very sinuary, when explained to a member of staff the situation, I was asked if we would like anything else, but the length of time it took to relay the message due to staff shortage meant we had passed the point of wanting anything more, I did explain I was in the profession and understood the workings of a commercial kitchen, however I do not think my opinon was taken on board as constructive, therefore I feel no improvement would be made in the cooking of the steaks. There are some good restaurants in Dumfries, sadly in my opinon this is not one of them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Linda G,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. As always we are glad to read feedback from our valued guests. We’re sorry your dining experience at our restaurant was a let down. Your feedback has been forwarded to the appropriate departments and will be used to reconsider improvements needed. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from a three night stay B.B + evening meal. Very satisfied with the room, and the food was exceptional. Marco Pierre White has put his name to the restaurant and it shows. Will be returning very soon .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerryDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great value and a good nights sleep. The Marco Pierre White Restaurant also helped make the stay. The location on the University campus would make it ideal for those visiting friends or relatives there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groves97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed in Feb. Room was really nice and very clean but the bed was far too soft for us. Staff were not that friendly but that could be down to the lack of staff. One member of staff on the bar on a weekend is not enough, she kept disappearing too so you could not get a drink until she returned, then there was at least 3 others waiting. The drinks were overpriced in my opinion and several of the lagers were flat. Having looked at the rooms and the reviews on here I was really unhappy with the service we received and will not be back.

Room Tip: A room away from the car park would be quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hayley1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Many thanks for taking time to write a review on your stay at the hotel earlier this year.

It's disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at the hotel, as the new General Manager i have made many changes & improvements to ensure we offer excellent customer service & consistency of all our offerings.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel to experience the hotel as it should be

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Bullet points to sum up our stay on May 24th 2014

- fab staff, professional & friendly
- fab room, bed and shower - we love da shower
- fab restaurant, food, service & surroundings
- fab sleep, quiet and comfortable
- fab breakfast
- fab housekeeping standards
- fab hotel is all

We've visited this hotel many times and will do again, no question. Thanks guys for fussing over us and looking after us on Saturday May 24th... we had a lovely stay because of your hard work and professionalism.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Many thanks for taking time to write a review on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you very much enjoyed your stay here, and we look forward to welcoming you back many more times in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
659 reviews
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range: £67 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing