We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mid week break”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Thank you to Emma who works on reception for arranging our stay. The Holiday Inn has just taken over this hotel and it is in my opinion going to be one of their best in Scotland. The room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The Marco Pierre restaurant where we had our breakfast was excellent. The hotel stands in the ground of The Crichton campus and the surroundings are breathtaking. We shall certainly return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Isabel,

Thank you for a lovely review on the hotel & restaurant as a new Holiday Inn it's wonderful to here guest feedback, with special mention to a member of my team. I have of course shared your comments with Emma.

Kind Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    356
    126
    61
    35
See reviews for
156
524
25
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

this was gift of 2 nights B/B .The place once we found it was clean and tidy ...the reson it was difficult to find is that it is now a Holiday In...... The origin al Hotel is an old building and most impressive .It is the grounds of The Crichton and is wonderful for a walk after dinner .Although it is a Holday Inn the restaurant is above average. The room was O.K. but pretty basic . We went across the raod to the local goldf course and had dinner which was very good and great value ffor money .The lady runniing it was wonderful

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen40-93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Karen,

Thank you for your review on the hotel & restaurant, as a newly converted Holiday Inn, its lovely to receive guest feedback and you not only enjoyed the hotel but also the local surroundings.

We do hope we will see you again at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solingen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We´ve booked a DFDS Seaways Scotland Tour and our first stay was at the Aston Hotel. A quiet and peaceful site located in a beautiful park. The room was comfortable, we could watch our MGB from the window and the Restaurant was first class with a really friendly and kind service. The three course meal was delicious and we had a very nice evening and a wonderful Breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

What a wonderful short break! Having stayed the previous year on an organised tour we were keen to return and to enjoy the hotel at a more leisurely pace. Excellent rooms and accommodation with the added benefit of a Marco Pierre White restaurant. Most important of all were the staff who were unfailingly pleasant and helpful making our stay a very pleasurable holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealskeloont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having never been to Dumfries I searched around the internet and found the Aston hotel which looked to be a very nice building and had very good reports from previous visitors. We were certainly NOT disappointed and stayed for two nights. The room was on the ground floor overlooking the gardens, it was very well furnished with a settee and a very comfortable king-sized bed. We ate dinner in the restaurant on both evenings, the staff were very welcoming and helpful. If we ever go to Dumfries again we will certainly make a beeline for the Aston

Room Tip: as for the ground or first floor overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longfellow1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have to say I am biased and I totally love this hotel. The setting is superb, the staff are fantastic and the rooms are delicious. The peace and quiet is quite outstanding. They have the best showers in Britain!

Room Tip: So far all the rooms I've been in have been great but the ones at the back are particularly love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Eileen, thank you for the glowing review on the hotel and my team here.

It's lovely to hear the team having a mention, i have off course shared this with them

Hopefully we will see you back at the hotel very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a fantastic overnight at this lovely hotel. The room was very comfortable and very clean. Our stay included a bottle of prosecco which was waiting for us in our room. We were able to change the bottle at the bar for a chilled one and glasses. We enjoyed the afternoon sitting in the gardens enjoying our drinks. The evening meal was also included and the food was excellent and staff were friendly. Overall a very enjoyabl time and will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailzyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanking you for writing a review of your recent stay at the hotel.

As the new General Manager, it's delightful to receive such lovely feedback from guests regarding the hotel & my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing