We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey Arms Hotel(New Abbey)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kings Arms(Lockerbie)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,112)
Filter reviews
1,112 results
Traveller rating
478
383
136
72
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
383
136
72
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrichton churchuniversity campuseasterbrook hallexecutive roommodern extensionon arrivalbeautiful groundshotel is situatedlovely locationbuffet styleold buildingrestaurant staffthe ground floorsat navfirst classreception staffmain building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 1,112 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely hotel with beautiful grounds for a tranquil stroll before breakfast or after dinner!! Staff very helpful and friendly!! Ate both evenings in the Marco Pierre White Restaurant - food and service first class!!

Discovered that the Aston is now a Holiday Inn from Monday 16 June so finding the hotel was confusing !!

Hope the high standards are not compromised by the change !! Only time will tell!! Would certainly stay here again as it is an ideal location to chill and use as a base for a leisurely break :)

Room Tip: We had a ground floor garden room - beautiful :)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EilidhLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Eilidh,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on the hotel & restaurant.

Re-assured now we are a Holiday Inn, the same exceptional levels, the benefits increase for all of our guest improve under the brand, by joining the rewards club enabling you to collect points for every stay.

I do hope i have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Dumfries, very soon.

Many Thanks
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Thank you to Emma who works on reception for arranging our stay. The Holiday Inn has just taken over this hotel and it is in my opinion going to be one of their best in Scotland. The room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The Marco Pierre restaurant where we had our breakfast was excellent. The hotel stands in the ground of The Crichton campus and the surroundings are breathtaking. We shall certainly return again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Isabel,

Thank you for a lovely review on the hotel & restaurant as a new Holiday Inn it's wonderful to here guest feedback, with special mention to a member of my team. I have of course shared your comments with Emma.

Kind Regards

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

this was gift of 2 nights B/B .The place once we found it was clean and tidy ...the reson it was difficult to find is that it is now a Holiday In...... The origin al Hotel is an old building and most impressive .It is the grounds of The Crichton and is wonderful for a walk after dinner .Although it is a Holday Inn the restaurant is above average. The room was O.K. but pretty basic . We went across the raod to the local goldf course and had dinner which was very good and great value ffor money .The lady runniing it was wonderful

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen40-93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Karen,

Thank you for your review on the hotel & restaurant, as a newly converted Holiday Inn, its lovely to receive guest feedback and you not only enjoyed the hotel but also the local surroundings.

We do hope we will see you again at the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We´ve booked a DFDS Seaways Scotland Tour and our first stay was at the Aston Hotel. A quiet and peaceful site located in a beautiful park. The room was comfortable, we could watch our MGB from the window and the Restaurant was first class with a really friendly and kind service. The three course meal was delicious and we had a very nice evening and a wonderful Breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

What a wonderful short break! Having stayed the previous year on an organised tour we were keen to return and to enjoy the hotel at a more leisurely pace. Excellent rooms and accommodation with the added benefit of a Marco Pierre White restaurant. Most important of all were the staff who were unfailingly pleasant and helpful making our stay a very pleasurable holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nealskeloont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews