We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Week away in Dumfries”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Week away in Dumfries”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel changed ownership after we booked it on Classic Britian to the Holiday Inn but it apparently made no difference as the hotel was as per the ratings we already had, very good.
The general manager Mel leads from the front and as a relative newcomer to the hotel had already made her mark. The hotel runs well and the advantage, some would say of having a Marco Pierre White restaurant as part of the hotel, did indeed help. Dony go looking for Marco Pierre or fine dinning but the choice was excellent and the quality of a high standard. The wine list also had some nice choices at reasonable rates. the rooms were quite spacious and well appointed. The aircon did not work and we had a small problem with the shower drain but all in all a great standard for a reasonable outlay.

Room Tip: We had a standard double or at least that was what we thought we had but it was a nice ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good Evening David,

I hope this message finds you well?

It was lovely to welcome you & your wife to the hotel, and it's been lovely to receive a 4 star from you both, I am in the process of having a new air conditioning system commissioned at the hotel, which i hope you have the opportunity to experience on your next stay at the hotel.

Many Thanks
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    344
    121
    56
    33
See reviews for
151
516
24
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lancaster
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our 6th time at the Aston and it is still a great place for a short break, we use a buyagift voucher for easy booking. Our room was the usual high standard clean and comfortable but it was very warm the cooling system not greatest but even with window open all night it was quiet.The breakfast hot and plenty of it and meals in bar (not Marco Pierre Whites) tasty. All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful.
Thankfully the Holiday Inn brand has not changed anything, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partygoerLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to write a view on your recent stay at the hotel.

It's lovely to hear guests returning time after time, and the hotel never fails to delivery on it's exception service and great Scottish Hospitality.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon

Many Thanks
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just came home from a 2 night break at The Aston Dumfries Holiday Inn and my husband and I had a first class time. The staff were amazing and they could not do enough to make sure your stay was enjoyable. The food, bedroom and views were great. Yes, the room was a bit hot, but we didn't go on holiday to stay in our room.

We would definitely return to The Aston.

The Carrolls

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good Evening The Carrolls,

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to receive feedback from all our guests.

You will be pleased to know that we are currently having a new Air Conditioning system commissioned at the hotel, to ease the temperature in the rooms.

Hopefully we will see you back at the hotel soon

Many Thanks

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

GOOD:
Clean rooms, really friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds, wonderful location, choice of pillows, great power shower, plenty of parking, quiet.
BAD:
Only one thing; The air conditioning is ineffectual at best and the windows only open a fraction so in summer all the rooms are BOILING hot; if you like Barbados you'll love the Holiday Inn in Dumfries! The rooms seem to absorb heat and get warmer as the night goes on so it's advisable to sleep in your birthday suit and drink plenty of water. Credit to the staff though, they happily moved me to a less sweltering room when asked, but it's a architectural design problem not a staff one; they lady on reception couldn't have been more helpful.

If Holiday Inn fix the window design it'll be the best hotel in town!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val_de_ree_hahaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Val_de_ree_hahaha,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts. We are very glad you found the bed comfortable, the environment quiet, and the parking facility to your liking. Conversely, it is regrettable that the air conditioning system was a let down during your visit. Thank you for highlighting these points, as we can now focus on improvements and ensuring similar situations are prevented in the future.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel has now been transformed into a Holiday Inn. The room where I stayed was very hot and the only window that can be opened is restricted as in all the hotels. You can only open the window just enough to get a little bit of air. Anyway, the room was soo hot that I could not sleep well and therefore defeats the point of staying in a hotel. There is no air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestStudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear WestStudio,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We strive to exemplify comfortable and relaxing environment with all the amenities you need. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The photograph of this hotel is misleading, the main hotel is behind the one shown in the publicity photograph, and is a Holiday Inn glass fronted building in a livid shade of green that does not fit in with the Scottish red brick of the surrounding buildings. However, that was the least of the issues for us.

If you are an independent traveller staying here for a few days, there should not be a problem, as the rooms are large and comfortable.

However, if you are part of a group on a coach holiday the situation 22-25th June 2014 was very different. We were with a party of around 45 in a coach holiday, visiting gardens in the Borders, organised by Brightwater Holidays of Edinburgh.

It was quite obvious early on that the hotel was not organised to deal with a group of this size.

We arrived quite late for dinner the first evening, around 7.45pm, and shunted into a small side room, despite the fact the main dining room was almost empty. There were obviously too few staff to take orders, cook it and serve the food, with the result that we were only finishing our meal around 10.00pm, most in a state of exhaustion having travelled all day. Why the hotel could not have had a salad and meat/fish buffet waiting for us, heaven only knows.

Breakfast on the Monday, the following day, was chaos - and I am not exaggerating. Again we were shunted like cattle into the side room. There was a limited choice of food, and orders were being taken for cooked breakfasts. I ordered fried eggs on toast. I was told I could have fried eggs, but was directed to a pile of stone cold toast. Cereals were separated from fruit juices so there was a mass of people bumping into each other in an already crowded room, with cereal spilling out of bowls, and no tea & coffee when I arrived. Porridge was not on offer either - in Scotland! But worse, there were no cereal bowls, glasses and plates when we arrived, and the poor girl on duty was catching the wrath of the group. Where was the restaurant or hotel manager? Why were they not supervising events? Who organised this chaos in the first place?

Members of our party made strong protests to the tour guide, who contacted management at the hotel, and the evening meal on Monday evening was better organised. On Tuesday morning breakfast was better organised, with more staff on duty, and the meal Tuesday evening was again better organised. However, the food was not of a good quality at any of the evening meals, with obviously bought-in (and cheap quality) desserts on offer, and a poor choice of vegetables; we had to ask for potatoes to be served with a fish dish on the Tuesday evening, as none came with it. Small things - like one jug of water produced for a table of ten - indicate a complete lack of imagination, interest or foresight by the restaurant and/or hotel manager. One evening menu, produced in the morning at breakfast, had a question mark for the vegetarian choice - which says it all as far as the logistical and management abilities of this hotel are concerned.

By Wednesday morning, the Tuesday promise of a better organised breakfast had vanished, with again inadequate numbers of bowls, plates, and this time, table spaces for the group. It does not take a genius to lay out 45 bowls if 45 people are expected, does it?

By this time, I had had enough of being treated like a third class diner, so went into the main and virtually empty dining room to find an eating space. It was obvious here that our group were being treated in an inferior way, as there was a greater range of food on offer, including Continental breakfast. Why was our group herded into a small, noisy side room when the main dining room could have been utilised? Surely this would have made better use of existing staff resources?

Overall, there is currently a big problem for the group traveller in this hotel, and I am writing personally to the manager of this hotel and Holiday Inn HQ.

If you are travelling with Brightwater Holidays, please pay particular attention to this, as Brightwater may be paying for an second class service for its guests here, and if that is the case, it is a disgrace that the tour operator and hotel are complicit in this - the type of thing that makes people like me vow never again to choose a package style holiday.

The management of this hotel need to wake up and deal with these issues, as we would personally never return to this hotel - or any other in the Holiday Inn chain. An accumulation of small, but annoying oversights, cost-cutting and inadequate staffing arrangements by this hotel spoiled the holiday for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Colin323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Colin323,

Thank you for writing a very detailed review of your experience. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

We look forward to your response soon.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were given a short break as a gift we picked the Aston
as we wanted to visit the west coast of Scotland.
Great hotel with friendly staff ,beautiful well planted grounds within the Crichton.
Lovely place just to walk around the hotel grounds.
Really glad we came here.
definitely would come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffredcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 8 in Dumfries
619 reviews
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing