We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A great start to our holiday”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn en route to the Lake District. The hotel has recently changed hands so we were able to avail of a 'try us out' rate which included breakfast. The hotel is positioned a short walk from Dumfries town centre and children's play park in its own grounds complete with beautiful church. It was lovely to have a stroll around the grounds after we had arrived and there was even a 5k run the following day. The room was beautiful. Spacious, well appointed with the best flat screen TV I've seen. My daughters sofa bed was very comfortable as was our massive King. There was a range of pillows available also which was a nice touch. The bathroom was very modern with separate stand alone shower. Our room was also on the ground floor looking out over the green landscape. There was a wedding on at the time but thankfully all quiet and a great nights sleep. Breakfast the next morning was lovely with great service even though it was clearly busy. The hotel also has a lovely sitting area to chill out with a book. The original building is very old and the modern extension doesn't naturally fit but underneath this is a great spot that I would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuartyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good Evening Stuart,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay at the hotel, it's great to know guest are taking advantage offer we have being a new Holiday Inn and you had the opportunity the unique location of the hotel on the Crichton Estate.

We look forward to seeing you again at the hotel over the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    357
    126
    61
    36
See reviews for
156
526
25
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trearddur Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

On arrival I was greeted by Mel, the General Manager. She made me feel very welcome and she is clearly a true proffessional. I was upgraded to an executive room which was just perfect. A nice sofa, large television, pristine bathroom with complimentary toiletries. I had free internet access which was really easy to access. I went to the bar and recived my complimentary drink, the barman was very pleasant and helpful. The bar has a small but sufficient menu but I decided to go the to Wheelers restaurant (part of the hotel). Service was polite and friendly, I ordered a main course which was promptly delivered and nice but not outstanding although reasonable value. I left early in the morning, the Night Porter was easygoing and friendly.
If I thought something that could be improved is to be able to sit outside, I saw two tables but they were behind the fire escape and wasn't sure if I could open it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the back garden as the front rooms overlook the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good Evening Andrew,

It was a pleasure having you stay at the hotel & it's lovely to receive your feedback on the hotel. As a new Holiday Inn hotel, it's great to see that Platinum Reward Clubs members are using the hotel & experience the Scottish hospitality we offer.

Hopefully we will get to see you again soon at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stopped here on a business trip on the way back from Glasgow. On first impression you do think, "how the hell did they get planning permission for that......???"....with a modern glass and chrome extension to an existing sandstone building. However, once you have found the cunningly concealed entrance, you realise this is definitely not your standard Holiday Inn. Set in beautiful grounds just outside the centre of Dumfries, this really is a lovely location. Check in was swift and efficient, staff were very courteous. The hotel rooms are very good. The hotel boasts a Marco Pierre White restaurant, which I didn't use. I ate in the bar, which was very well run by an extremely personable chap by the name of Dyonne. He couldn't have been more courteous and helpful. My food from the bar menu was of a high standard, with slightly different offerings from the usual. All in all, a good Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good Evening Dean,

It's great to see guests are experience the hotel & truly understanding its unique charm and as a new Holiday Inn attracting Reward Club members.

It wonderful to heard team members mentioned by name and i will of course pass this your comments onto Dyonne.

Many Thanks
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for a night on our way back from Scotland to Leeds. the hotel had only been a H. Inn for 3 weeks. The rooms were good but not typical H Inn Style, but no complaints. Actually the walk in shower was brilliant.
However, the hotel has a Marco Pierre White restaurant (Wheelers of St James), Food, service, ambience for dinner was faultless. It was a Sunday night so they only had a Table D'hote menu not the full A La Carte, still faultless.
Breakfast, however was not wonderful. The coffee particularly was ghastly, changed twice and still undrinkable.
The hotel is situated in lovely grounds, nice walk around the Crichton Estate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph8546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good Evening,

Thank you for your 4 star review on your recent stay at the hotel.

We are lucky to have such a wonderful restaurant as part of the hotel for guest to enjoy & the wonderful setting of the Crichton Estate. I have passed your comments to the hotel Food & Beverage team to review the morning coffee that we offer our guests.

Many Thanks
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment we contacted the hotel to book to the moment we checked out this hotel was brilliant!

Myself and my partner visited the hotel as a base for looking at wedding venues and stayed for 2 nights.

We ate at the Marco Pierre White restaurant which was lovely and the service was great, we also had breakfast with a lots of food to chose from.

We stayed in the executive room with a bath and seperate shower. The bed was really big and the room was lovely and warm.

We intend on coming back to the hotel soon as we will be getting married close by.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Katy,

Thank you for your glowing review on the hotel, it's great to hear you got to experience all aspects of the hotel.

We would be delighted to be the hotel you choose for your guests on your up coming wedding, please do contact me if i can be any further help with this.

Kind Regards
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel changed ownership after we booked it on Classic Britian to the Holiday Inn but it apparently made no difference as the hotel was as per the ratings we already had, very good.
The general manager Mel leads from the front and as a relative newcomer to the hotel had already made her mark. The hotel runs well and the advantage, some would say of having a Marco Pierre White restaurant as part of the hotel, did indeed help. Dony go looking for Marco Pierre or fine dinning but the choice was excellent and the quality of a high standard. The wine list also had some nice choices at reasonable rates. the rooms were quite spacious and well appointed. The aircon did not work and we had a small problem with the shower drain but all in all a great standard for a reasonable outlay.

Room Tip: We had a standard double or at least that was what we thought we had but it was a nice ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good Evening David,

I hope this message finds you well?

It was lovely to welcome you & your wife to the hotel, and it's been lovely to receive a 4 star from you both, I am in the process of having a new air conditioning system commissioned at the hotel, which i hope you have the opportunity to experience on your next stay at the hotel.

Many Thanks
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our 6th time at the Aston and it is still a great place for a short break, we use a buyagift voucher for easy booking. Our room was the usual high standard clean and comfortable but it was very warm the cooling system not greatest but even with window open all night it was quiet.The breakfast hot and plenty of it and meals in bar (not Marco Pierre Whites) tasty. All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful.
Thankfully the Holiday Inn brand has not changed anything, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to write a view on your recent stay at the hotel.

It's lovely to hear guests returning time after time, and the hotel never fails to delivery on it's exception service and great Scottish Hospitality.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon

Many Thanks
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Property: Holiday Inn Dumfries
Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing