We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change of name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one nights B+B after attending a golden wedding in Dumfries. The hotel was booked 3 months previously as the Aston hotel,we were somewhat surprised and maybe disappointed when we arrived to find it was now a Holiday inn. We have stayed at the Aston in the past and have been very satisfied, this stay was no exception, lets hope Holiday Inn can keep up these standards. A bit annoyed that Holiday Inn held us to the rates we booked at as their room tariffs are a bit less expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PJJ922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel.

It's lovely to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay and the hotel has regained all of it's charm and character, now we are part of the Holiday Inn family which provides lots of extra benefits to all our guest.

As a hotel, we offer a number of different rates depending on many different factors, as we did as the Aston Hotel. The advantage of being an Holiday Inn is there are many more options & flexibility for the guest.

Congratulations to your friends on there Golden Wedding Anniversary and i do hope you had a wonderful time at the party.

Many Thanks
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dumfries
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a one night stop over on route to Edinburgh. We were both impressed with the stay and had a nice room overlooking the gardens. There was no issue with the room (some people complained about air-con but we thought it was ok) and everything was nice and new. The hotel is a little out of town but we knew this when booking anyway. We had a couple of drinks in the bar which was a nice area and in the old part of the manor building.

(A word of warning my sat nav sent me to the wrong place)

Room Tip: Try and get a Garden view if possible
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timmcgrath1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Many thanks for taking time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel.

It's lovely to hear you had a enjoyable stay at the hotel & we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Having stayed here often as the Aston Hotel, was really disappointed at the staff attitude now it's the Holiday Inn. Room rates have soared, no leeway is being granted in a 'take it or leave it' manner. New clients will be unimpressed and old clients will not return - unless they get their act together soon. Welcome to the world of the large, rigid corporate!

Room Tip: Select a room facing the garden area.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cappuccinonotopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

I have sent you a private message as i would like to discuss your experience with you personally.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked for 2 nights when the hotel was still The Aston and was a bit apprehensive prior to arrival at the Holiday Inn after reading some very mixed reviews. However my Wife and I had an excellent, relaxing stay. On arrival the Receptionist offered us a guide of the Crichton Estate (in which the hotel is located), together with map into town and bus info (we wanted to leave the car). Being a sunny day we walked round the estate which includes very nice gardens. After a walk into Dumfries we chilled back at the hotel with a seat outside in the sun with a drink from the bar. Received a room upgrade having an IHG membership and the room was large, very clean with comfortable bed, couch, view of the estate and very large bathroom (separate bath and shower). Had dinner in Wheelers restaurant – staff friendly, attentive and food was very good in a relaxed atmosphere. We ate from the daily set menu which was really good value (there is a more extensive Al a carte). Again, breakfast was more than adequate. We did eat out the 2nd night but would have been happy to eat in again. All the staff throughout the hotel were very friendly, helpful and chatty – from Housekeeping, Reception, Restaurant and the Lounge bar man. Yes, the room was a bit warm as others have said in reviews but the hotel is obviously taking steps to fix this. We had a nice peaceful, relaxing stay and would definitely return and recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Good view to rear looking over estate. Not the car park view to front.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OpaOpa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel.

It's lovely to read such a great review on both the hotel & the restaurant. Along with helpfulness & friendliness of the staff you encountered during your stay.

I do hope the team & I will be welcoming you back to the hotel again soon

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What a turnaround in this hotel since becoming a Holiday Inn and having a new General Manager (Mel), not that there was previously a problem with any of the staff I think just they
de-motivated under the previous General Manager in the time it was an Aston Hotel. All of the staff are friendly, welcoming and efficient from start to finish, would not normally name anyone in particular but Hannah and her restaurant staff were brilliant.
I am a member of IHG and have stayed at quite a number of Holiday Inn properties over the years and this one ranks as one of top hotels, so well done !! And what a location on the Crichton Estate, if you stay here take a walk around and enjoy.

Room Tip: Request a rear facing room that overlooks the Crichton Estate gardens, the grounds are exceptional.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ken_hill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel.

It's always lovely to receive great feedback from all our guest & see team members mentioned by name, Hannah & the restaurant team were delighted by your comments.

As a relatively new hotel to the Holiday Inn family, it's great to see we are attracting guest that are loyal to the IHG brand.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again over the coming months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely hotel, stayed for a friends wedding. Reception staff were excellent, room ready before check in time. Room was lovely, clean and new, very comfy bed. Bar staff were very friendly. Plenty of car parking available.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JCB3CX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on the hotel, it's always wonderful to receive great feedback from out guests.

Hope you enjoyed the wedding.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I have just spent a couple of nights away at this hotel. The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a good choice. Had dinner in the main dining room on the first night but preferred the bar meal on the second night. The hotel is situated in beautiful grounds with nice walks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Many thanks for taking time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel.

It's delightful to hear you had such enjoyable stay & took advantage of the hotels unique location on the historic Crichton Estate.

I do hope the team & i have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.4 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
659 reviews
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range: £66 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing